We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect afternoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Joya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Vila Joya to your Saves list
Vila Joya
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia da Gale, Albufeira 8201-902, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A perfect afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My daughters and I spent a perfect afternoon enjoying a three hour lunch at Vila Joya. The meal was lovely with treats sent out from the chef between courses. The view from the patio looking over the grounds and ocean is spectacular. The service was impeccable, with just the right level of attention. This is a "splurge" event and well worth it!

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    12
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
20
81
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Vila Joya is a truly spectacular place. Despite being poorly located in a crowded and noisy area,Vila Joya has found serenity in it's nestling between trees and the ocean. The spacious rooms and terraces are oriented towards these views and give little motivation to move from your terrace chaise ! :) The interiors are comfortable and yet possess sophistication and charming accents. For example one of the rooms we stayed in has a cork floor (Portugal produces the most cork in the world). The common areas such as the lobby, spa and pool also offer comfort and charm. My only complaints are that the gym is quite small (only four machines and one weight), and while the access to the beach is private, the beach itself is not. It is fairly secluded though, and so is not nearly as crowded as the surrounding coves.

The food is truly worthy of it's titles. Creative, fresh, and delicious. The restaurant staff are kind and passionate about their jobs, and willing to accommodate nearly anything.

Across the board though, the service at Vila Joya is better than any other world class hotel we have stayed at. The staff do a magnificent job making you feel as if you are the only guests and would do anything to please you. Everyone is both congenial and competent. It often feels as if there are fairies tending to your every need. One night we were sitting at dinner beginning to get cold, and before we knew it the staff had provided us with blankets. This is a wonderfully run hotel, and if you do find yourself in the Algarve it is well worth a stay.

Room Tip: The rooms in the spa building offer more private decks (with ocean view) and are in close proximity...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Everything about this hotel is very exclusive - the staff, the food, the rooms, the location. There is little more I can add to any of the other positive reviews.
The food was a wonderful, delectable surprise and we enjoyed every bite of the three meals we had at the restaurant.
Breakfast is a fruity delight with excellent eggs benedict...
Since it was high season, we walked the beach in the early mornings or late afternoons at low-tide to avoid the crowds. The beach gate is but a few steps away and then you can walk for 6km along the soft sand along the water's edge.

Room Tip: We had Suite 7 - a corner suite with ample space inside and out - clear view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have spent our holidays for the second time at the Vila Joya. It topped our first visit.

What we love is the small amount of rooms and guests. If you are looking for relax and peace, you are at the right place.

The quiet can be found everywhere and also in the perfectly manicured private garden (mostly overlooking the ocean), where we spent most of the time undisturbed - from there you can access the beach. The beach has finest sand and the heated pool has a big size.

The wonderful restaurant terrace offers an amazing view on the ocean - you can even see 2 lighthouses in the distance along the coast. The big tables have comfortable seats. It is useless to say that the food is unbeatable. Special food requirements are considered without any problems/surcharges. The hours spent there under the sky are such an amazing memory.

The prices are high but reasonable for what Vila Joya offers.

The atmosphere is familiar, discreet and attentive, but never pretentious or pushy. The nice attitude of the staff makes feel everybody welcome home, even if you are not staying in the most expensive suite. Everybody is kind and it was always a pleasure to see that the gardeners has nicely prepared our sunbeds with some flowers on the table.

The owner Joy Jung and her father are always open for a chat and you can see along the whole resort their love for this piece of heaven.

Vila Joya is absolutely one of our favourite hotels and we will certainly come back again.

Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015 via mobile

We spent a wonderful 4 nights at Vila Joya. Typically I do not like standard rooms (too small) but. Vila Joya's is one of 22 rooms/suites and all have a view (except one I understand) and it was absolutely lovely. Gorgeous freshly painted and modern bathroom, enough space for the many toiletries and a bidet and the new paint meant no icky tiles and angriest fresh look.

Now the room. Wow. What a view. Could not stop taking photos of it every time we looked out of the double doors and saw this gorgeous blue sea framed by beautiful trees, and a view down to the pool which is never packed. The room was not too small, really clean and well designed to

The place was fully booked the entire time and we never felt it at all. Not at breakfast, which was delicious, amazing fresh food and breads, etc. Nor at the pool, the delicious amazing lunch (menu to die for) or even the spectacular dinner.

The dinner is definitely Michelin and the view just adds to the magic of it all. Cannot put into words the magic of the sunset colours as you sip some spectacular aperitifs or wine to accompany the fantastic food.

And the service! The staff! Wow. Absolutely amazing speaking a range of languages, unfailingly professional but so very warm and welcoming. Wonderful, wonderful.

The cherry on top is that you don't need to sign anything the entire time you are there and only see the bill at the end. Truly decadent.

One thing they could look at is that you can only access the pool/beach/gym by going through the restaurant - which is uncomfortable heading out in your flip flops for a sunset walk when the diners have paid so much to eat at an amazing place. Or in the morning sweaty from the gym while people are having fancy breakfast! :)

The only other downside is that there is very little to do in the area unless you have a car and travel a bit. The surrounding area is arid and sparse, not attractive at all. The hotel didn't recommend albufeira or other towns nearby so travel to Sves or Lagos and further would be required. We were happy to stay and this amazing place and swim at the beach for the time we were there but if longer than that may get bored.

Will definitely return (even at the very pricey rate). Beautifully worth it.

Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

This was our second stay at the VIla Joya and it only reinforced our decision to go back..... the moment you arrive in portugal you are meet by a suited chaufer with an Ipad holding your name, class from the start!! the location overlooking the ocean cannot be beaten through the meticulously maintained gardens and pool, pictures just cannot describe the beauty...
service from the outset is what you would expect from 5 star quality but i have to say the Vila Joya goes beyond (If i could say standard!) 5 star service!! Its intimate setting just makes you feel a part of the Vila Joya family..
All this coupled with a 2 star Michelin restaurant dining out on the terrace over looking the Algarve with private access to the beach is just what holidays are all about...
We went for a joint spa treatment on one of the days and have to say it was also top class!!!
Without doubt we will be back for our third visit and have decided to make this an annual getaway for ourselves.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms are great for getting breakfast in bed as they set up the breakfast outside your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loule, Portugal
Level Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2015

This is one of the best restaurants I have visited so I keep returning! However the last two months I've been fortunate to visit three times and the "surprises" served between courses were nearly identical each time,not enough variety and the last visit young new staff were been trained on my table of 10 which I wasn't altogether happy with for a two star Michelin,spilling food over my guest and serving from the wrong side!!! Saying all this the food is outstanding.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albufeira
8.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 stars 499 reviews
7.2 mi away
Porto Bay Falesia
Porto Bay Falesia
#5 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 stars 1,405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vila Gale Praia
Vila Gale Praia
#2 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 stars 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
15.8 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 17 in Almancil
5.0 of 5 stars 838 reviews
0.8 mi away
Salgados Dunas Suites
Salgados Dunas Suites
#13 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Joya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Joya

Address: Praia da Gale, Albufeira 8201-902, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#4 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#6 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#22 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vila Joya 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the top 5 star hotels in Algarve, Vila Joya resembles a small oriental palazzo and is nestled in a breathtaking garden setting on a cliff with stunning views facing the sea. Winner of the 2009 World’s Leading Boutique Resort Award, this Albufeira beach resort also boasts one of the top Michelin Restaurants in Portugal and features luxurious spa resort accommodations, exclusive golf packages, and rejuvenating body treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Escapio, Splendia and Priceline so you can book your Vila Joya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Joya Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve
Vila Joya Hotel Albufeira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vila Joya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.