We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Apartamento Almar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Apartamento Almar to your Saves list
Apartamento Almar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Bartolomeu Dias, Cerro da Alagoa, Albufeira 8200-915, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
tamworth
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Needs updating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed here for a week between 27th sept and 4th oct the reception and staff are so friendly and helpful the hotel lobby bar area and pool area are clean aswell as all the corridors ...now the room we had two rooms between us and they both needed updating badly no kettle fridge didn't work ( had a new replacement but food had gone off) showers were no good and not enough hot water for 3 of us bath bottom was rough where paint was peeling off ..at night the corridors echoed so if someone noisy came up the stairs everyone heard them the beds were the hardest things I've ever slept on however the location is great if they updated everything it would be a top hotel unfortunately I won't be staying there again until is updated

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    71
    24
    5
    6
See reviews for
42
69
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irish couple in Paris
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Myself and 8 girlfriends rented 3 apartments in the Almar for 3 nights in October. We went there last year too. The view from our balcony on the fourth floor was fabulous looking over our pool and the sea. The apartments are clean and basic but really suited our needs as we were only making cups of tea and a few sandwiches. The kitchen facilities are very basic- no kettle but a toaster and microwave. The 2 cooker rings barely worked but we didn't need them. It took 2.5 mins to boil a cup for tea in the microwave and that was sufficient for our needs.
The apartments consist of a twin bedroom and 2 sofas which serve as beds. The sofas were more comfortable than the beds. There is no air conditioning which is fine in October but would not be good in July or August. I would not stay here with my family in the summer as the kitchen amenities would not be adequate enough and there is no laundry facilities.
However my girlfriends and I will be back next year in the autumn,God willing. Only 2 minutes walk to the nearest supermarket or bar. Less than 10 minutes walk to the beach and its all downhill on the way there. There are escalators down and more importantly up, to the beach and the restaurants/ shops/strip.
The staff are very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview on the third or fourth floor- you will not be disappointed by this view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Everything you read here is just about right.
The pool, public areas and gardens lovely.
Fernando and his snack bar , great
Sea view rooms, great views , spacious.
Handy vented drying room with a sink
The staff , very very helpful.
The place is spotless
Location, spot-on, with some of the nicest restaurants and nice little local coffee shops on the doorstep.
Massive supermarket ans small modern mall ten mins walk
The rooms and furnishings are indeed tired and need sorting, with new kitchens, bathrooms , AIR CONDITIONING, but are still clean and functional.
One little quirk in the design of the one bed sea view rooms is the bedroom is on the corridor , with a window that opens onto the public area, and if it's hot and no aircon you have to leave this window open, slightly, it must me murder in July and August very hot sticky and noisy, that might just be me , I feel the heat at night.
Anyway, back to the plot, I am a bit fussy as a rule and was a bit "meh" about it on first arrival but it really grew on me, and I became quite fond of it by the end of the trip
I would definitely go back, but will certainly be checking the brochures with interest to see if it gets it's make-over sometime soon.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

just returned from our stay at the almar we booked last minute and after reading reviews not sure this was the place for us!! how surprised big sea view apartment overlooking the old town and pool but yes it does need a refurb!!! the position great near shops old town restaurants bus stop and of course the beach.we enjoyed our stay and will return!!!

Room Tip: sea view apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ardee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

just finished 10 day holiday in albuferia,ask for sea view and boy did i get one fab, found the staff very friendly and helpful,rooms spacious and very clean,while it could do with updating eg baths showers and worktop,why not get rid baths and put in showers..... just few minues walk to old town downhill where there are many fab restaurants,flavours fab fab food and staff,you also have beach basket and agustos but to name a few,also as you head down from almar keep left gt restaurant don carlos,many wee potragese bars along way very friendly, bottles local beer 1.20,we were lucky as all couples were in our age bracket so very peaceful and enjoyable stay and yes book room with sea view well worth the extra few pound i see some people had bad experience with group young people maybe hotel could learn lesson from this,but seriously i cd not fault it,kettle, cooker microwave, loads crockery etc, iron and ironing board wash room with clothes line overall very enjoyable stay wd def go back and would recommend it x tip we found if you left door in wash room open gives nice breeze ....

Room Tip: room 305 fab fab view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Booked this early this year,wasn't cheap. Can't fault the garden and pool area and view,but that's where it ends. We were on the fourth floor,felt more like an 18-30 hotel! Had no sleep for the first week due to groups of girls and lads(French) on the same floor. Even after complaining made no difference, police actually evicted some guests on the fourth floor due to breaking glass in apartment and throwing glasses off balcony. No sleep in the second week due to no air conditioning, rock hard beds, terrible flimsy pillows. Hardly any sunbeds,counted 21approx, no padding on sunbeds and had to buy parasol if wanted one, someone kindly left us theirs for our second week. Now to the apartment, never seen such bad condition throughout, but mainly bathroom, hole in door, bath cracked, shower falling apart, kitchen really dated, had to boil a cup of water in microwave to make a cup of tea. Never saw bar open throughout stay, even tho peak time. Currently waiting for compensation from agent who we booked with. Think twice before you stay here!! Never again!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel was perfect for what we wanted, a young couple on holiday.
Very close to both the old town of Albufeira - easily accessible by the escalators and also close to the strip ( not the greatest) and large supermarket + easy bus links to attractions such as Aqua land.
The room itself was immaculate, we were on the 3rd floor with sea view which i would highly recommend you asked for, the view made the whole experience amazing! with the large balconies, being able to sit outside and sample some of the very cheap Portuguese beer was brilliant.
There was a shower/bath combo with large mirror, large sitting area with British TV, fully equip kitchen and washing area with Iron + Ironing board. ]
The only negative I found was that the window into the bedroom went directly into the corridor so that you couldn't open this in the night due to lack of privacy/security and with little draft coming through, a fan would of been nice...

The staff were helpful with all speaking English and making the stay easy and enjoyable.

A great place to stay with a perfect location, large rooms and incredible views.
Would highly recommend just make sure you get a 3rd floor - sea view room, its worth every penny!
x

Room Tip: sea view - 3rd floor ( we were 304)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Apartamento Almar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamento Almar

Address: Rua Bartolomeu Dias, Cerro da Alagoa, Albufeira 8200-915, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamento Almar 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Apartamento Almar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamento Almar Hotel Albufeira
Apartamento Almar Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve
Almar Apartments

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartamento Almar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.