We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cerro Mar Garden - above average” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments to your Saves list
Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Cerro do Malpique, Albufeira 8200, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 101 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Cerro Mar Garden - above average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2008

Cerro Mar Garden is definitively above average, but that's obvious since it's only one year old. There are however some things that make you wonder why they did not fix them. First there is nowhere to hang your tower while you are in the shower. Secondly the room is equipped with a traditional key with a huge key holder. Why don't they have card keys like all the modern hotels seem to have these days. Also the safe's lock was with a key and not a code.

The balcony was huge, but it had only one small table and 2 chairs. There would have been room for sunchairs and then we wouldn't have had to "fight for them" by the pool side. There weren't enough sunchairs and that made people to reserve them as early as 7 am! And of course this was against the rules, but the hotel staff did nothing to prevent that. Also our balcony was a bit dirty. There was bird crap in one of our chairs and it was not washed during the whole week. The cleaning ladies did not do very well with the apartment either since you didn't geel like walking on the tile floor with bare feet. The cleaning hours were also a bit strange since our apartment was cleaned around 4-6 pm!

The breakfast buffet was the usual scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, bread, ham, cheese, yougurt, cereal and fruits for desert. Everything was good and there were never any empty bowles, but we would have wished for some changes into the menu and also some dessert would of been nice. The coffee came out of a machine, so that was also a small minus. The hotel serves also dinner buffet, but we did not try it. We did try to eat their a la carte, because the hotel gives you a coupon for a free bottle of wine with a la carte-dining. However the restaurant did not want to sell a la carte, they insisted that we try their buffet, so we left and walked into old town Albufeira. There are plenty of good restaurants with delicious food with reasonable prices.

Now finally to the good things since there are plenty of them. The kitchen was well equipped and the fridge was huge. There was also a small freezer. The air conditioning in the apartment worked with two separate machines which was really good, since you could turn off the bed room during nights. We also enjoyed the hotel's indoor pool, which was warm enough to swim in. The gym also looked very good. The hotel also had 2 squash courts, a tennis court and bowling. However if you want to bowl you need your own shoes, who has bowling shoes with them on a holiday?

The closest store is at the hotel next door, but it is definitively worth the 15-20 minutes walk to Lidl, since the mini market had very high prices, limited selection of goods and very unfriendly sales lady.

The walk up and down the stairs to old town Ablufeira is nothing if you are a healthy adult. With knee problems or with small children & trolleys it is another matter. The view from the hotel to the sea is so beautiful, that walking the steps is worth the while.

  • Liked — New hotel
  • Disliked — Hard beds and not enough sun beds
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    195
    50
    18
    5
See reviews for
195
186
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2008

We stopped in the brand new block at Cerro Mar and could not fault it - the place was fantastic! Our apartment had'nt been used so everything was brand new. There were only a few apartments in use in the new block, so it felt like we had the place to ourselves. There were a few builders around completing their work on the other apartments, but it wasn't a problem for us. We will definitely be returining to the Cerro Mar.

We had a sea-view, large balcony, and a lovely kitchen with an integrated dishwasher and washing machine. The pool was gorgeous, although with more people, I assume it would get pretty busy. You do have full use of all other facilities in the complex, however, we didn't need to use any.

The location of the apartments was excellent - just a short 5 minute walk down the steps to the old square. The steps didn't cause a problem for us and it was nice to be away from the hustle and bustle of the square on an evening.

We had lovely meals during our week away - but avoid Zavvis restaurant - the food was very cheap but nothing spectacular. We loved the Rock Cafe and there was live music in lots of bars every evening.

We didn't want to leave!

  • Liked — The location and the amazing apartment
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2008

Have just returned from a great weeks holiday to the Cerro Mar apartments. We were apprehensive after reading the reviews but the apartment we stayed in was great with a massive bedroom, separate kitchen, lounge and the largest balcony we have ever had (we booked through Portland Holidays/Thomsons). The pool and the bar on the complex was really lovely too.
The only down side was the steps down to the old town which were hard going in the heat of the day, but a bit easier in the evening and you get used to them.
All the restaurants in the Square are great and its a really great happy atmosphere with loads going on.
It's a great place to go for a relaxing holiday.
Enjoy.

  • Liked — The location and the spacious apartment.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
runcorn
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2008

We stayed at these apartments until the 3rd July 2008. They where excellent apartments everything you need and more, spotlessly clean with maid service everyday, washing machine and dishwasher to. Apartments very spacious, pool area was fantastic and not overcrowded with plenty of beds and umbrellas. Great for familes and very friendly. It is about 5 mins approx walk to the main square down a very steep hill and about 100 steps which sounds like a lot but it really isnt that bad. There is a bar in the main block across the road which is very cheap with stunning views and very friendly staff this bar is also ultra modern. The square itself is very lively with loads going on, plenty of places to eat and drink with loads of entertainment for everybody, there is also plenty of shops but they all sell the same things. We ate out every night at different places each night we can honeslty say we didnt have 1 bad meal, our fav was an indian restaurant called minar which is up a side street from the beach front quite cheap and delicious. All together we loved our holiday and would strongly recommend it to anyone, we will be returning next yr.

  • Liked — apartments/sun/nightlife
  • Disliked — hill/steps
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2008

We have just returned from a 7 day stay at the cerro mar and we didnt want to leave! The resort itself was beautiful, with plenty to do and a real friendly atmosphere about the place. The old town was a 10 minute walk down a very steep hill and then those dreaded steps! We managed it with our 3 children (including one in a pushchair) a few times a day until we realised on day 4 that you could get a taxi from the old town to cerro mar for less than 4 euros...well worth it!
The cerro mar empire has expanded lots and has 4 different blocks now, all of which guests can use the facilities of. We were in block 2 which was immaculate, spacious and really couldnt be faulted. The balcony was huge and the view spectacular.
Transfer time from Faro airport was about just over an hour I think, and our room was ready for about 1.30pm, though they did say not to expect to be in before 3pm.
Overall we all had a fantastic holiday and would go back to cerro mar in a shot.

  • Liked — spaciousness
  • Disliked — located at the top ofa steep hill
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2008

We have just returned from 2 weeks at Cerro Mar and to be honest I was a bit worried about what to expect after reading some of the reviews. I can 100% say that Cerro Mar was a brilliant choice! OK the steps into the town and the hill are a bit of a killer when you've just eaten and drank too much down in the old town - but on the plus side the view from the balconies are excellent.
We were in cerro mar colina which are the pictures shown here on the website. We booked through Thomsons and were advised by the rep on arrival that most of the Thomson guests are allocated rooms in cerro mar colina.The pool and surrounding gardens were very clean and well looked after - my only gripe was that the pool bar wasn't always open and that meant that you had to go out of the gates and over to the other side to get a snack. This probably had something to do with the fact that the weather was still a bit shaky and there were a few days rain while we were there though.
The rooms themselves were clean, modern , spacious and equipped with everything you could possibly need including a dishwasher and washing machine and oven/hob so cooking in the apartments was as easy as if you were at home (although I must admit we didn't do it very often - we were on holiday after all!)
The maid service was every day except Thursdays and there was a plentiful supply of fresh towels. The fact that there was 8 of us in 2 apartments was a bit of a problem as you only had one key per room which meant that if you were going out at seperate times it took a bit of a military operation to arrange who would take the key as access back in to the block was through a gate. Not too much of a problem though and the extra security gained from this again is a plus point. The mini market on site was expensive and only offered basics and a word of waening to always check your change! The Lidl supermarket is about 10 minutes walk away and offered a much wider selection and value for money.
The place itself is brilliant. Plenty of shops bars and restaurants for all ages and tastes in the old town - I have stayed in the new town before and much prefer the old town as the atmosphere is more relaxed but still loads going on. The ages of our party ranged from 13 to 61 and all of us enjoyed it and agreed that the apartments were more like 3 star plus than 3 star.
Overall nothing bad to say about the place or the apartments and I would definitely go back again.

  • Liked — Great Views , spacious , clean , good overall value for money
  • Disliked — The walk back up from the old town!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2008

Excellent appartments, very clean and large with great facilities and friendly staff to help at all times.
Its location is best, a short walk to main square but away from it all if you want peace and quiet too.
We stayed when it was not at its busiest but could imagine it being a bit noisy in the corriders, just from the design but dont let this put you off. Its one of the best places ive stayed in.

  • Liked — new and clean
  • Disliked — noise in corriders
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments

Address: Cerro do Malpique, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 101 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments Hotel Albufeira
Cerro Mar Albufeira
Cerro Mar Algarve
Cerro Mar Apartments Albufeira
Cerro Mar Hotel Albufeira
Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.