We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golden oldie falesia hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Falesia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Falesia Hotel to your Saves list
Falesia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pinhal do Concelho, Praia da Falesia, Apartado 785, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
london
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Golden oldie falesia hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2009

Just came back from staying 7 nights at the Falesia Hotel. Reception check in very fast, and reception staff very helpful. We stayed in a superior room which was very good except for the strange smell coming from the air conditioning system. The room had a seperate area with a sofa but the only thing they need to do is maybe have the tv in front of the sofa and not the bed. The channels had bbc1 and itv1 so you could watch your programmes as usual if you wish. Tea and coffee making facilities provided. slippers ,dressing gowns , water and wine and fruit also provided. If you wanted to use the fridge you had to pay 25 euros which is very steep. We were told at reception that the superior rooms do not face the pool so be aware of that ,I f you want a pool view then you will get a standard room. Our room was above the entertainment so we did not get to sleep till after 12.00 at night when HANY PANKY the resident duo finished their little singing act. The view from the room was of the road that leads onto the Sheraton next door and there was a lot of noise but if you closed the balcony door then it was quite.
The guests were mainly over 60 years or more but they were really nice and friendly, we nicknamed the hotel thomson old instead of gold.
The meals were ok breakfast was good. The waiting staff were ok except for the odd one who kept asking us to move from a table for four to a table for two even though i could see dozens of people doing the same but nothing was said.
The bar staff were quick and efficient , we were surprised they could hear us as the entertainment system was too loud.
The entertainment was good and we were lucky to have had been there when they had two comedians who were both very funny.
There is an indoor pool which was no good for me as it was quite deep and i cant swim very well. There is a very small jaccuzi also.
The beach can be reached by shuttle bus but please be aware that there is a slope and stairs so no good if you have mobiliy problems.
Do not book excursions with Thomson as they are a rip off, There is a little agency down some steps and to the right and there is an english lady there who will do the same trips for much less.
Also if you want to go into the old or new town then get a taxi its about 10 euros.
Supermarkets near the hotel are quite good and there are cash machines also.
Plenty of sunbeds but beware of the flys in the garden area.
All in all an enjoyable break but we will not be returning to this hotel in future.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    728
    342
    89
    17
    9
See reviews for
75
922
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

Food: Excellent. Wide choice and good quality.

Staff: Excellent. Dining room, maid service and entertainment teams especially so.

Location: Isolated. If you just want to laze around the hotel and pool then the Falesia is a good choice. However, the isolated location - 30min walk to beach and only a few shops nearby - is a major downside. There are no promenades anywhere near the Falesia so, walks after dinner, for instance, are a no go.

Rooms: Average. Well below what we were expecting for a Thomson Gold. Grouting in our bathroom and floor areas was especially in need of attention. Hygiene issues here.
No overhead light on the balcony.

Charges: Excessive.
Once again, considering this is a Thomson Gold, we weren't expecting to be asked for £25 for a tiny fridge and £16 for a safe for one week. We declined the fridge.
Another example of Thomson's avarice is the hotel bus (26 seater) to Albufeira (worth a visit BTW). If full, at E5 per person one way this generates E130 for Thomson. For a 10 min journey!! Get a taxi - if there's 2 or more it's cheaper and is available as and when.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

Great hotel. 4 stars does not do this hotel justice. Staff very friendly, food GREAT, setting fantastic. A short walk to the beach ( 10-15 mins via lift) through the fantastic Sheraton Algarve. This hotel has a fantastic decor only down side, stairs at the back of the hotel (really fire exits) and two small lifts. ....So what!!!!!! Went for a week wish we had stayed two.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

Very nice hotel indeed. Lovely and relaxing, good food, well mannered and attentive staff,in fact it is very difficult to find fault with this hotel.
Suited to people who are looking to relax by a nice pool or in delightful gardens without crowds, loud music or (no offence) kids!
It was nice to wander out by the pool at anytime and find a sunbed, or to go to breakfast or dinner without queues and enjoy well prepared and varied food.
The reps and entertainment staff were excellent, special mention to Jon ( super singer) and the brilliant Marco!
OK the drinks are expensive, but you can always wander over to the Brothers Bar across the road and enjoy a lovely jug of Sangria for 9 euroes and mix with the friendly locals.
The only slight downside is that there are few amenities nearby, but the ambience of the hotel more than makes up for that. I would certainly go back and I know a lot of my fellow guests do. Final point, my fellow guests all seemed a real nice bunch of people.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

My boyfriend and I have just returned from 11 nights at Falesia. What can I say – it was fabulous. It was everything we were looking for. We had 11 nights of pure relaxation. The hotel is spotless, as was our room. The pool was a bit chilly but that is obviously due to the time of the year we went – it may have taken us a few minutes to get in but once in, lovely. A visit to the indoor pool and sauna was a fabulous way to end each day – the Jacuzzi however was a bit chilly although we didn’t mention this at the time as we are not big fans of Jacuzzis. The indoor pool is one of the loveliest indoor pools I have ever seen. We were going to go out for dinner a few nights but the food was so lovely, varied, top quality and plentiful that we stayed in the hotel for dinner every night. I must have put on a 20lbs though as you just want a bit of everything, so yummy! The entertainment team were extremely professional and talented – some of the shows were not to our taste but you can’t please everyone. It is obvious that the team work hard and care about what they do and try to suit everyone as much as possible. Jon and Rachel have a fabulous voices, Lauren – what a singer and dancer and Adam – well, he was a definite favourite of ours and somewhat resembled a guy called Marco who would give us our daily aqua aerobics every morning at 11, Adam is so much more handsome though !!! I actually went on stage for a quiz one night and I have no idea how the entertainment team deal with the heat up there from the lights – I was only sitting on a chair answering questions and I was sweating terribly – they dance and sing and jump around for at least an hour at any one time – I am not 100% sure that it is healthy for them..........I am surprised they don’t faint – really not nice to watch a sweating entertainment team either so if you are reading this Thompson, please get some air to your fab entertainment team and us that go on that ever so hot stage! The only thing about the entertainment I would say is the resident band ‘ Hanky Panky’ are not the best. They have lovely voices are undoubtedly talented but were somewhat inappropriate at times which actually made a few of us cringe. The hotel is in a quiet area which suited us as we just wanted to chill – we went on a few excursions – the trip to Loulee for the Gypsy Market is worth going to if only to see the indoor fish market – the Gypsy Market itself was a real disappointment – complete TAT!! What a lovely holiday – I would go back tomorrow if I didn’t have work on Monday – I have serious holiday blues . If you want pure relaxation, great, friendly staff, clean hotel, peace and quiet, this is for you!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2009

My husband & i have just returned from a week at the Falesia.It was absolutely wonderful..We had booked a superior room and it was like a suite,we had a complimentary bottle of wine ,basket of fruit ,water in fridge and tea and coffee making facilities.The water was replenished every day.
The room was spotless,staff superb and so friendly.The thomson team were excellent and treated you like a friend.The entertainment was good,not always to our taste but thats everyones personal choice.Food was really good,so much choice you would never go hungary.I had read other reviews saying drinks were very expensive,but no dearer than any 4 star hotel.
The only thing i would suggest that if you dont want to lie by the pool all day you really need to hire a car as location a bit isolated,there is a courtesy bus to Albufeira & Villamoura but if you want to venture further afield a car is a must.
All in all this is one of the best hotels i have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guiseley Leeds
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

This is a fantastic hotel, rooms are spotless and comfortable, food is excellent. Hotel grounds are lovely, pool area great with lots of sunbeds. The entertainment staff are great with activities going on through out the day which break up the day, daily quiz etc. The evening entertainment which we didnt stay in for quite often was mainly the entertainment staff who did a great job, and a rather boring "house band" who could do with livening up - it is Thomson Gold I suppose! I was surprised however at how many younger holiday makers stayed in this hotel. The only downside was the location - it is in the middle of nowhere. A trip to Albufeira old town is a must as it is fantastic and VillaMoura is also lovely for a stroll around the harbour. Drinks in the hotel are expensive but to be expected I suppose. There are a couple of supermarkets over the road where you can get water really cheaply and gorgeous fruit if you fancy an afternoon snack instead of buying from the bar. All in all a superb hotel just a bit pricey for the drinks and quiet but if you are here for a relaxing week as we were what more do you want?

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Falesia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falesia Hotel

Address: Pinhal do Concelho, Praia da Falesia, Apartado 785, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#18 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Falesia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Falesia Hotel is located close to Falesia Beach (800mts) and the town of Albufeira and in the center of the Algarve. Falesia Hotel in Acoteias surprise you with tranquil gardens and ample spaces, where one can soak the sun, tranquility, fresh air and smell of the beautifull umbrella shaped pine trees.For you well being and complete relaxation, there is a large outdoor pool as well as indoor one with Jacuzzi, Turkish Bath and Spa. Falesia Hotel is offering 169 rooms - all of the with the balcony and the views either of the pool, gardens, mountains - or even the driving range of the next door Golf Course. All the rooms also come with LCD satellite television, air condition (cold / hot) and very important free access to Wi-Fi connection. Our elegant "O Lago" restaurant is overlooking the Falesia Hotel beautiful gardens with some small fountains and where our delicious Buffett meals are served. "Show Bar" is the place to be in the evenings where the entertainment is provided for all those that are ready to party (occasional entertainment during the winter only). "Palm Bar" is serving those fantastic cocktails and the rest of the refreshing drinks during the high summer months.All the Golfers don't need to go far. There is a Golf Course next to Falesia Hotel and Vilamoura - with its best Golf Courses in Europe - is only up to 15 minutes drive from the Falesia Hotel.And if you want to have much bigger selection of shops, restaurants, bars, discos and any other entertainment, it is only between 5 and 8.5 Km to get to the capital of Portuguese tourism - Albufeira.If you are after complete relaxation you do not need to look any further. It is all waiting for you in the Falesia Hotel... "Simply relaxing... Holidays with no children" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Falesia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falesia Hotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve
Hotel Falesia Algarve
Falesia Hotel Portugal
Falesia Hotel Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Falesia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.