We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apartamento Almar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Apartamento Almar to your Saves list
Apartamento Almar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Bartolomeu Dias, Cerro da Alagoa, Albufeira 8200-915, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Location Location Location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The ALMAR apartments are all about location. Overlooking the sea (Sea View Apt Try to get 4th floor). They are a pleasant ten minute downhill stroll to the beach and the old town. There is a small supermarket two min away and a larger shopping centre 15min away. A few bars and restaurants are located within a stone’s throw, but the real hub is in the old town. Ate in several restaurants, all ok but nothing outstanding. The Costa Rica on the strip was still the best by far. The apartments themselves are basic and a little dated, but spotlessly clean, maid service every day with towels changed every second day. The pool and gardens looked very nice but it was a bit chilly for us at 17 degrees. The staff were very friendly and helpful. (Especially Sueria).
For the best live music you have to go and see Martin Jonathan Live at Steps Bar in Albufeira old town. He is unreal, what a guitar player and what a repertoire and a great entertainer. If you want a real entertainment experience go see this guy, forget X factor.
We played our golf at the Pestana group of courses, Alto, Silves, Gramacho, Pinta and Vila Sol. All were in really good condition, with fairways and greens in excellent order.
Our transportation was provided by YorEasyTravel, a young couple Nelson and Alexandra, both of whom were made unemployed some time ago, but got their own business up and running. A fast, extremely friendly and efficient service throughout the week and reasonably priced. Great to see a young family business doing well. I would most highly recommend YorEasyTravel, for both groups and individual travellers.

Room Tip: Sea View Apt Try to get 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    71
    24
    5
    6
See reviews for
42
69
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Co. Kerry
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed for a week recently in Almar and could find very little fault with these apartments. Location is excellent, only a few minutes walk to the top of the escalators that take you down to the Old Town. Amazing views overlooking the sea and Old Town, we were in a 1 bed apartment which was huge and had all the facilities you could want, even an iron, the main down side being the beds which were like rocks! So uncomfortable. We ended up on the couches which were really comfy and plenty big enough. Check in and out very efficient. Safe was €12.50 for the week with €25 deposit. It was a pity the snack bar was closed, maybe because of the time of year as it was very quiet there.
Apart from one day we practically had the pool area to ourselves most of the time. A great sized pool (also a children's pool) and a lovely grassy area as well, no parasols but I imagine there would be in the height of the summer. Although we had all the facilities for s/c there wasn't an actual oven, only a microwave which isn't much good if you want to cook something half decent! and certainly not good enough if you have children with you.
Towels were changed every day and we had a lovely friendly cleaner. Price-wise fantastic value.
Overall excellent apartments and I would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: We asked for a sea view and luckily got it, its worth getting one if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killorglin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

this is our 3rd stay in the old town and 3rd different hotel and this is the best yet,the rooms are huge with good utilities although the room we had had only a microwave oven which was no good as I bought a frozen pizza for lunch duh...the beds were very hard and had to sleep on the living room couches for the last 2 nights,the grounds are kept well and even have a huge lemon tree,the staff are very quiet but always smiled but the daily cleaner was very friendly and tried her best to teach me a few portuguese words,all in all a very good price for what you get and close enough to the old town to stretch your legs(5mins)

Room Tip: we had a ground floor but above looks best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is the second time I have visited this hotel, once in October with my boyfriend - I booked a suite apartment which was massive with 2x balcony, 2x single sofa beds & a double bed - more than enough room for two lol. I've just come back from there(April) with my friend and booked a smaller room(Studio), which is fine if you're two friends staying but not for couples so please be aware of this - as it does not say that online. Studios are all on the first floor overlooking a beautiful garden. Again the room was spotlessly clean with a 1x balcony. Beds are 2x single sofa beds at right angles, they cannot be moved. The beds were however proper mattresses and were very comfy. Hotel staff were always so helpful booking trips and even noticed I visited before, got all my details ready - perfect!! Overall this hotel really is a great find, great value and brilliant location with only a short distance to the old town. I'll definitely coming back here.

Room Tip: AGAIN: Studios only have 2x single sofa beds that cannot be moved from the 90 degrees they are fixed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The best location ever, just a few minute walk to Old town and the beach. Room spacious and amazing views. Always clean and helpful friendly staff. Such good value for money and Albufeira is a beautiful place!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

First of all the good parts, very cheap, amazing views of the sea and old town from the apartment. The apartment is very large with good size balcony. The staff are very friendly and helpful. It is also relatively easy to get to old town from the apartments. The downsides are there was no restaurant or bar open this time of year. I have never had this in a hotel where there has been no bar or restaurant facilities. I have been told that this changes in the peek of the season. This isnt a major problem as there are so many bars and restaurants nearby. The hotel rooms are slightly old fashioned but the heating is good and plenty of channels to watch if the weather isnt great...Weather is not always good at Easter. There is a small charge for taxis to be called which is unnecessary I feel. There was also no entertainment. All in all though, an incredibly good value hotel in an amazing location with beautiful views. We were very happy with this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg, Sweden
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Service- minded personal, always nice and with a smile for the guest! We had 3- rooms flat with sea view, fantastic. Ask for a flat on 2ond or 3rd floor, you will not regret the price.The Atlantic will pay you off. Big rooms, a bit old, worn out, but all well funktion.The beds are hard! Good location, near beach, moving stare case, and Old city, Super market, every place less then 5 min. away. We gladly returns to Albufeira and Hotel Almar.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apartamento Almar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamento Almar

Address: Rua Bartolomeu Dias, Cerro da Alagoa, Albufeira 8200-915, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamento Almar 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Apartamento Almar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamento Almar Hotel Albufeira
Apartamento Almar Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve
Almar Apartments

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartamento Almar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.