We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, clean hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alisios

Save Saved
You added Hotel Alisios to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Alisios
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave Infante dom Henrique 83, Albufeira 8200-916, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic, clean hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We couldn't have been much happier with our stay at The Alisios. We went with a regular room (no sea view) but it's till exceeded our expectations and got the light at all times. The room was spacious and clean, and the bathroom was very nice too!

Perfect size and location, just a walk downstairs and you're straight out onto the beach.

The only thing we were slightly disappointed with was the breakfast, which was mostly packaged or tinned produce and a lot of bread. This was a bit of a shame when the region is so rich in fresh fruit, figs, nuts etc. We would have gladly paid a slightly higher rate for the week to have fresh produce for breakfast.

All in all a fantastic stay though and definitely the most pleasant and aesthetically superior hotel in the area in our opinion.

Would definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    43
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
105
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We had a fabulous week at the Alisios Hotel. From the moment we walked in from the very smart entrance we could instantly see it was beautifully stylish and immaculate. We were welcomed by the friendly staff (including the owner Regina). She also greets the guests personally at our travel reps ‘meet and greet’ introduction, which we thought was a nice personal touch.
We chose to be upgraded from the street-facing room we due to be allocated through our Thompson package booking. This cost an extra 35 Euros a night, but for this we got a very nice First floor beach/sea view and balcony, which helped make the holiday memorable for us. Our upgraded room number was 108. We certainly had a fantastic uninterrupted view of the beach and sea. Our room was contemporary, spotless, and with a great (large) shower room.they provide a hairdryer and good toiletries for showering.
One of the best things about the hotel is its location, which is right on the beach, with residents’ having their own secure entrance onto the beach. The hotel is also within 10 minutes walking distance of Albufiera Old Town, which was very handy for dining out, etc.
The Alisios also has fabulous breakfasts, with a good choice and in a lovely breakfast room. We also dined in their recently refurbished contemporary roof terrace restaurant one night (for the Saturday night BBQ), which we really enjoyed, with good food again, and fabulous views which you would find hard to beat.
We didn’t mind at all that there was no outside pool, as we were so close to the great beach. We did use the indoor sea water pool and Jacuzzi tub regularly, which was great to relax after a hot day’s sunbathing, and very quiet (take your own swimming hat for the pool if you don’t want to buy one from the hotel for 5 Euros). There is also a lovely relaxing terrace area with sunbeds.
It was our first time in Portugal and we loved it ! We hired a car and visited most of the attractions and the beaches, which were stunning, with amazing rock formations. My partner was given lots of advice from all of the very helpful reception desk staff on where to go, and map guidance on our travels.
We took our own travel kettle for the room to enjoy our `Very British` cup of tea.
We would definitely recommend Alisios to anyone, and can’t wait to return ourselves to Portugal and Hotel Alisios!

Room Tip: 108 -most of the first floor for the un interrupted sea views also of course top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Me and my boyfriend arrived slightly skeptical as it was the first holiday we had booked together. In saying that though we left having had the most perfect and relaxed holiday possible. Thomson made sure that is was seamless travel and once we had got to the hotel we couldn't of been happier. The staff from start to end were always smiling and had time to help you with any enquiry or problem. The room was spotless with a nice finish and good facilities. Shower was powerful and the beds were comfy which were the two of the most important things for me. Breakfast in the morning was also good as it had a nice range of food which plenty of choice. While we were staying it was peaceful and ideal for what we wanted.

We will be going back in a few years time as we enjoyed it so much. Would happily recommend to other people to go!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

on arrival we were greeted by a hotel manager and he took our suitcases into the lobby area. once checked in we were then shown to our room (519) by the same manager. The room was over looking the road which had fantastic views of the surrounding area which also had the full sun morning and then again around 16:00 onwards. The hotel is spotlessly clean and fully air conditioned through out .Our bedroom was just the right size air cond and the beds were so comfy, bath room also spotless with lashings of hot water.. All hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and of very smart appearance. The breakfast is served on the ground floor and have lots of choices from different breads/meats and cheese to fruits and cakes, also bacon, beans and eggs, cereals are also a plenty and different cold juice also on offer. The only thing the hotel lacks is an outdoor swimming pool but do have an indoor pool but rarely gets used..There is a peaceful sun terrace to soak up the sun and a bar serving food and drinks. As the hotel is right on the beach down about 20 steps, beware that the beds and parasols cost 12 euros per day can be expensive, but if you look near the door leading to the beach there are beach things that other people have left so you can use these for free.. once on the beach look out for the café set back which sells beers and cold drinks and a great menu. overall the hotel Alisios is situated in a great position and is a 20 minute walk to the old town along the coast.. This hotel is also child free so nice and relaxed.. I would definitely recommend and also return..

Room Tip: if available when booking you can book a sea view at an extra cost..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My husband & i have just returned from a lovely weeks holiday at this hotel . From the moment we stepped off the coach we were welcomed by the very friendly reception staff, taken to our room & made to feel very welcome. Our room was not sea facing but we had sunshine all day long on our balcony.
The hotel is spotless & has lovely music piped through the stairs . Theres no outdoor pool but a very peaceful sun terrace & the beach right on your door step . There are umbrellas & lilos left by previous guests so no need to pay out 12 euros for sun beds. There are a couple of lovely bars on the beach serving food & drinks all day.
Hotel is nicely situated between new & old town . New town was just like Blackpool but old town
nice in parts . Big Johns Bar has an excellent group playing a few afternoons per week .
Some lovely shops & restaurants in the Old Town but it does get very busy at night , with groups of lads & girls.
We loved the hotel , breakfast was lovely , lots of choice& good quality . English are in the minority, however this wasnt a problem as other guests were pleasant enough & mostly kept to themselves. Bedtoom was lovely & clean , very comfy bed , excellent shower , plenty of hot water. Id definitely return to this hotel .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, England
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Myself and my wife Claire stayed at the Alisios for 2 weeks from mid June onwards and, on the whole, had an enjoyable and thoroughly relaxing time. We booked as part of a Thomson package holiday and the whole experience from booking to organisation of flights, transfers and excursions was seamless as usual from the well oiled Thomson machine. The holiday advisor (rep to me and you) Liana was very helpful and friendly.
I had researched the hotel and was aware of the steps down to the beach and the quietness of the local area. What I hadn't taken account of was the lack of any shops within at least half a mile. We couldn't even just nip out for a paper or a bottle of water without having to endure the angina inducing hills either up to the strip or down, up and back down to the old town.
On arrival the hotel looked just like the photos I had seen and was very pleasant and spotlessly clean. The reception area is beautifully furnished and very attractive. Check-in was simple and quick thanks to the staff who were all very friendly and welcoming with a good command of a variety of languages. Please be aware that the predominant nationality of your fellow guests will be German and on many occasions we had to remind the various staff memebers that we were English as they attempted to converse with us in German. A quick 'nicht verstehen' in my pigeon German put them right though. We had to leave our passports at reception which is pretty standard procedure. We were allocated room 218 which was just down a short ramp to the left of reception. First impressions of the room were that it was beautiful, well presented and furnished. The bathroom was enormous as was the shower within. It was well presented and included a lovely big sink and a full size wall-mounted pedestal with excellent space all around. There was also a hairdrier present. Toilet paper was of fairly poor quality but was in good supply. The towels were changed regularly and were of good quality. There is a soap dispenser by the sink and a shower gel and shampoo dispenser in the shower. These were all good quality Dove products. The water was hot and the pressure very constant at all times of the day or night. In the bedroom there is a large double bed which is actually 2 singles pushed together. There is a small bedside cabinet at each side with a very shallow drawer which could just about accomodate my 10 inch tablet PC and phone. The main dresser also contained a really shallow drawer which could just accomodate my massive billowing underpants. This would appear to be it for storage until you notice the other door by the side of the balcony doors which is where you will find the wardrobe and safety deposit box. There is plenty of room in here with ample hangers and drawer and shelf space for your needs. Don't do what I did and spend ages looking for the light switch for this room, it comes on as you open the door and goes off when you close it. A word about the safety deposit box, it is small and really only suitable for storing passports and cash etc. My tablet and cameras would not fit so these were left out. I never felt that they were in danger of being stolen or damaged though. The balcony is quite large with enough space for 2 comfortable chairs and a small table. We did note that at no time of the day did our balcony receive any direct sunlight. This actually meant that it was a little uncomfortable to sit out while the wind was blowing during the first few days of our holiday. Also it could be overlooked from the sun terrace. The view was beautiful overlooking, as it does, the excellent beach and the rather calm but cold Atlantic Ocean. To the right we could see the Old Town and the equally stunning Fisherman's Beach. The view to the left was simply of more beach and the large floating inflatable play area for kids. We didn't see anyone using this equipment as it seemed a rather long way out at sea for young kids to swim to and, as I said, the sea was really cold. So that was the room summed up other than to say that the aircon was on all the time and, in my view, only just cooled the room enough to ensure a good nights sleep. There was a complimentary bottle of water and a few oranges in the room when we arrived, the water was replenished once and the oranges not at all. There are no brew facilities and the fridge is in fact a mini-bar which remains locked unless you buy something to put into it. It is then unlocked for the duration of the holiday and it was a real godsend. We just ordered 2 beers for 6 euros and then had the use of a fridge for the entire 2 weeks, a good enough system I suppose. I forgot to mention the safety deposit box cost, there was a 10 euro deposit for the key and a daily charge of 4 euros I think. The door has a combination of a key and a security code to open it and a simple key turn to shut it again. That really does sum up the room so on to other facilities at the hotel. There is an indoor pool for which it is mandatory to wear a bathing cap. These are available at reception for 4 euros 50 cents if you do not own your own. The pool is on the lowest floor along with the breakfast room. More on breakfast later. Floor 3 contains the restaurant, bar and sun terrace. The sun terrace is apparently a fairly recent addition and is an absolute must for those not wishing to endure the steps down to and up from the beach. There are approximately 40 sunbeds and during the whole 2 weeks we never struggled to find one. It is good that the bar is also up here as cold drinks are a must throughout the day. The bar staff will bring drinks and snacks to your sunbeds too. The steps down to the beach can be accessed from the left hand front corner of the terrace and there is a swipe card access to prevent non-guests from using the steps. We didn't count the steps but we also didn't use them that much either. We walked down them twice and not up them at all, preferring to walk along the beach to the old town and walk back along the roads. This walk took around 15 - 20 minutes and involved plenty of hilly stretches. The final part of the walk up to the hotel entrance became known as angina hill for it's steepness. Then just as your legs were starting to ache there are the 10 steps up to the hotel. It's not that bad really and it's only my pitiful levels of fitness and additional weight that makes me mention it now. The beach looked beautiful and we are dedicated beach lovers but the staggering price of 12 euros per sunbed put us off and we spent virtually the whole 2 weeks on the terrace. Surprisingly it was most enjoyable mainly due to the peace and quiet, the quality of the sunbeds and the proximity to the bar/restaurant. The bar staff all seemd OK if a little slow on the uptake but this seemed to improve during the fortnight. It's worth mentioning the bar now, it was quiet, very quiet. If it hadn't been for the fact that it screened all the World Cup matches, I suspect it may well have been empty. There was absolutely no atmosphere and no permanent barman present. If one of the staff, who were more concerned with diners and stock-taking, happened to notice you lurking near the bar they would trudge over and serve you. Some with a smile and some not but in the main they were OK. Drinks were reasonably priced I suppose although soft drinks seemed over-priced, almost 5 euros for two small glasses of fizzy orange. I think a large beer, which seemed to vary between 40 and 50cl, was around 3 euros whichever size you ended up with. With a glass of house wine coming in somewhere around 5 euros, the prices were, as I said, OK. The only other occupants of the bar seemed to be small groups of very insular Germans wearing checked shirts. They seemed to have their own little clique going on and had very strange and annoying senses fo humour. One guy who really got up my nose was constantly laughing during football matches. It was obviously worse when England were playing and he laughed so hard he nearly fell off his chair when a poor Uruguayan player got kicked in the head, very weird. Other than being spoken toin German many times we had nothing to do with them. It sems that they expect all their fellow guests to be German and in the main they were. I started to wear my England t shirts more often to annoy them and also remind the staff that we were English. That about sums up the bar. The restaurant which basically shares the same space was very good and a lot of guests had booked half-board. We were on B 'n' B only but did take advantage of an offer of 3 evening meals for 2 complete with a bottle of wine for 150 euros. Not the cheapest but it saved us from negotiating angina hill for 3 nights. The food we enjoyed was superb with me being the most adventurous as usual. Claired ordered piri-piri chicken each night while I enjoyed pork fillet, lamb and the very impressive Nile Perch. Soup of the day was ordered each night and a variety of superb sweets were enjoyed too. Claire opting for the special of the day each night while I chose from the impressive sweet selection on the menu. 50 euros seemed a little steep at the time we paid it but the quality and service was worth every penny (cent). It would appear that the staff enjoy serving food more than they do beer. Oops nearly forgot, you get bread, olives and pate to start with. The house wine was really quite good too with my favourite being the white.
We booked a couple of excursions with Liana and they were both superb. One was to the staggeringly beautiful Cape St Vincent (the end of the world) which included stops at Silves, Lagos and the Monchique Mountains. There was also an optional lunch break in Monchique which provided us with a fairly low quality 3 courses for 13 euros with the main being the obligatory piri-piri chicken. It was all edible and filled a hole until dinner. The restaurant was called O Castelo and we were served by Ugly Betty or someone who looked remarkably like her. No offence intended. Our other tour was a landrover trip up the Monchique Mountains but this time to watch the sunset while drinking cheap spumante wine billed as Champagne and Sunset. In fairness the trip as a whole was fantastic with a bit of off-roading thrown in. The driver was brilliant and also very knowledgable and proud of his country and it's heritage. We travelled roads and visited places inaccessible to a coach and it was great fun. Luckily both me and Claire were in forward-facing seats as the back 4 seats were side-facing and looked a tad uncomfortable. The only downside was the weather which had been fantastic all day until we reached the top of the mountain to find ourselves enveloped in thick cold cloud. No sunset for us then but we still stood there drinking the fizz while wrapped in blankets which were provided.
I could go on but it's time for a quick round up:-
The hotel is beautiful but very quiet and fairly remote. We had our most relaxing holiday ever. The surrounding area is very hilly but also pretty and spotlessly clean. Yes there is some graffiti but there is no litter. The old town is great for your shopping and eating out requirements with a large range of restaurants to choose from. The strip is for the young boozers and clubbers only. Give it a miss. There is a little tourist train that helps to avoid some of the hills although it does not stop near the hotel. The escalators up and down from the old town are an absolute godsend when they are all working. The transfer from the airport is less than an hour. The beaches are fantastic. The sea is ice cold. The weather in June is changeable, we had cold winds and some rain but also 30+ degree days. We enjoyed it very much but were dissapointed by the sunbed charge which determined our prolonged use of the hotel sun terrace. A lot of people will try to encourage you into their restaurants. They are easily discouraged with a polite 'no thank-you'.
That's about it really, enjoy.....

Room Tip: Avoid 120 or 220 ish as your beautiful sea view will be obscured by one of the Algarves mysterious l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Arriving at the hotel reception, the first impression is one of cleanliness and smartness. Check-in was efficient, and the owner at the welcome meeting was friendly and charming. During the week, we found that that a few of the staff could be surly and abrupt, but in the main, they were polite and friendly. Many of the hotel rooms don’t have much of a view (some overlook the Restaurant used for breakfast, for example), and although ours overlooked the nearby busy road, traffic noise wasn’t much of an issue. The room was small for a 4 Star hotel and, like much of the rest of the hotel, lacked any atmosphere through it’s lack of features (a few pictures wouldn’t have gone amiss!). The walk-in wardrobe was good, but otherwise storage wasn’t great. The bed was comfortable, though the plastic mattress cover made the bed hot, and the large bathroom with a powerful, walk-in shower, did match up to the hotel rating. The hotel had a sun-deck with artificial grass and loungers which were OK as a seat but very uncomfortable prone – we preferred to go on the beach, even at 12 Euros a day for 2 beds and a parasol! The beach was a mix of sand and finely ground shells and, though there were Lifeguards on duty through the day, the steep shelf and freezing Atlantic ocean didn’t tempt us in far. The main hotel restaurant was next to the sun-deck, but we only ate there once, on the first night. The over-cooked tuna and tasteless vegetables put us off for the rest of the week. A 10 minute walk into Albufeira old town offered a vast choice of restaurants, though be prepared to fight off the staff all trying to entice you in – very tiresome after a short time. Of the restaurants, the Bank in the square (try the hot stone steaks), Cabana Fresca and Louisiana on Fisherman’s Beach were our favourites, although we did manage to locate the Iguana Cafe (Tripadvisor recommended) high up on the cliffs – fantastic view, excellent staff and good quality, inexpensive snacks. Overall, we found, like so many other resorts nowadays, Albufeira over-commercialised and ordinary, and wouldn’t rush back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alisios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alisios

Address: Ave Infante dom Henrique 83, Albufeira 8200-916, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#24 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#25 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#31 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alisios 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located on the beach with direct access through steps. Indoor swimmingpool is heated with seawater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Alisios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alisios Hotel Albufeira
Hotel Alisios Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alisios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.