We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, ignore the bad reviews!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol to your Saves list
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Municipio, Lote 27 | Apartado 2054, Albufeira 8200-161, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic, ignore the bad reviews!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Recently returned from a 12 night stay at the Brisa Sol with my boyfriend and we loved it!

From the moment we arrived to the moment we checked out, the staff were friendly and helpful throughout. They could not do enough for you.

We were particularly chuffed to learn we had been given one of the ground floor studios facing the pool with private terrace. We stayed in room 0008 which was fantastically equipped and spacious. The air conditioning in the room was the best I have ever come across abroad! The beds are very comfy and the shower is extremely powerful! The maids cleaned the rooms everyday although the bedding was not changed that often during our 12night stay.

The pool snack bar is fantastic value for money and is delicious. Marco is a credit to the Brisa team, very friendly and cheeky with the guests. Also the cake shop adjoining the hotel is a must, the cakes are to die for and are again great value.

The location of the hotel is another strong point, it is about ten minutes to the old town and 15 minutes to the strip in the new town. Taxis are cheap enough but the noddy train stops right outside the hotel and is only 4euro for a day ticket.

Many people have mentioned the sun bed fiasco and it is true you have to be quick. We were lucky because being on the ground floor meant that we had a slight advantage but there were a couple of mornings when the doors were opened early and we too struggled to get a bed in a good spot! It is crazy how people fight for them but you do get this anywhere you go abroad in my experience!

All in all a truly fantastic holiday and we will definitely return!! The only slight criticism for me would be that there was no compartment freezer within the fridge which is a shame as it would have been nice to have some ice cubes in our drinks. But well done Brisa top marks!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    414
    116
    20
    12
See reviews for
293
517
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Lovely hotel, clean, fresh and well maintained. About 10 mins walk to town and the big shopping centre is right next door. Nice pool area with plenty of sun loungers. Didn't eat in the main restaurant but found the pool bar very expensive for food. Lovely pastry shop on site offering great coffee and food!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Stayed here with a group of 16 golfers - have no complaints at all. The rooms were very clean and spacious, the pool area is excellent and the breakfast choice very good.
The staff couldn't of been more helpful - very courteous at all times .The Hotel is located perfectly between the old and new towns (about 10min walk to both)
we have already booked for next year!

Room Tip: pool view - would be first choice , however we were on the road side of Hotel and it wasn't nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We have just returned from our fourth stay and have booked to return next year within 24 hours of landing. The whole complex is easily worth the four star rating and Staff are so friendly and helpful. The standards never drop from year to year. Our room this year was 0004 on the ground floor which was a suitably sized pool facing studio
The location is excellent as it is within a steady 10 minute walk to the old town and no more than twenty minutes to 'The Strip' where there are plenty of bars and restaurants specializing in meat and fish dishes and can be as busy or as quiet as you wish. We highly recommend the Mexican Restaurant 'MI Sombrero' , Al Forena Restaurant and Cocktail Bar on the beach front of the Old Town and 'Frogs' Pizza House on the Strip.
The Hotel itself has a very reasonably priced cake shop which is worth more than one visit, the best recommendation for this is that it is always full of locals. Situated next door is a large shopping complex to cater for most needs

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms more or less guarantees the sun on your balcony until early evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrewshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Stayed here in early July, hotel was just starting to get really busy for 'high season'

As we had arrived slightly ahead of the peak time we were able to enjoy a couple of stress free days before the fun began.........!?

Upon arrival reception staff were extremely welcoming, efficient and helpful, room was ready and no issues with the spacious apartment. It was clean , functional and ideal for a family of four.

The hotel itself comprises a fresh and cool reception area, a comfortable lounge bar with a balcony area, all very practical , although if any criticism was to be levelled, it would be that the main area was here was all a bit soulless.

The hotel has a great location, turn left for the Old Town , a smooth 10 minute walk to the escalators that descend into the main eating , drinking and shopping area, or, turn right and walk approx ten minutes into The Strip.

The hotel 'rules' now these create some interesting issues..............

1. No access to the pool area until 9am ??
2. No access to the gym until 10 am ??

Strangely, counter to these restrictions breakfast is available from 0800 until 1030, which is very generous, the hot and cold buffet breakfast was plentiful and of decent standard and choice.

Problem was though that these restrictions outlined above created a problem if you want to go to the gym or have a swim before breakfast, the first time I have ever encountered such limits.

In fact as the hotel filled up and numbers grew these limits on access actually created a major problem during our stay. Long queues started forming approx one hour before pool opening , this was people waiting to 'reserve' beds, an act that was clearly forbidden by the management , as indicated by signs at the pool..............I spoke to one holidaymaker who had stayed a full week and had been unable to successfully secure a pool side sun bed ! The pressure on the beds created a situation where hotel guests were lined up from the pool entrance way, back across the lift access and up the stairwell, actually a quite dangerous situation. Indeed you had the ridiculous situation where some guests pretended to be going down for breakfast , only to attempt to jump the queue !! When the 0900 time arrived, a quite chaotic and frankly insane 'land grab' ensued as people literally ran out to claim their sun bed territory ? Never seen anything like this before ............it was sad and it did create a rather unsavoury atmosphere amongst some guests.

The biggest insult however was that once people had claimed their beds, 90% of the holiday makers didn't stay within the pool side, they simply left again , in some cases not to return ( if at all ) until the afternoon ?? A classic example of peoples selfishness impacting other residents enjoyment of the pool area. Anyway when reception were consulted over this matter they stated that the Maintenance staff would attend and remove every towel from the sunbeds.............this never happened.

Apart from the negatives over strange access times to pool and gym, ( a policy I would suggest the Management review ) the hotel is fine. The staff are pleasant and helpful , the hotel fabric clean and our room was cleaned and towels changed every single day.

As for four stars I'd suggest not, perhaps a three star plus is appropriate. The hotel is showing its age in places , it is simply in danger of being left behind unless some investment is made and some rules are reviewed.

The Brisa Sol has a good location, great on site bakers great for lunches and cake treats and good local supermarket shopping next door.....................

All in all an average holiday hotel, would I return , hmm, unlikely, and certainly not during anything like a peak season again.

Room Tip: Choice to be made........the pool side rooms are smaller, the land or car park view rooms are more s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Just back from brisa sol great time was had clean rooms friendly staff ,easy to get about with train for €4 all day good value local people very friendly ,taxi driver's bit grumpy but after discovering train didn't use them can't recommend hotel enough.just checking price,s for next year as going back DON'T listen to bad reviews
Neil and Ann

Room Tip: Don't get pool view as to hot in afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Me and 5 others stayed at Brisa Sol for 2 weeks in July 2014. There had been lots of reviews submitted prior to this which didn't shine it in the best light. The pool situation is ridiculous and I will explain my experience of it.

My opinion is that this is a 4 star hotel because most 3 star hotels are just about 2 stars, 2 stars are 1 stars etc. Upon arriving I noticed that the entire hotel is generally very clean which is because the maids clean every floor/surface/mirror daily and the hotel is kept in good condition. When we checked in the reception staff were lovely, very professional and friendly, and spoke excellent English.

We had an apartment room with a kitchen. Ok so the rooms are not exactly up to date and modern, but they definitely are not depressing, old fashioned or tatty contrary to some reviews. The kitchen area had everything we needed and more, including a hob, kettle, toaster, glasses, cutlery, pans and a reasonable sized fridge (no mini freezer). The maid doesn't clean this area because this is really your responsibility as it is a self catering accommodation, so buy some clothes from the supermarket. There are 2 within 2 minutes walking distance from the hotel.

There were 2 single beds pushed together to make a double, which I actually preferred because you keep on your side! The air conditioning is very good, some hotels have rubbish systems but this one was ice cold - only thing is the rooms electric goes off when you take your key card out of the switch to leave the room, so you can't leave the air con on whilst you are out (this doesn't effect the fridge) but we asked for a spare key card and just left one card in the switch when we were out and left the air con on so when we got back the room was lovely and cool.

Bathroom is fine, clean and spacious enough for 2 people which all that really matters. I didn't take a hairdryer with me as I read that the rooms come with one. They do, but they are rubbish really especially when you have long thick hair so I would pack your hair dryers if you don't want to spend up to 40 minutes drying your hair like I did.

Maid service was every day. Beds were made daily and then changed every other day. Towels were replaced daily and the bathroom and toilet had a quick clean daily. Floors were hoovered and mopped daily.

The balconys are huge! Lots of space with a washing airer on the wall, 2 chairs and a table and each room comes with spare chairs which are kept in the wardrobe.

The safe came at a price of 30 euros and you only got 15 euro back when checking out - I would rather pay a small price to keep money etc secure so I didn't mind that.

THE POOL - I had seen YouTube videos and numerous reviews about this pool and was a bit concerned about being able to get sun beds. The pool does not open until 9 each morning (they say) and there is only one door to get to the pool so everybody is queuing up until it opens, sometimes across 2 flights of stairs. Once the door opens it is like a rat race to get a bed, everybody is running and going wild. The really annoying thing is that at least 5 times during the 2 weeks the pool opened at various times a lot earlier than 9 o'clock so we hadn't got in the queue and therefore struggled to get a sunbed. Sometimes we looked down from the balcony to realise everybody was on their sunbeds at 8:15, what happened to the 9 o'clock opening hours?!?. I don't understand why they lock the doors. Most hotels don't have locked doors to get to the pool and it is usually a case of get down when you want kind of thing. The hotel has security cameras which are at reception which are constantly monitored so if people were going into the pool out of hours they would notice. The hotel got busier as the 2 weeks went by and we found ourselves cutting our lie ins short to get down to the sun bed queue just to ensure we had a place to sit for the day, which is an absolute joke. I did not have one day on holiday where I was able to stay in bed (asleep or not) past 8:30 because of this reason. If you don't get to the queue in time then you risk chance of not being able to get a seat for that day until later on when people pack up and go in. I also don't understand why they haven't purchase more sunbeds because the pool area has the capacity for about 30 more beds I would say. You can lay on the grass on your towels but it isn't very comfortable. Another thing about the pool is that is has no deep end, which I know sounds picky but this was a negative for me as I like to be able to jump in the pool! You can still jump but it is only about 1.35 metres deep.

The pool snack bar does some nice lunchtime snacks including pizza and salad, baguettes, sandwiches, toasted sandwiches etc - really nice food actually. The club sandwiches are amazing and I recommend these.

Sometimes to get away from the heat we went to the games room which is on -1 floor. It is cool in there and never had anybody in it which was a bonus, it has 2 pool tables, pinball, air hockey and mini golf. It was nice to play pool with no kids around

I would stay at Brisa Sol again only if they changed the sunbed situation, put more chairs out because there is plenty of room for them.

Room Tip: There is often karaoke at the bar at night, which didn't start until10. This can be a distractio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol

Address: Rua do Municipio, Lote 27 | Apartado 2054, Albufeira 8200-161, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#12 Family Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamento Brisa Sol Albufeira
Apartamento Brisa Sol Hotel
Brisa Sol Albufeira
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.