We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Joya

Save Saved
You added Vila Joya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vila Joya
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia da Gale, Albufeira 8201-902, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 162 hotels in Albufeira
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

When traveling, I make sure to choose great hotels (at least most of the times!). I know some people don't care so much about accommodations but I feel it is a big part of the vacation. When I chose Vila Joya I wanted it to be exceptional, and it was!

First, the staff are very friendly and helpful. Second, the rooms are absolutely beautiful and spacious. Our bathroom was to die for!!! I love their selection of music at the room. They have an ipod full of goodies playing as you come in to your room. The restaurant is awesome! One of the best foods I have ever eaten in Portugal :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    9
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
11
61
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
limerick,ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I was sceptical going to Vila Joya and spending €110 for lunch,how good could it be? Stupid question, it was the most exceptional food experience that I have ever had.We had a ten course taster lunch and I don't think I'll ever forget the sensation of being giddy over every mouthful.The service was impeccable and the setting was stunning.We did have a couple of minor gripes,it seems a little silly not to have coffee included in the price of lunch and when we asked would it be ok to have a swim in the sea as we had brought our things with us, we were told it would be fine to go to the beach but due to health and safety we couldn't come back through the grounds to leave??If you ever have the opportunity to visit Vila Joya please please do,you'll remember it for a long time.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This place was amazing. We stayed here for two nights. This place is paradise if you want a get away for a bit of R@R.
This place is all about attention to detail. The staff are very friendly but very professional. We did have the evening meal which was a six course meal with wines. The whole experience was amazing.

It's definitely worth pushing the boat out for a couple of days!!!

We also used the spa and I am also a therapist and have used techniques on my clients that I have picked up all over the world.
All the therapist in this spa are very knowledgeable and know what they're doing.
For a special occasion we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We just returned from our second stay at Vila Joya and it was fantastic. The hotel is really a romantic gourmet & spa escape. It is set in a beautiful garden, your meals are on a terrace overlooking the sea, dinner is served by candlelight and every staff member we met was so polite, and pleasant. The meals are complicated textures and tastes, and it is a pleasure to take your time in this romantic setting to really enjoy these exceptional dinners. I can't even begin to explain the dinners, the food is outstanding. The beach area around the hotel is sandy, with small coves to explore. The pool area is set in a beautiful garden, and we had lunch there everyday. Yes, Vila Joya is expensive but it is a rarity in this world: a real treat.The rooms are not ultra luxurious but still very good and every room has a private balcony with a sea view.

Room Tip: Every room has a private balcony with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stay here if you wish to pay a fortune for a below standard experience. Main disappointment is that the staff are extremely rude and is not what you would expect from a hotel of this standard.
I hope the management review their training to ensure their staff are offering equal customer service to match their hefty price tag. Sadly we will not be returning.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaJoya, Manager at Vila Joya, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Sirs,

Firstly we would like to apologise that you felt you had a below standard experience as it is our aim to make sure all of our guests have a wonderful time at Vila Joya. We have spoken to our staff to try to ascertain why and who was rude to you as this for us is a very serious matter. It is unfortunate you did not mention this during your stay with us as we would have indeed tried to rectify the situation before you left.

Secondly, should you wish to contact us directly we would very much like to hear from you. Customer service is our priority and we would like to make sure that this never happens again so would very much appreciate your feedback regarding exactly what happened.

Kindest Regards

The General Managers Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Vila Joya is what many resorts would like to be. Just Perfect! I went there with my wife and daughter and each one of us had a special reason to be very happy about the stay. For my wife, the paradisiacal small beach and the beautiful landscapes did the trick. For me, a massage given by Dr. Jacob, an authentic Ayurvedic therapist, stopped a back-pain that lasted for almost a year and “survived” many other treatment attempts. Priceless! For my daughter, well, she agrees with San Pellegrino, that rates this as one of the fifty best restaurants in the world...
The décor is discreetly sophisticated and artistic, just as it should. The hotel´s architecture celebrates the amazing landscape, merging with it and offering you a strategic location from where to watch nature in all its forgotten glory. Sun plunging in the ocean, moonlight, shinning stars, green leafs, cliffs, clear crystal sea waters, they are all there to remind off what you have been missing.
The Staff is extremely friendly and, all in all, it is a holistic experience. Just like listening to a well tuned orchestra conducted by an invisible Maestro.
If you wish to recharge your batteries, there is no better place. Just a couple days are enough for a big change. Leaving this piece of paradise is the only problem that you will have to face….

Room Tip: Spa is great. You shouldn't miss it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carthage, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Wife and i went last summer. Had planned some excursions away from the hotel, but once we were there we did not want to leave. Beautiful grounds and a great staff. Dinners were over the top! Lazy at pool and beach during the day and 2.5 hour dinners in the evening. If you like that then you will love this place!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vila Joya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Joya

Address: Praia da Gale, Albufeira 8201-902, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#19 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#21 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
#26 Business Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Joya 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the top 5 star hotels in Algarve, Vila Joya resembles a small oriental palazzo and is nestled in a breathtaking garden setting on a cliff with stunning views facing the sea. Winner of the 2009 World’s Leading Boutique Resort Award, this Albufeira beach resort also boasts one of the top Michelin Restaurants in Portugal and features luxurious spa resort accommodations, exclusive golf packages, and rejuvenating body treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Splendia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Vila Joya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Joya Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve
Vila Joya Hotel Albufeira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vila Joya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.