We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our stay at the cerro mar atlantico” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments to your Saves list
Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Cerro do Malpique, Albufeira 8200, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“our stay at the cerro mar atlantico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Cerro Mar Atlantico for 9 nights, very impressed with the apartment, it was large, airy and very clean, could not fault it at all. It was great to have the choice of all the pools and different sun bathing areas between all the other parts of the Cerro Mar buildings. All the staff were very polite and friendly, especially the lovely tall handsome man who worked on reception, he was very helpful and a total professional.
We stayed on a B & B basis, I thought the breakfast was pleasant but maybe lacked variety
for a 4 star hotel, but lovely hot cup of tea!
Yes it is very hilly around the general area, the steps up from the old town were no problem for us, even after a good few beers! If you like it flat it's not the place for you. Loved all the narrow back street to explore, love finding odd little bars etc.
if you like fresh bread have a walk to Lidl, they have an amazing bakery at the back of the store, lovely warm bread and pastries, its open 7am till 11pm every day, even got a little coffee shop in there, €1.20 for a coffee and tart, you can look at the fresh fish counter at the same time. Went to the gypsy market up passed Lidl by the bus station, it was quite large and pleasant enough to have a wander around (Tuesdays I think) I would definitely go back to this place, hopefully next year.


Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    195
    50
    18
    5
See reviews for
195
184
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blyth, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Just returned from a two week holiday with my wife. Best apartment we have stayed in. The furniture and fittings were of a high quality. Only reason why I have not given 5 is that the walk down to the town on the 97 steps does take its toll on you especially during the heat in the day. The bar area in the main hotel is very sterile and uninviting as were some of the bar staff. Hence we needed to go out for drinks and only used the hotel bar twice. As far as we could tell there was no entertainment of any sort offered either. There was no information book about the resort or hotel provided in the rooms.
Very clean and tidy and the pool areas were lovely with a mixture of grass and plants making sunbathing more enjoyable. Got to be up really early for sunbirds in our block as there were not many available. Loved our stay despite this and will be going back to Albufeira again but probably another apartment lower down the hill. Fantastic restaurants and bars even though it gets lively you can find some lovely back street places to eat and drink that are cheaper as well. Bit if something for everyone and the local people are friendly and very helpful.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Stayed at these apts from 24th june to 4th july . Hotel was nice and clean our room was massive.we had B & B the food was nice but hot stuff could be little warmer .The resort centre wasnt very far away but steps probably too much for some people .The hotel had mini bus on 4 times a day take people to town centre .All in all nice hotel would go again

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Fabulous apartment in Albufeira. Approximately 45 minutes transfer from Faro airport. The apartment (504) had a large kitchen/dining sitting room which opened onto a balcony and massive terrace with stunning sea views and overlooking the old town square. There was a small pool and sunbathing area, although another across in the main complex and we understand a third but we didn't go looking for it.

The kitchen is extremely well equipped, full size fridge, large freezer compartment, kettle, toaster, coffee maker plus lots of pots, kitchen utensils, crockery and cutlery. The apartment was spotless and serviced daily. Air con units were situated in the lounge and bedroom and separately operated. Certainly the best apartment I've been in.

Customer Service was exceptionally good, as part of check in we were given a map and the receptionist highlighted where Aldi and Lidl were (10 mins walk further up the hill), the old town square and complex facilities. My friend and I enjoyed a massage in the spa which was wonderful and competitively priced at 25 euros.

The steps down (and of course back up) are no problem, there's a hand rail and you can take your time if need be. The delight of being up the hill is you are away from noisy bars and have fantastic views of the bay.

I cannot recommend these apartments enough, I would love to return here. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights at the end of our Portugal trip. Beautiful views and the apartment had everything. Going through the locked green gate or locked doors or all the steps did not bother us. Water in the shower had no power so we used the bath instead. Pull out bed was not comfortable but we survived. We paid 8 euro for WiFi for 24hrs and it was temperamental. Towels were changed daily and housekeeping staff were lovely. What annoyed us was the fact that on the Sunday morning, as we were sleeping, reception rang to say that they had a complaint of noise coming from our apartment. We tried to explain that we were sleeping and therefore could make any noise, but they insisted that they had received a complaint. We were shocked by this phone-call and the fact that nobody would listen to us. When we went and spoke to them, the lady (the same lady I was spoke to on the phone) was rude and arrogant. When we said that we wished to make a complaint against the hotel for disturbing us, there was no manager available. She gave us a form to fill out. The previous evening we heard a lot of noise coming from another apartment in a different building. For a hotel of their star rating, I would expect a better Customer Care system. We did not feel valued or respected so we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Returned yesterday from a week at these apartments.
there are ( I think ) 3 different blocks to these apartments with the Cerro Marr Gardens being the main place & was by far the nicest & I think it's that part of the Cerro mar which has the 4 star rating, the block where we stayed would not be classed as a 4 star but more of a 3 plus.
Ours was at the top of the hill & the apartments were very big & very well equipped ( although we didn't have a microwave & washer like other rooms described on trip advisor.
We were on the 2nd floor & had a nice pool view, the balcony was nice & spacious too.
There are air con units in both the living room and the bedroom & I have to say they are excellent .

The pool area was very nice but I don't think the pool filtration worked too well as when no one was in the pool you could see a film forming on the top which really put me off going in after I saw that ( & I never saw anyone putting any chemicals in ( that's not to say they didn't of course ) but it certainly wasn't done in the morning when the pool guy was scooping the leaves etc out.

Just a mention on the steps, they're not too bad at night when it's cooler but didn't like too much during the heat of the day, we got a taxi a couple of times & because of this ( & only this ) we probably won't be staying at these apartments again.
The maids do a really good job at cleaning & towels are changed daily .
The shop is very expensive compared to Aldi ( 5-10 min walk away ) for example a packet of Tuc biscuits were 2.50 Euro but were only 99 cents at Aldi, oh and the staff in the shop are very ignorant !
Overall a very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Just back from two weeks at the Cerro Mar Colina with my husband and two young children, aged 3 and 14 months, and my dear old dad! Our room was block 4, room 301 and had a fantastic sea and pool view. Our two-bedroom apartment was spacious and lovely, with a full kitchen with all the equipment you could possibly need, a huge fridge-freezer, washing machine and dishwasher. It also had two bathrooms as one of the bedrooms was en-suite, and a huge balcony. And maid service and fresh towels every day! I couldn’t fault the place, although we were self-catering so didn’t use the restaurant.

I would definitely come back here. The stairs everyone complains about really were not that bad, we just carried the baby down and folded up the buggy, no problem. Sometimes we did get a taxi back up the hill (3 euros 50) but mainly because my 3 year old was getting too tired.

The only small disappointment with Albufeira as a whole was that the sea was a bit too choppy for my 3 year old who refused point blank to go anywhere near the water even if held tightly by her dad (although she loved the pool). The waves would be great fun for older kids though.
I’ve never been in a nicer apartment on holiday that’s part of a complex. And Kat the Thomson rep was lovely.

Weekends did get a bit lively with stag and hen parties coming home in the early hours, but otherwise very peaceful with very little noise.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments

Address: Cerro do Malpique, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments Hotel Albufeira
Cerro Mar Albufeira
Cerro Mar Algarve
Cerro Mar Apartments Albufeira
Cerro Mar Hotel Albufeira
Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.