We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel in the Algarve” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Joya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Vila Joya to your Saves list
Vila Joya
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia da Gale, Albufeira 8201-902, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A jewel in the Algarve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A very special and unique small hotel. A memorable stay : the finest food (and loved the invite from the Manager for cocktails in the kitchen before dinner), stunning setting and beach, lovely homely informal public rooms with attentive and helpful staff. A wonderful place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    10
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
15
68
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

More than a 5* hotel, Vila Joya's atmosphere makes it feel like an unique and an one of a kind experience. For the ones who are looking for peacefulness and to forget about the world itself, this is the place. From the welcoming tour with a beautiful champagne glass over the Atlantic, a beautiful beach with very difficult access for anyone not from Vila Joya, to beautiful suites and a restaurant that we won't ever forget. A real celebration of food as we have never seen before. Altogether, it made the 2 nights we spent there absolutely unforgettable and a destination to remember for the future.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Travelled as a couple in may/june for his birthday. We stayed 7 nights.
As soon as you arrive you know how special this place is, the staff are excellent. Check in wasn't the quickest but nothing to complain about.

Room - This is the reason why this place is not getting 5 stars from me. I was very disappointed with my room. I have never stayed in such a room in any 4 or 5 star hotel and when I made this known to reception staff, she told me I was upgraded. I cannot imagine this hotel having a room worse than this. Small, tired and needs a complete revamp. Very bland, badly lit, dark & old bathroom with plumbing issues. For the price, one would expect much better. I did not enjoy being in the room. Only bright spot was the terrace.

So it was an absolute delight to discover the restaurant, pool and beach area. Spent minimal time in the room and most of my time exploring the grounds, sitting by the pool, walking on the beautiful beach and eating the AMAZING food.

The pool setting is stunning, the trees provide shade and you feel like you are in a rich friends house not a hotel. One forgets time in this place. The grounds & gardens are well kept, the staff attentive to your needs.

Breakfast was good. A nice selection set out while hot meals can be ordered. Most days I had lunch by the pool and it was excellent.
Now, this hotel is famous for the items that come out of that kitchen. From simple salads for lunch to 12 course dinners, every bite was a wow moment.

If you stay somewhere else in the area, please do yourself a treat and eat here at least once. It is an experience. Your taste buds will never be the same.
The wine selection is great. For his birthday I booked dinner at the chefs table. The staff were simply AMAZING! The experience was unforgettable, the presentation was impeccable & the food (all 12 courses) like nothing I have ever tasted. Chef Dieter is an artist of course, and we were truly blown away. They made my other half a cake. Big thank you to the kitchen staff.

I cannot wait to visit again (with a better room). The spa is highly recommended. I cannot say enough about the staff of this wonderful place.

Room Tip: Go for the more expensive rooms as I assume it'll be much better than what we had. Be sure to ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

What can I say about this wonderful place have being here over 12 times and we just love the place it's so special and we bring our twins we love the food best ever and the service is so friendly we really enjoy staying here and the setting is pardise thank u to all the staff and see u all soon amazing food wine and service !!

Room Tip: Lower ground are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed in Gale and spent an afternoon at the Spa in Vila joya, i would recommend this to everyone, steam bath, sauna and massage were fantastic, if you stay in Gale then you must give this a go. The pool was peaceful with great views of the ocean, go on treat your self

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Beware of the room you have booked. I booked a room for my 20 year anniversary (The Terrace) I called just to ask if we had the ground floor which I was very happy to hear we had. I then asked another question and the lovely lady from reservations informed me that this room wasn't refurbished. I said that I knew the room had been but not the bathroom she then explained that it was not the four poster bed and a round one instead. She quickly said she would send me photos. OMG I was shocked and confused this wasn't the photo that was on their website at all. I was going to be spending 2500. For three nights for a room I wouldn't have never stayed in, even if it was offered to me for free. She then sent me a photo of a Dulex room that had been refurbished , but it was so small dark and if you were sitting on the chairs on your balcony you wouldn't be able to see your sea view over the wall. I am thankful that I found out well before I arrived as my 20 year anniversary would have been unforgettable, but for all the wrong reasons. Only book the suits and if you do book the terrace room make sure it has been reburbished or your holiday will be ruined.

Room Tip: Only pick suits!!! Ask for photos of your room before you travel. Not all of them look like the web...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We just arrived with two little children. They even arranged a bottle of hot Milk For our youngest one. Very Nice room and staff and stunning views. All seems very Nice! Will give a review the next coming days. We Will stay here For one week. We keep you posted.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vila Joya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Joya

Address: Praia da Gale, Albufeira 8201-902, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#8 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#10 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#22 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vila Joya 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the top 5 star hotels in Algarve, Vila Joya resembles a small oriental palazzo and is nestled in a breathtaking garden setting on a cliff with stunning views facing the sea. Winner of the 2009 World’s Leading Boutique Resort Award, this Albufeira beach resort also boasts one of the top Michelin Restaurants in Portugal and features luxurious spa resort accommodations, exclusive golf packages, and rejuvenating body treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Escapio, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Vila Joya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Joya Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve
Vila Joya Hotel Albufeira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vila Joya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.