We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so picturesque” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balaia-Sol Holiday Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Balaia-Sol Holiday Club to your Saves list
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Brejos, Albufeira 8200-315, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“so picturesque”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We booked two twin bed rooms due to availability. The rooms were lovely very clean with room service twice a week, the beds were comfy.
The place itself is beautiful a very typical portuguese building. The staff are great and very helpful.
The strip is a bout 15 mins away and the old town ( gorgeous ) is a taxi ride ( 7 euros each way).
The nearest beach Santa Eulalia is a bout 15mins walk if you take the direct route ie not through the neighbouring conplex and is gorgeous ! The bar is lovely to chill at when there are other families around.
If you are looking for an activity packed complex this isn;t for you, but relaxing and chilled it is !
I loved this place and would gladly return !

Room Tip: Room 11 is a twin bed room, facing the pool up a set of steps, so gorgeous to sit on the patio , eat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    129
    42
    19
    7
See reviews for
60
142
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cesano Maderno, Italia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Relaxing and beautiful holiday! We have a beautifuul apartment with balcony, a sitting-room with a kitchen, a bedroom and a bathroom. The cleaning is every 2 days and it's ok! The residence is very beautiful, a little bit hard to find if you don't know anything, but there are another place with a similar name that is very close, so if you follow that sign, you can find it!
The crew is kind, they helped us taking care of our bagagges that arrived 2 days after us.. TAP is not so reccomandable :(
It's not so close to the centre and the beaches, but however in Algarve you need a car, there are so many palces to visit!
I'd like to come back for sure and I recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Found the apartments on the outskirts of Albufera, nice quiet area as we wanted but a little bit far to walk into town and back on an evening.
We were a bit disappointed to have to leave a $20 euro deposit for the tv remote and a £50 Euro deposit for the air con remote, (which also costs an extra $10 euro's per day)!
The apartment itself was compact but reasonable for 2 adults, We stayed for 4 nights and did not get a towel change within this time, the cleaner did come twice but seemed only to make the beds, the floor was still gritty and un mopped afterwards.
We also had an ant problem, they were all over the kitchen and in the built in wardrobes, (found them in my pants on getting dressed!) When I went to reception I was given ant powder, however not happy about putting insecticide on food preparation surfaces.

These were all minor gripes as overall the staff were very friendly, the place is nice and in a good quiet area, value for money ? yes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Having just got back from a stay at the Balaia Sol I found it to be a nice, relaxing place and just what my boyfriend and I were looking for. It was a relatively small complex of apartments meaning there wasn't too much noise or need to fight for sun loungers at the pool. We always found a good spot despite going down quite late at times and there is a good mix of spots in the sun or shade. The pool was a bit chilly when you first get in but aren't all pools like this generally? It was quite refreshing after sitting in the sun for so long. There was also some seating by the bar and a pool table in you needed a little break in the shade.

The bar has a good range of drinks on offer with cocktails only €4. There wasn't quite a much variety in terms of food (pizza, hot dogs, pie and chips, sandwiches etc) and so we didn't eat here on an evening but it was quite reasonable for lunch. More often however we did use the local mini-market which was a 5 minute walk away and ate lunch in our room. Here you could buy fresh bread and croissants and the big bottles of water were significantly cheaper than at the bar.

The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and seemed to want to do anything they could to make your stay the best it could be. We booked a day at one of the local water parks and they sorted this out for us including bus transport, which was really helpful. We found the old town to be our favourite place to go on an evening (big range of nice bars and restaurants) but it was too far to walk to and so the hotel booked taxis for us. This was €2 and the taxis could be quite busy at times but you weren't normally waiting too long. One night the hotel even sorted their own minibus for us as it was busy which was nice. They also pointed out where the strip was which was just a 10-15minute walk for us (might be longer with children) this had a lot of bars for any big drinkers and a few restaurants that we saw but it was very loud and busy here which is why we preferred going that bit further to the old town.

The rooms were very clean and had pretty much everything you could need. The beds were comfortable and there was a nice balcony to sit out on. The only thing I really would have liked was some air conditioning as it did get a little stuffy, however we left the shutters open most of the time to let some air through and this worked quite well as it wasn't noisy on a night and there weren't any bugs to be wary of as far as we experienced.

All in all I would be happy to recommend this hotel to others, although probably more so to couples or families with older children.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from Balaia Sol hotel. Stopped with my partner and two children age 9 & 10 for two weeks. Have had a wonderful holiday very relaxing and would totally recommend for families. I was little concerned would be to quiet for children but they made lots of friends and were made very welcome by all staff. My son loved the pool/games room and the swimming pools were great for us all. If had to be negative would be that wished the beach was closer as would be a bit of march in the heat every day or payment for a bus. Food available was excellent and we spent many hours at night relaxing with friends we had met at the bar. I would go back again tomorrow if could!! We walked to the strip (15 min) each evening and had plenty of options on bars and restaurants and found the people to be very warm and welcoming. Wifi is available at small cost of €5 for two weeks but service limited unless by pool/bar

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This complex was situated 10 mins walk to the strip, or a 7euro taxi ride from the old town. Well within walking distance of at least 2 beaches that we visited. We went self catering and found all the equipment we needed in the kitchen area, kettle,toaster,frying pans etc.. We had a double room and a double sofa pull out bed in lounge which was nice and easy to set up and put away in the morning. Complex area was very pretty and floral and very well maintained, with pool area opening most mornings around 9am and bar area 10am. There was a mix of young families and couples which made it nice and relaxing and quiet. The bar was open till 12pm every evening and they had a small shop area for essentials such as bread,milk,water, but we mainly used the mini market next door on the other complex as they had more choice and better prices.
Overall I would definately go back again but would have to upgrade to a superior room which I believe had air conditioning and 2 bedrooms.

Room Tip: Try and get a superior room if going in August as I believe these may have air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Situated about 10-15 minutes from the new strip, bit further than we would have liked, but we wanted away from loud music and rowdy young groups.. Oh god we really are getting old!.
The pool is not heated but is not cold at all.
The apartments are very spacey and clean , with all you need to prepare your own food.
It's a very pretty place, and all staff were friendly, the pool area is great and always very clean.. The kids loved it!
My only gripe was the beds, woke up with a backache as they are quite hard, but that's the only gripe , and would not stop me from returning.
Save your time and try and aim for old town, much more going on, better shops, better beach etc.
To sum up, a great little hotel which would get 5 stars but for the distance away from the strip, but a taxi will cost you €4 if you do not wish to walk .
Ps. Writing this overlooking the pool.. Right, off to have a few piña coladas ;)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balaia-Sol Holiday Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balaia-Sol Holiday Club

Address: Brejos, Albufeira 8200-315, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Balaia-Sol Holiday Club 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Balaia-Sol Holiday Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balaia Sol Apartments Albufeira
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balaia-Sol Holiday Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.