We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alfagar Aldeamento Turistico

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Alfagar Aldeamento Turistico to your Saves list
Alfagar Aldeamento Turistico
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Santa Eulalia - Balaia | Apartado, 866, Albufeira 8200-912, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Dublin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lovely stay ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed here with a large family group so I got to see all the types of rooms, all lovely. We stayed in a one bed apt very spacious and spotless but no air con which could be a problem with small kids or elderly family members. The hotel rooms have air con and are really fab but more expensive. Hugo on the reception was very helpful and nothing was a bother. We didn't have kids with us but one thing to keep in mind is its 7€ in a taxi to the old town and they stick to the max 4 rule so if you are bringing a family of 5 you must get 2 taxis , this can really add to the cost. Portugal itself is not cheap unless you drink the local brew / wine . All in all a great place , would highly recommend.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    139
    48
    11
    7
See reviews for
200
79
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middlewich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

just come back from 2 weeks at alfagar 1 cannot fault the place just beautiful staff were excellent and paula on reception was very helpful and also restaurant manger very welcoming accommodation was fabulous and overall cannot fault the place great holday

Room Tip: fabulous views overlooking sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Just returned from 10nights ,our flight was delayed so got to the village quite late but the reception was very helpful explaining we're everything is and gave us a map - which you do use as the place is huge . There are lots of pools to choose from and there was never a shortage of sun loungers although a lot of them need replacing . The bar staff were awesome interacting with you at all times . I don't have children but this place would be great if I did. I didn't eat here as was self catering so went out to eat but then returned for drinks. The steps to the beach are not as bad as people make out I went up and down quite a few times really busy on Sunday as the locals use it , a lovely beach that has water sports if that's what your looking for . I stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment the rooms were huge , had 2 balconies one at the back of the property and one to the front so you could always sit in the sun. The kitchen facilities are the best I've ever seen oven,microwave , toaster , kettle and all the pots and pans . The beds in the room Weren't the comfiest they were quite hard. We only saw the maids twice they should of really come to check if we needed more supplies we ran out of toilet roll asked for more but with the language barrier they never arrived so we went and bought some. The supermarket on site had everything you need and isn't overpriced . The new and old town was to far to walk to but it was 7€ in a taxi we walked one day and from hotel to old town took 1hr 30mins :( Overall I had a fantastic 10nights here and would definitely recommend to family and friends and I would return.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodmin, United Kingdom
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We spent a week at Alfagar self catering, and cannot fault the place. We checked in fairly late, and were taken by shuttle bus to our apartment. We booked a sea view, and the apartment was spotlessly clean with everything required. During the week, the apartment was cleaned and towels changed three times. It was lovely and quiet at night, being approximately 15 minutes walk to the strip, so far enough away from the night life but close enough if you want to visit the bars or restaurants. We were 5 minutes from the beach, the path down is reasonably steep, our children are 12 and 10 so this wasn't a problem, but other people with small children and buggies seemed to manage. The staff were helpful and friendly. There are several pools all extremely clean, and a gym, the site is very child friendly. The shop is well stocked, and there is a bigger cheaper supermarket about a 15 minute walk away. We hired a car from the on site car rental which was reasonable. The lovely weather helped, but we would definitely recommend alfagar to anyone and would book again if returning to the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHAMPTON
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Absolute bargain, very pretty resort, well kept. Nice sized villa, great pools and facilities. Would love to go back. Right on perfect beach, so beautiful and even in half term it
wasn't busy. Had great time with my mum, daughter and friend with her daughter. Both girls 5 years old loved it. We did a few day trips. Renting a car for this was good, we booked online with goldcar before we left, picked car up at faro so no transfer, it was perfect. Nice buffet at restaurant. Some typical old style music in bar in evening. Staff quite friendly, professional.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We returned from Alfagar yesterday and cannot praise it highly enough.
We stayed in Alfagar 1 overlooking the small pool, in a really big one bed apartment with an equally big living area and balcony, bath and shower and well-equipped kitchen.
The resort is beautifully cared for, with five pools dotted around the complex, as well as tennis courts and football pitch. The view from the 'top' pool over the sea is stunning as you see all the way down the coast.
The shop is well stocked (delicious fresh bread and rolls), but there are supermarkets up the road towards Albufeira.
We ate several times at the Bouganvilia bar, where Miguel and his team looked after us very well, taking the time to talk to us and the children, and the food was delicious.
There was a nice mixture of nationalities/families/couples and the staff were always happy to help us with any queries.
We had planned to go sightseeing but the resort was so great we only went out once on a boat trip, with a speedboat into the caves, which was good fun and good value.
We have been on lots of family holidays and this was by far the best. If we hadn't already booked our summer holiday for August, we would be straight back here.

Room Tip: apartments overlooking one of the pools so you can enjoy the view from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My husband, 14 month old daughter and I stayed here for our first proper family holiday in May. It was absolutely fantastic. Our only negative Is that 7 nights was too short.
The beach is just a short walk away, which we did every day as well as going to a number of the complexes pools. There is a shallow pool that was perfect for our daughter as she could walk around in it and it only came up to her waist.
The cleaning service was great, with out apartment being cleaned twice in the week we were there. We were located close to the shop which serves fresh bread and crossaints every morning.
We were also close to the restaurant that had wifi access meaning we could also get it in our room. The entertainment on every evening resulted in us being serenaded to sleep every night but I could see how this location could be too close for some people.
We are already looking at booking for next year. See you soon!

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alfagar Aldeamento Turistico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfagar Aldeamento Turistico

Address: Santa Eulalia - Balaia | Apartado, 866, Albufeira 8200-912, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alfagar Aldeamento Turistico 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying a cliff-top location with panoramic views of the Atlantic Ocean, Alfagar Resort offers direct access to Santa Eulalia Beach, and a shuttle service to Albufeira 5 km away. All of the Alfagar Apartments have a private balcony with ocean or garden views. In addition, every apartment offers kitchenette facilities and a separate dining area. Guests of the Alfagar Resort can dine in the restaurant, which serves an international menu throughout the day. There is also a pool bar serving drink and snacks, and a mini-market for self-catering supplies. Enjoy swimming in one of the pools or sunbathing in the garden. Children have their own pool and an exciting adventure playground. The nearest golf course is 9 km away. Alfagar Resort is a 5-minute drive from the lively shopping streets of Areias de Sao Joao. Faro Airport is 33 km away and on-site car parking is free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Alfagar Aldeamento Turistico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfagar Village - Alfagar Aldeamanto Turistico Hotel Albufeira
Alfagar Apartments Hotel Albufeira
Alfagar Apartments Albufeira
Alfagar Aldeamento Turistico Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alfagar Aldeamento Turistico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.