We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alisios

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alisios to your Saves list
Hotel Alisios
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave Infante dom Henrique 83, Albufeira 8200-916, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Very nice hotel right on the beach. Staff were extremely welcoming and helpful throughout our stay. The rooms were clean and we enjoyed using the indoor pool daily. Breakfast was typical continental with bread, cheese and ham etc.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    44
    19
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
120
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

A lovely hotel, pleasant staff, and receptionist personally took us up to our room which was clean and modern and right on the beach (childfree too ! so no sqwarking kids - sorry I do have grown up children but we like relaxing holidays). Restaurants in the old town are ample and a lovely atmosphere throughout. Definatley go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

a good place to stay ,all the staff were very helpfull and friendly and it was all kept very clean and tidy were ever you went in the hotel .The food was cooked well and lots of choise only the breakfast was a bit of a sameness more towards the continentals than the english ok if you like bacon and scrambled egg .You need to be quite mobile to reach the beach from the hotel as there are a few steps about 80 all together but there is away round down the street that,s flat . It,s not to far to walk into Albufeira .Just a shame the weather was,nt very good when we were there .

Room Tip: " sea view"
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbles, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel. The reception said they had upgraded us, but we got what we booked. Our room on fifth floor at the front was a little dated but clean and good enough. It faced the road (North) which can be quite noisy and most rooms at the front get no sun on the balconies, which is a pain for drying towels etc. If this was an upgrade I shudder to think where they were going to put us first. All staff are polite, efficient and hardworking.
Breakfast-excellent, but we had to queue three times to wait for a table. Lunch-avoid, too expensive. Dinner-had three or four meals, better quality, enjoyed and best if you can get a table overlooking the beach. New dining room/bar on the sun deck was a little too bright at night with insufficient comfortable seating around bar area. When crowded (rainy days) we had to sit at the dining tables to have a drink.
No problems with the indoor pool or having to wear a bathing hat. Hardly anyone uses it, great for me!
The Wi Fi was appalling, tried and tried but could never get connected, not good enough for this day and age. If it doesn't work then don't advertise you have it.
On the last night we went out for dinner came back late to our room. Hotel staff had been in and taken the complimentary bathrobes, it gave the impression we were going to steal them, very sad!
In summary, we enjoyed our stay, liked the location but would only return or highly recommend if you could get a sea view, the rooms facing the road and car park are just average.

Room Tip: Sea view, south facing only
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshireclanger
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

The receptionist greeted us warmly and took us personally to our room. The hotel was so quiet where we were facing the beach. The food is good, and there are special nights, I.e. fish and barbecue one can pay extra to attend. I think they were good value. Note there is no outdoor pool. There is an indoor pool but I don't think it's the same.a bathing cap is necessary to maintain their hygiene certificate. The town is only about Ten minutes walk, some a bit steep. Loads of eating places there, lots of choice. There's not a great deal to do in the hotel so bring some books. There is free wi fi in the reception area, it doesn't seem to connect anywhere else. All in all a nice, clean quiet environment probably suiting older people more than youngsters.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed in the Alisios for a week with my partner. This hotel is a real gem. It is ideally situated, 10mins walk from the Old Town and the hotel is clean, welcoming and beautifully decorated. Very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Ok here is our review of the Alisios Hotel. We travelled here for a week in August as a couple in our thirties with Thomson (UK). We booked bed and breakfast. I've tried to be as unbiased as possible but we had a great time!

First Impression
On arrival at about 11.30am (after waiting for quite a while for our transfer coach to depart, thanks Thomson) we were checked in immediately. This was great as we were worried it was too early in the day for our room to be ready. The reception staff greeted and welcomed us and took us to our room which had been upgraded to a sea view! This seemed to be the case for all the British customers we spoke to during the week. Other rooms face the road so this seemed far nicer.

The room
I was pleasantly surprised at how modern the room felt. It was obvious that it had been refurbished recently. The bathroom had a massive shower, sink and toilet with a hairdryer and dove toiletries to use. There was a fridge, desk, TV, kind of walk in cupboard to hang clothes and twin beds pushed together to make a double. Great aircon. The balcony benefitted from both light and shade at different times of the day. I would say the only negatives were that you had to pay to use the safe. I've used these kind of electronic pin code safes before in other hotels and never been charged. Also, there were a lot of TV channels available but not many in English (only the news). However, there were many TV channels in German. I think this could be a it more balanced.

Food
We had booked bed and breakfast and found that there was a lovely array of food available each morning. This was served from 8-10 (a little later would have suited me better seeing as I'm lazy). This included a variety of fresh fruit (melon, pineapple, nectarines, so on) cereals, homemade cake, jam, croissants, various bread rolls, cold meats and cheeses. It was definitely more 'continental' in style, perhaps catering for the German guests who outweighed any other nationality. Unfortunately for the full English breakfast fan there wasn't much to choose from. The hot food rotated each day to include eggs and something such as bacon (although this seemed more like just cooked ham), sausages (weird cocktail sausages), mushrooms or Spanish omelette. There also weren't any hot pancakes or anything else warm. The staff were very obliging on bringing things when requested though such as my need for tomato ketchup! The Nespresso coffee machines also produced lovely coffee.

Our check out and pick up time was really early on the last day and we found ourselves eating breakfast at 6.15. The hotel very kindly opened the breakfast room for us but the choice of breakfast so early was very limited, just bread rolls, cheese, ham and coffee and orange juice. Perhaps on such early check outs, the kitchen could prepare packed breakfasts to go so that guests could eat on the coach to the airport?

On our first night we were pretty tired from the early flight (thanks Thomson!) so we dined in the hotel. Compared to the quality, choice and price of food in restaurants all over Albufeira, I thought that the menu was pretty lacking. We didn't eat at the hotel in the evening again due to this. We did though have lunch one day and this was much more appetising and seemed to have much more variety.

Location
I don't think you could beat this hotel for location in Albufeira. It is situated perfectly between the old town and 'the strip' meaning to dine out we could easily walk and we did not need to use public transport at all to reach both sides of the town. It is however, far enough away to be quiet and peaceful.

The hotel is right on the seafront and there is easy access to the beach through the back of the hotel. This is secured with your hotel room swipe key so nice and safe. These steps are not steep, they are about as steep as a staircase in a standard British home and I would estimate that its about 30 steps down to the beach. The beach is lovely and sandy and there are sun loungers on the beach for hire near the hotel. These were about 12 Euros for two loungers and a parasol.

We booked two trips with a competitive ticket shop that we found at the end of the strip and they were happy to pick us up at the Inatel roundabout, right near the front of the hotel so that was handy too.

General Faciities
There are a lot of reviews on here regarding the indoor swimming pool. I found this area to be very beneficial to me especially when I had sun burn (this was my fault due to not enough SPF) and couldn't swim in the sea!! I saw it being used quite a bit but never more than one or two people at a time. It also has a jacuzzi hot tub which was pretty nice! You do have to wear swimming hats which you can buy at reception if needed.

There is a sun terrace which has also been recently refurbished with sun loungers and parasols laid out on fake grass. As this is part of the hotel there is no cost for these loungers (unlike the beach). These surround the bar area where lunch and dinner is served. It also has a lovely sea view and is up on the third floor of the hotel. We never struggled for a sun lounger at all and again this area is really peaceful.

There's free wifi in the hotel but we found this to be very slow or not work at all in our room.

Reception
The reception desk is 24 hour and we found the staff to be very helpful being fluent in Portuguese, English and German. In fact, when not understanding where our pick up point was for a trip the next day, one member of staff resolved the problem by ringing the phone number on our ticket despite it being 10 o'clock at night and settling the problem in Portuguese! This was very helpful.

Children
I based my holiday search on the Thomson website on my hotel being near the beach and 'adult only' as I work in education and I wanted a break! Needless to say, the hotel wasn't exactly child free. There weren't any British families around but there seemed to be the odd one or two young children at breakfast time. These children were not a nuisance in anyway and I did not see or hear them around the hotel at any other time. In fact I think the Alisios does a very good job of keeping the general feel of the hotel very calm and tranquil. Perfect, for a nerve frayed teacher! However, it is slightly misleading that Thomson state that the hotel is adult only.

All in all, we had a great holiday. This was our first trip to Albufeira and we found the Portuguese to be extremely friendly both in the Alisios and out and about. We would definitely return to this hotel. Thanks for a great time!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alisios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alisios

Address: Ave Infante dom Henrique 83, Albufeira 8200-916, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#16 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#24 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alisios 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located on the beach with direct access through steps. Indoor swimmingpool is heated with seawater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Alisios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alisios Hotel Albufeira
Hotel Alisios Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alisios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.