We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Defininately would stay here again!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cerro da Marina Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cerro da Marina Hotel to your Saves list
Cerro da Marina Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Cerro Grande, Albufeira 8200, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Co. Londonderry, Ni
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Defininately would stay here again!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

Stayed here for Easter week - a lovely hotel for those looking for a quiet relaxing break. Very tidy rooms, maids clean every day and left new towels. Buffet breakfast was great with a full selection of continental or cooked breakfast. Tea/Coffee served every afternoon between 4-4.30 was a very nice touch. The honesty bar had all that was needed - just sign for what you need, and well stocked mini bar in room. We even had breakfast left in our room on the morning of departure as we were leaving before breakfast was served - we only mentioned this when settling our room bill the previous evening. There is a new jacuzzi, sun loungers and decked area being completed beside the pool which should make poolside even more enjoyable. Old town is less than 15 mins walk away, and you can be on the beach in the same time. Hotel has a sister hotel 5 mins away with a spa, restaurant and bigger bar.
Only negative points are the very noisy room doors, which bang on self closure. As the hotel is located on the hillside it would be difficult for anyone with walking difficulties.

Room Tip: Request a pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    63
    21
    9
    3
See reviews for
16
143
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Cerro da Marina for a week at the end of April. Having read other reviews, we liked the idea of a quiet hotel and this was exactly what we got.

The hotel has a bigger sister hotel just down the road - although the hotel isn't manned 24 hours, when we arrived late (around midnight) we only had to pick up the phone outside reception and someone from the sister hotel arrived within a few minutes to let us in.

The room was large and offered everything you would need (even a sea view, which was lovely). There was a daily maid service and hotel itself was always very clean and tidy.

We were only on B&B board so can't comment on all meals. But the choice at breakfast was good - cereals, breads, toast, cooked breakfasts, hams/cheeses, fruit and yoghurt.

There was a bar in the hotel which was well stocked with refreshments during the day - cold drinks, beers, crisps, toasted sandwiches. It was a help yourself policy and then write what you had taken in the 'honesty book'. The system seemed to work very well.

The only thing I'd point out is that the swimming pool was very, very cold! Having said that, it was only the end of April and the pool didn't seem to be covered at night!

As others have mentioned, the hotel is on a hill. It was a 15 minute walk into the old town of Albufeira.

All in all, it was a lovely stay - everything in the hotel was easy, reception was friendly and helfpul and we had a very relaxing holiday here.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finedon, Northamptonshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

The Marina de Cerro a small - (20 odd rooms) in a quiet area of the old town above the marina (10 minutes walk away). The hotel was lovely - it was Cliff Richard's old place - and quite snug with a good pool and garden with plenty of loungers. Food was okay, we think it was broough it from the sister hotel about 5 minutes away and on our stay over a week we got a free half bottle of wine on two occasions and a free glass of port on one occasion at dinner. There was no bar staff on call just an honesty bar where you wrote down what you had taken from the bar and were billed at the end of your stay. The staff were very good and friendly and rooms were kept very clean and fresh. In the sister hotel (much larger) you could eat there in the evening by taking a voucher slip from reception along and could enjoy the entertainment in the bar in the evening and avail yourself of various activities/spa. I would not recommend the small hotel for young people or children as it seemed to cater for an older age range who either spent the day around the pool or went on trips out. There were no facilities for young children in the Marino De Cerro.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

Just had a nice visit to cerro da marina. Allmost like having your own villa, very quiet location on the top of a steep hill so taxis a must , going down not so bad but taxis were reasonable . Great breakfast good choice of cold or cooked nice rooms more than adequate.........would definately stay here again...swimming pool immaculately kept and allways quiet on our stay.......staff great helpful cant praise enough. We were b@b so ate out in the town never had a bad meal anywhere reasonably priced great wines .Recomend the Three Crowns superb clifftop location food was superb.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

We stayed from 1st -7th September 2010. This was our second visit, so we knew what to expect. Great room overlooking the pool, lovely staff and the hotel was spotless. We recognised several guests from last year. There is a bit of a walk, 10/15 minutes to the square but plenty of places on the way to stop for a refreshment. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to chill out by the pool during the day and happy to leave the hotel at night for entertainment. We will definitely be booking for next year.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

The hotel is quiet and out of the way of the main restaurant and shop area of old Albufeira but these are only a 10 minute walk down the hill. The only downside is that of course you have to get back up the hill.

The rooms were a good size and kept very clean although our double was actually two single beds pushed together which did have a tendency of trying to move apart which was a bit annoying. We had a balcony overlooking the pool and a lot of the rooms must share this view. We could also look further afield to the marina. We stayed half-board and although the breakfasts were ok (routinely: yoghurt, hams, cheese and bread and occasionally hot food but of various qualities) the dinners were less than great. The buffet was very limited and the ordered food wasn't good with basically very little choice (the food is cooked offsite at the sister hotel and heated at the kitchen here).

We spent some time at the pool which was nice and quiet and only 1.15m at it's deepest point but equally spent our week doing various activities. Carole at the front desk was great and helped us to make phonecalls when necessary to book things. There is a computer with internet access but as it is dial-up it is a bit slow.

I would definitely stay again but only B&B as we ended up eating out despite having paid to be halfboard and I'd prefer the double bed to be just that but it is really a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

The cerro da marina was a lovely little hotel, the rooms are spacious and the bathrooms too, the hotel was clean and our room was attended to daily ,the staff were all friendly, the breakfast was fresh and a lot of choice, but dont expect full english, the pool area was great, nice wickker sunbeds with comfotable covering and music quietly being played from speakers dotted around, free tea & coffee at 4pm, the honesty bar is great, was expecting a big bill at the end, but ad drinks every day, only came to 26 euros, yes there were children there, other countries use the hotel as well. I wanted somewhere free from lager louts and teenagers bombing in the pool and no loud crowds banging at night and it fullfilled all those catagories. Its a good 20mins walk to the old town square, and its only the last 5mins back that you have to tackle the hill. Would definately go back again.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cerro da Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerro da Marina Hotel

Address: Rua do Cerro Grande, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#16 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#21 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cerro da Marina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a landscaped garden, this hotel overlooks Albufeira’s new marina and offers elegantly decorated rooms with balconies. Only 700 metres from the beach, it features an outdoor pool and free Wi-Fi.Cerro Da Marina Hotel’s air-conditioned rooms are decorated in neutral colours. Each room overlooks the garden or the pool, and has a flat-screen satellite TV and a minibar.Guests can start their day with a breakfast buffet. The hotel’s restaurant opens to the pool area and serves international cuisine and Mediterranean dishes. Special diet menus are also available.The nearest golf course is 4 km away, and close to the hotel there are water parks and zoo parks. The Main Church of Albufeira and the Fisherman's Beach Albufeira are only 700 metres away.Faro Airport is 27 km away, and the hotel offers free public parking on site. A car rental service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cerro da Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerro Da Marina Hotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve
Cerro Da Marina Albufeira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cerro da Marina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.