We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cerro da Marina Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cerro da Marina Hotel to your Saves list
Cerro da Marina Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Cerro Grande, Albufeira 8200, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence 2014
hull, yorkshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed for 11 nights from the 1st of September. The hotel is situated in a quite area which is ideal for a relaxing stay . It is a small hotel, about 23 rooms, the staff were all very friendly and so
were all the other guests , which gave the hotel a very good atmosphere. Breakfasts were good with plenty of choice and could be taken inside or on the outside terrace. Free tea and cake was given out in the afternoon which was a very nice touch. Rooms and facilities were good and there is a smashing pool with plenty of loungers and a nice peaceful atmosphere.
We stayed on a b&b basis and found plenty of good places to eat in the old town, in fact the nightlife in general in the old town was very good.
The only one drawback to the hotel is that its up hill and about a 15 minute walk from the old town, not really a problem late at night, but a struggle midday in 30 plus degree heat,
Would certainly recommend at stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    62
    21
    9
    3
See reviews for
16
140
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Went for a week from Sunday 9th September. Arrived early and Carole pulled out all the stops to make sure our room was ready before time. Excellent soft music greeted us and added to the relaxing nature of our stay, especially around the pool area. Breakfasts were plentiful , and from 8 to 10 were not rushed. The staff were friendly and hard working, and the cleanliness in all areas was good. The views from the balconies overlooked the local area for miles, and the sea was also in the picture although the hotel was not seafront positioned. We are walkers so the uphill/downhill walk to the old town was not a problem to us.Taxis are available and cheap, so the position of the hotel is not a problem for non walkers. We will be returning.

Room Tip: All rooms would be quiet, all with good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Overall gr8 hotel the whole place is spotless loved the pool area and the chill out seating when you want to cool off. The breakfast is fab served 8/10 good for extra lay in. You are offered a variety of cereals, juices tea/coffee english breakfast, continental breakfast.
A good selection of breads and fruits and yogurts well impressed. When we stayed by the pool in the day we ate there as well gr8 sandwiches gr8 value good choice . Every afternooon the lovely staff came round the pool with nibbles really nice touch very kind of them to offer us this service.
All the staff bar 1 waiter could not do enough for you always stop to say hello greet you with a smile.
Only negitives 4 Us the evening meal and the male waiter serving us. We felt rushed like the male waiter was on a promise!!! He really let the hotel down
He didnt even give us time to have the bread with the pate. He just plonked the bowl of soup down in front of us. We had to ask for a drink as well.
He took another couples plates away whist they still had a mouth full.
The food was okish! the starters could not fault. For us just the main meal. We choose the steak 1nite boy like the sole of my shoe couldnt even cut it we ate out 3 out of the seven nites we stayed. We just felt if the hotel is offering HB then provide the service customers have paid for. COOK the food fresh on the premises!!!!! We wished we would of thought to ask with the evening meal being cooked at the sister hotel could we have gone to eat there instead the views are much better has it over looks the sea.
Now the walk to and from the town
PLEASE turn RIGHT out of the hotel go down to the island go left follow the road to the town
Trust me the only hill you have is the 1st bit from the hotel to the island.This is alot easier walk to & from the town.
Plus its much more scenic you can see the sea and the marina.
Plus on the way theres a fab pub over looking th sea very cheap we ordered 3 wine 2lrg beers and a brandy lemonade 16 euro.
Plus theres an indian restuarant above it the lads call them they come down you order ya food they bring it to you if you dont want to sit indoors. Foods well good yum yum.
Next to the pub is a huge supermarket we brought 1 and half ltr of water 4 29cent much cheaper then hotel price 160 euro 4 small bottle.
plus theres lots of places to eat or just have a drink on the way into the town. if you dont want it to crazy.
I think 1 of the reasons guests are told to turn left out of the hotel is so you go passed the sister hotel mayb spend money there???
All in all we would def stay again but only BB.
We would give excellent for the service and food at breakfast
The morning and reception?maids as well.
average for evening meal very poor for the male waiter and the service he offered.

Room Tip: Def only book B&B
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed the first week in september for 7 nights. Situated in a residential area it is very quiet and relaxing. We had a lovely room and had views of the pool, sea and marina. Couldn't fault the hotel but as is said in other reviews it,s high position makes the walk back from the beach or town a little strenuous, not really suitable for the elderly or anyone with walking difficulties. Will return for sure.

Room Tip: first floor would be my choice for views but I think all rooms should be o.k.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 7 nights at the end of august/early september, and found it a beautiful and relaxing hotel. Bedrooms were of good size with big bathroom to suit.
The pool area is something of an escapism. It allows you to relax and not be pestered by, well anyone!! The honesty bar is something which me and my partener espeacilly liked, gave a unique personalised feel. As if it was your own back yard swimming pool!
Myself and my partner are in our mid to late 20's, so the location did not hinder us. But be warned that your in for a very hilly walk if you want to get into town. A taxi service is available but we did not use this as we enjoyed the walking!!
All in all a very homely, inviting hotel with a fantastic pool. A couples resort for sure!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We had a fantastic time at this hotel, our room was lovely and tastefully decorated, when we had breakfast in the morning, we had plenty of choice and sat on the tables overlooking the pool. In the evenings, we had the option for the meal, which we would order at the reception, the food was second to none, and we always left satisfied, the only downside was that we had to pay for the drinks, but the bill came to less than 30 euros after our week long break between the two of us. The service was also excellent, we felt thoroughly catered for during our stay. The hotel itself is on a hill, but it's only a 10-15 minute walk from the shops in the old town, and at the end of the road overlooks the colourful and picturesque marina in Albufeira. Can't wait to return here eventually, definitely grabbed a bargain.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at end of August. We could not fault anything about the service, staff and cleanliness all were great. However I would just stay really consider its location, if you want to be close to shops, restaurants, old town etc this def ain't the place to stay. Despite the fact that we are fond walkers this is a good 20 min walk to the old town and not a very interesting walk at that, all down very steep hills (and practically unlit at night)... so yes all uphill on way back!!! (€7 cab ride back) Wifi connection was also very poor for us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cerro da Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerro da Marina Hotel

Address: Rua do Cerro Grande, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#16 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#21 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cerro da Marina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a landscaped garden, this hotel overlooks Albufeira’s new marina and offers elegantly decorated rooms with balconies. Only 700 metres from the beach, it features an outdoor pool and free Wi-Fi.Cerro Da Marina Hotel’s air-conditioned rooms are decorated in neutral colours. Each room overlooks the garden or the pool, and has a flat-screen satellite TV and a minibar.Guests can start their day with a breakfast buffet. The hotel’s restaurant opens to the pool area and serves international cuisine and Mediterranean dishes. Special diet menus are also available.The nearest golf course is 4 km away, and close to the hotel there are water parks and zoo parks. The Main Church of Albufeira and the Fisherman's Beach Albufeira are only 700 metres away.Faro Airport is 27 km away, and the hotel offers free public parking on site. A car rental service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cerro da Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerro Da Marina Hotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve
Cerro Da Marina Albufeira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cerro da Marina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.