We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated like royalty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Joya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Vila Joya to your Saves list
Vila Joya
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia da Gale, Albufeira 8201-902, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Treated like royalty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

From the upgrade to a fabulous suite to the complimentary birthday cake and champagne for our son's birthday, we were treated with incredible generosity by the equally incredibly competent staff. We were there to relax as a family and celebrate our son's 28th birthday, and relax we did, swimming in the heated pool, enjoying the 5-star spa facilities, dining exquisitely, and enjoying the splendid seaviews over a delicious breakfast. What a place, and what a wonderful staff. We cannot recommend it enough.

Room Tip: Most rooms have seaviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    11
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
16
71
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

We decided to do a weekend trip from Sevilla to Portugal and chose Albufeira. Little did we know we would be staying at one of the most incredible hotels we have ever stayed in. Vila Joya is located on a perfect section of the beach and has the most beautiful property, the room was beautiful with a sea view that was so amazing to wake up to every morning. I have been talking about Vila Joya ever since we left and cannot get over how perfect my weekend was here.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015 via mobile

Villa Joya is perched on a cliff overlooking the ocean, about 40 minutes drive from Faro airport. It has 21 rooms and a two Michelin star restaurant. We had a three night stay here in March 2015 (room 6). There is an outdoor heated pool, and our ground floor room had a small terrace with table, chairs and sun lounger looking out over the attractive gardens at the edge of the cliff. The restaurant itself has both an inside dining room and open air terrace, depending on the weather, but even in March we were able to sit outside for lunch in the sun.

Our room was large, with a reasonable shower and plenty of wardrobe space. It lacked a desk, and bedside lighting was decent but not perfect. There were not enough working power sockets; these days travellers have so many electronic devices that need recharging that you really want a large block of sockets at reachable level rather than hunting around in the bathroom and in inaccessible corners for the odd spare socket. Those with delicate backs should be aware that the mattress was distinctly on the firm side. Pricing is ambitious, with a room service club sandwich a little matter of EUR 26 ($28.48 currently), within a sliver of the price in Paris though still a bit cheaper than Geneva (currently the two costliest places in the world for a club sandwich on the hotels.com annual survey - compared to $18 in New York, by way of comparison). There was free wifi at a respectable 11 MBps download speed, and it worked fine throughout our stay.

The gym/spa was in the process of being moved and refurbished when we stayed, but we were able to use the entirely serviceable gym at the hotel just over the road without charge, so that was fair enough. Staff were friendly and helpful. Villa Joya is in a lovely location overlooking the sea, and its restaurant, generally reckoned the best in Portugal (one of only three 2 star Michelin places in the country at the time of writing), sets it apart from other resort hotels if you are interested in food.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

This is one of the most beautiful places to visit. The food is exquisite along with the setting, overlooking the sea. The understated elegance and attentive service makes you feel incredibly relaxed. It is just divine.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Vila Joya is an amazing hotel in an exquisite location. My wife and I stopped here for two days during our honeymoon and could not have been happier with the service, the food, and the views (we stayed in the Galé room). The staff was welcoming, the vibe was warm, and we immediately knew that we would love it here.

The restaurant is a must as again, the staff was welcoming, professional, and attentive and the food was nothing short of amazing. We ate there both nights and both meals were remarkable. Paulo, the restaurant manager, took us to meet Matteo in the kitchen on the second night, a very special experience. Very clear to see why they've earned both of their Michelin stars.

Everything about this stay has made us certain to return and bring our extended family, friends, and anyone who will listen.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

A very special and unique small hotel. A memorable stay : the finest food (and loved the invite from the Manager for cocktails in the kitchen before dinner), stunning setting and beach, lovely homely informal public rooms with attentive and helpful staff. A wonderful place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

More than a 5* hotel, Vila Joya's atmosphere makes it feel like an unique and an one of a kind experience. For the ones who are looking for peacefulness and to forget about the world itself, this is the place. From the welcoming tour with a beautiful champagne glass over the Atlantic, a beautiful beach with very difficult access for anyone not from Vila Joya, to beautiful suites and a restaurant that we won't ever forget. A real celebration of food as we have never seen before. Altogether, it made the 2 nights we spent there absolutely unforgettable and a destination to remember for the future.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Vila Joya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Joya

Address: Praia da Gale, Albufeira 8201-902, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#6 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#8 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#22 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vila Joya 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the top 5 star hotels in Algarve, Vila Joya resembles a small oriental palazzo and is nestled in a breathtaking garden setting on a cliff with stunning views facing the sea. Winner of the 2009 World’s Leading Boutique Resort Award, this Albufeira beach resort also boasts one of the top Michelin Restaurants in Portugal and features luxurious spa resort accommodations, exclusive golf packages, and rejuvenating body treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Priceline, Escapio and Odigeo so you can book your Vila Joya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Joya Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve
Vila Joya Hotel Albufeira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vila Joya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.