We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous holiday break.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Falesia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Falesia Hotel to your Saves list
Falesia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pinhal do Concelho, Praia da Falesia, Apartado 785, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous holiday break.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We have just returned from falesia hotel and miss it already would go back tomorrow . Hotel and staff great .food and weather fantastic.staff could not do enough for us .right from take off to landing Thompson staff were brill .room was very good with fresh fruit on arrival .would recommend to everybody.thank you see you soon.

Room Tip: Ask for quite room on high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    731
    344
    89
    17
    9
See reviews for
75
926
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rutland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

First holiday abroad for a few years and glad we chose the Falesia hotel. On first arrival the hotel and surroundings were impressive, very clean and "green" . The room was excellent and the hotel itself was to a very high standard. The staff were very helpful (a special word for "Arnie" who kept us all laughing) The Thomson staff were also very informative , and not too" pushy".All in all a great hotel and I would have no problems recommending to anyone.

Room Tip: we had a room at the back which was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We decided to book this hotel after doing quite a bit of searching online and the feedback on TripAdvisor was a decisive factor.
I have to say that we are very happy with how our stay went, the hotel was great and the services were fabulous.
We arrived late on our first night and were greeted in our room with buffet food and champagne, not a bad way to start your holiday.
It's great if you're looking for a relaxing holiday in the sun.
I wouldn't say it's ideal for nightlife, if that's what you want as it's a bit off the beaten path.
There are a few good restaurants on the main road which are worth a go and the Falesia beach is quite close by.
It's a good spot to pick to travel around the Algarve as it's in the middle of it really. Albufeira is close by car and you get a lot of shopping and dining options there, as well as beautiful beaches.
Overall it was a great experience and we'd happily do it again, and we probably will :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Just returned from the Falesia and wanted to say how much we enjoyed this lovely hotel. Would recommend it to everybody and would go back in an instant. Very friendly staff and the bottle of bubbly on my wife's birthday was a lovely surprise and a kind and generous gesture that was very much appreciated. Thank you! Typical of the attention to detail that made our holiday so special.

Room Tip: Choose a high room, overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

This really is a wonderful place to stay and the best holiday I've had in a while. The hotel itself is very clean and tidy, our room was cleaned very well everyday.
It's the little things that's made our holiday so much fun and enjoyable. The staff carnt do enough for you, right from the ladies who cleaned our room to the wonderful Fabio cooking our breakfast. I carnt understand anyone who moans about this hotel as if you need anything they'll do it for you, I wanted an umbrella as some people do like to be selfish and get up early to take the best sunbeds but I just asked and was given one.
The entertainment team are fantastic and work really hard to make your stay fun even with the games around the pool.
Thank you Falesia staff, entertainment team and Carlos for a truly wonderful much needed holiday.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigg, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This was our 3rd visit to the falesia good to see old friends again .Staff still as friendly & helpful as ever.Food still excellant. No need to hungry here plenty of choice for all tastes.Great shows . You can do as little or asmuch as you want .Will difinately return some time in the future

Room Tip: Pool side rooms get more sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I don't mind flying to a destination using Ryaniar but when I arrive at my 4 star hotel, I expect it to operate like a 4 star hotel and not a budget airline. I can't believe the extra's that this hotel expects you to pay:
Room safe: EUR 2.50 per day
Premium Internet: EUR 2.50 per day (normal internet is useless)
Using the Robe in your room: EUR 2.50 per day
Using the Fridge in your room: EUR 2.50 per day from buffer
Bucket of ice from the bar: EUR 2.50
Transfer to Albufeira: EUR 5 per person. (A taxi is only EUR 10)
We booked a junior suit, on arrival we were given room 423, the suit looked nothing like it did on the website we complained and they did move us after a couple of days. Another thing that I don't understand is that all the rooms we saw they had twin beds, if you want a double bed you have to ask for one, house keeping use some sort of special zip to put the beds together, not very comfortable if you are lying on it. Why would you stay at an adult only hotel and want two single beds! On a positive note, when we did get the room we booked it was very nice (maybe a bit dated) the pool area and gardens are lovely, they look after them really well. Most of the staff are very nice and polite. The staff behind the front desk were very helpful when we had a problem with our room. Breakfast was very nice, good selection and evening food was good too, we ate out a couple of nights as we wanted more of a dining experience which you don't really get from buffet dining. We tried a local restaurant called A Lagosteira Restaurante Bar, traditional Portuguese food, great food, great service and fantastic wine, only EUR 2.50 for a large glass of the house wine. We booked the hotel directly, it is a Thomson hotel so there is entertainment during the day and evening, it's a bit cheesy but we did have a laugh.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, General Manager at Falesia Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your review and I am pleased to see that you have enjoyed most of our facilities and services. However I am disappointed to see that some of the expects were not met and that some information is not correct. I would like to make sure that everybody reading the review has got correct information.

I also do not mind using the "budget airlines" either and in particular if they are flying to the destination that is much more suitable for my purpose and if they are on time. I also know that there are restrictions on the pieces of baggage - the weight and size etc.

The same would apply to the four star hotel. There are different room types, different meal arrangements, different facilities etc.
In your review it is mentioned that your booked Junior Suite (consisting from a standard room type and separate sitting area connected by two steps). You also mention the Suite, which consists of two rooms - bedroom and separate living room, which are not on sale for General public. They are not advertised anywhere and are generally used for the upgrades.

It might be here that you found your comparison. Different room types are at different rates and include different facilities or services.
Upon the arrival you were upgraded from Junior Suite to a Suite on the top floor with views to the mountains, driving range of the next door Gold Course as well as the views all the way to Vilamoura. You did not like that (and yes - it did not look like the picture on the website) and requested to be moved.
As we did not have any Standard Junior suites available that evening, reception promised to change your accommodation to Standard Junior suite in two days time. You received the Junior suite 209 which overlooks the gardens of the hotel and you were happy there. Sorry for any inconvenience caused.

As you have booked a Junior suite there are more facilities included in the rate as it would have been in the Standard room. Room safe was included in the rate and you did not pay any extra for that. The same applies to the Robe and Slippers. Tea and Coffee facilities are also included in the rate and they are being replenished daily.
The Wi-Fi is free of charge all through the hotel and only if you want to do much heavier downloads (films etc) it would be faster when using the premium upgrade. This is at extra cost of €2 per day per equipment or €10 per week per equipment. You were using it for 3 days and two pieces of Equipment (hence the total charge €12).
The mini bar is in all the rooms. If you use it as mini bar you are charged only what you consumed from the mini bar (nothing consumed - nothing to be paid) or you can use the same empty minibar as a fridge and you store your own drinks at the charge of €2,50 per day. The choice is yours. You used the fridge for one day and were charged for one day - €2.50.

Of course - all the above is correrct for the Junior Suite. Standard rooms come without the extra facilities mention above however if somebody specifically wants one or more of the above extra facilities, it can be arranged and it would be at extra charge: Safety deposit box: €2.50 prpd, Robe at €2 pppd, Kettle and cups at €2.00 pd. The rest of the charges (premium internet and mini bar/fridge) are the same as for Junior Suite. Everything is explained in details on our own website (together if any extra costs).

All inclusive options are quite popular but we do not offer all inclusive options. We believe that the choice should be left to the customer and as you say - it is nice to try some local restaurants as well.

It is important to know that we are approx 8 km out of the strong centre of the old town of Albufeira and the taxi ride during the day is around €10 each way while our bus transfer is €5 for the return journey.

We are Adult Only hotel and the comment regarding the single beds is rather interesting. There is an option of double room or twin room which can be requested at the time of the booking as special request. You would be surprised how many people are requesting two single (separate) beds. Again the choice is left to our customer and the best option here is that we can zip the two mattresses together and using large bedding for the two zipped beds. Of course we have got the option of the double bed as well as the two single beds.

We always try hard to meet our guests expectations and this is the reason that on the second day of your stay you would receive a letter from me asking you to let us know immediately if by any chance we are not meeting any of your expectations as we believe they can be resolved and your deserved break fully enjoyed.

Hope the above explanations clarified some points and all misunderstandings can be beneficial to all our future guests. We would be very happy to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Falesia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falesia Hotel

Address: Pinhal do Concelho, Praia da Falesia, Apartado 785, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#2 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#18 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Falesia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Falesia Hotel is located close to Falesia Beach (800mts) and the town of Albufeira and in the center of the Algarve. Falesia Hotel in Acoteias surprise you with tranquil gardens and ample spaces, where one can soak the sun, tranquility, fresh air and smell of the beautifull umbrella shaped pine trees.For you well being and complete relaxation, there is a large outdoor pool as well as indoor one with Jacuzzi, Turkish Bath and Spa. Falesia Hotel is offering 169 rooms - all of the with the balcony and the views either of the pool, gardens, mountains - or even the driving range of the next door Golf Course. All the rooms also come with LCD satellite television, air condition (cold / hot) and very important free access to Wi-Fi connection. Our elegant "O Lago" restaurant is overlooking the Falesia Hotel beautiful gardens with some small fountains and where our delicious Buffett meals are served. "Show Bar" is the place to be in the evenings where the entertainment is provided for all those that are ready to party (occasional entertainment during the winter only). "Palm Bar" is serving those fantastic cocktails and the rest of the refreshing drinks during the high summer months.All the Golfers don't need to go far. There is a Golf Course next to Falesia Hotel and Vilamoura - with its best Golf Courses in Europe - is only up to 15 minutes drive from the Falesia Hotel.And if you want to have much bigger selection of shops, restaurants, bars, discos and any other entertainment, it is only between 5 and 8.5 Km to get to the capital of Portuguese tourism - Albufeira.If you are after complete relaxation you do not need to look any further. It is all waiting for you in the Falesia Hotel... "Simply relaxing... Holidays with no children" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Falesia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falesia Hotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve
Hotel Falesia Algarve
Falesia Hotel Portugal
Falesia Hotel Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Falesia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.