We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful partying” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balaia-Sol Holiday Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Balaia-Sol Holiday Club to your Saves list
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Brejos, Albufeira 8200-315, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Peaceful partying”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed at Balia Sol in 2010 and am now going back this May. For a group of 4 girls, it is an excellent set of apartments for us as it is away from it all to relax during the day but close enough to walk into the strip at night. It is a very pretty apartment block with nice flowers and tiling. Rooms are basic but very clean with everything in working order. Great for people that need a base but maybe not ideal for people looking to actually cook in the apartment. Looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    130
    42
    19
    7
See reviews for
60
142
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just come back from a 10 night stay in this "peaceful oasis" , excellent proper little sun trap round the pool area with beautiful gardens.Very good food at reasonable prices , nice large apartment with balcony and kept very clean.Adelaide and Ana being our very nice and polite hosts serving our beer and food and keeping things in order. A relaxing fifteen minute walk to the strip or a short taxi ride to the old town (about 5 euros) with plenty of bars and restaurants to choose from.Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We have just come back from our third holiday at the Balaia Sol ,its our first choice on the Algarve.The small complex is like a beautiful oasis for its guests.The grounds are lovely ,with bouganvillia trailing and potted plants which are peaceful and well maintained.We had apartment 3 this year.The bedroom is huge ,seperate kitchen,diner/lounge ,plenty of room for 4 people.The whole complex is spotlessly clean and well looked after.The pool area is immaculate,plenty of sun loungers and generally very quiet.The staff are fantastic and so helpful ,nothing is too much trouble for them.We used the cafe/bar everyday ,the food was excellent and good value for money.

Room Tip: ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

The Balaia sol is a very peaceful destination but only a few minutes by shuttle bus or taxi from the old town which Is filled with excellent restaurants and bars with music of all kinds filling the air. A must do is a night at the Atrium restaurant where they have Faro nights a couple of nights a week . This traditional Portuguese music is ideal for making you feel part of the culture.
The Strip is ideal for people who enjoy "clubbing" but a bit too much like a Saturday night at home for me.
The Balaia sol offers snacks around a beautiful pool area. The staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful, and the shuttle bus is a snip at only 2 euros for the trip either to the strip or the old town.
Complaints? None really but the beds in our apartment were quite unlike those we saw on the website , mine was only 75cms wide , I can't imagine the difficulties this would cause for anybody wanting a romantic holiday. Fortunately this didn't apply in our case. All in all a super destination

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Picture box pretty apartments, old which I prefer and well kept, better than I thought they would be for what we paid. Had apt 14 which had a lovely terrace & garden and was quiet and private. Apt was a bit dark inside as had no windows and in mid Oct got no sun. You had to use the key to access electricity but not a problem as loads of lights to turn on. Pretty pool which we managed to use on 2 occasions as it rained for our other 2 days. On our last day as it was raining used the bar facility and found it to be ok. A short walk onto the strip and not too far into Albufeira but I like walking. Comments from other people say it is out in the middle of nowhere, don't know where they got that idea from, but come on you are on holiday and no rush to get anywhere. Just didn't like Albufeira and hated the strip so walked the other way into Olhas de Agua in the evening which took us about 40 minutes and worked up an appetite! Would return to the apts again. Look out for Ruffina the dog who comes to greet you! Thought the courtesy room was good and contained shower/toilet/electric point and boy did we need it on our last day as we got soaked though on our last walk roudn the area.

Room Tip: Rooms 8-14 are on the ground floor and have lovely garden/terrace area overlooking the pool but sepe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barnsley
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Just back from a brilliant week in Portugal, Although the Apartments are a good 15 minuite walk from "The Strip" that shouldnt deter you from this little gem of a place, Very Clean, everything you need if you want to cook yourself (we managed breakfast, everything else we ate out) and clean towels twice a week, so don't go packing shower towels cos you dont need them, Pool, although COLD! once your in, which took me a while lol, is ok, made the mistake of thinking we wouldnt need much sun cream as it was mid October, Wrong! Wednesday I got rather burnt on my back, its usually my head which i shave that gets burnt, but the sun is at a slightly different angle, Many Thanks to Ian and his Family From Dublin who gave me some Natural yogurt to cool my skin down (He and Lee took great pleasure in watching me squirm and grimmace as my Partner Beverley smoothed it all over my body, so much so they both nearly Pee'd themselves). Taxi's are very cheap so use them, if you need to call a taxi, the Staff will ring one for you, but I think 2 Euro is a tad expensive for a phone call, If your looking for a cheap and cheerfull Holiday you can't go far wrong with the Balaia Sol, we would defo go back to these apartments, our room was number 20 and it was Massive! Bang smack next to the pool too. A tip for Food on the Strip, Paulu's at the top of Cardiac Hill (next to the Chocolate shop) is a MUST! Fillet Steak, which was massive! Chips, Side Salad, Dessert, Half a bottle of wine, Olives & Bread and a massive Glass of Port to finish all for 19 Euro's!! wish we had gone at the beginning of the week! also the Happy House Chinese Buffet all you can eat for 10 Euro 50 cents, Bargain! Portugal is a Great place to visit and the Balaia Sol is an ideal place to lay you head, hope this review helps.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor poolside room facing the sun, we loved ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Just back from this apartment stayed in room 17. no sun in the morning but lovely afternoon and early evening for spot of food on your balcony. We read all the reviews before booking and were pleased with what we had. My husbands only complaint was we had a studio so if we stayed in and watched any tv we had to lay on the beds as we had plenty of tables in the room but no settee, like some did. The mini bus service they offer came in handy if you didnt fancy the 15minute walk up to the strip.But the walk looks worse than what it was. Quite a pleasant walk if your able enough to do it. The sizzling stone is a great place to eat. (Not the one on the strip) Its near the end behind the wild west bar/restaurant. Cook your meat to your own liking on a sizzling very hot platter Also opposite the wild west is an alley way which sometimes a liitle chinese man stands there trying to get you in, all week we avoided it until our last night and boy we were sorry we had not gone there sooner. The banquet for 2 was just under 30euro and we had plenty. (even left some) Anyone thinking of going here will not be to dissapointed unless you are looking for 5 star accommadation . Only fault was as other people said sunlounger uncomfortableif you lie there to long and in peak season think the room would be to hot without air con. After that would stay here again .

Room Tip: room 17 overlooked the walk up to the strip. Very quiet . no traffic noise No sun on balcony in mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Balaia-Sol Holiday Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balaia-Sol Holiday Club

Address: Brejos, Albufeira 8200-315, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
#31 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Balaia-Sol Holiday Club 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Balaia-Sol Holiday Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balaia Sol Apartments Albufeira
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balaia-Sol Holiday Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.