We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip off” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Joya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Vila Joya to your Saves list
Vila Joya
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia da Gale, Albufeira 8201-902, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rip off”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stay here if you wish to pay a fortune for a below standard experience. Main disappointment is that the staff are extremely rude and is not what you would expect from a hotel of this standard.
I hope the management review their training to ensure their staff are offering equal customer service to match their hefty price tag. Sadly we will not be returning.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank livelovelife2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaJoya, Manager at Vila Joya, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Sirs,

Firstly we would like to apologise that you felt you had a below standard experience as it is our aim to make sure all of our guests have a wonderful time at Vila Joya. We have spoken to our staff to try to ascertain why and who was rude to you as this for us is a very serious matter. It is unfortunate you did not mention this during your stay with us as we would have indeed tried to rectify the situation before you left.

Secondly, should you wish to contact us directly we would very much like to hear from you. Customer service is our priority and we would like to make sure that this never happens again so would very much appreciate your feedback regarding exactly what happened.

Kindest Regards

The General Managers Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Vila Joya is what many resorts would like to be. Just Perfect! I went there with my wife and daughter and each one of us had a special reason to be very happy about the stay. For my wife, the paradisiacal small beach and the beautiful landscapes did the trick. For me, a massage given by Dr. Jacob, an authentic Ayurvedic therapist, stopped a back-pain that lasted for almost a year and “survived” many other treatment attempts. Priceless! For my daughter, well, she agrees with San Pellegrino, that rates this as one of the fifty best restaurants in the world...
The décor is discreetly sophisticated and artistic, just as it should. The hotel´s architecture celebrates the amazing landscape, merging with it and offering you a strategic location from where to watch nature in all its forgotten glory. Sun plunging in the ocean, moonlight, shinning stars, green leafs, cliffs, clear crystal sea waters, they are all there to remind off what you have been missing.
The Staff is extremely friendly and, all in all, it is a holistic experience. Just like listening to a well tuned orchestra conducted by an invisible Maestro.
If you wish to recharge your batteries, there is no better place. Just a couple days are enough for a big change. Leaving this piece of paradise is the only problem that you will have to face….

Room Tip: Spa is great. You shouldn't miss it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CTARIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carthage, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Wife and i went last summer. Had planned some excursions away from the hotel, but once we were there we did not want to leave. Beautiful grounds and a great staff. Dinners were over the top! Lazy at pool and beach during the day and 2.5 hour dinners in the evening. If you like that then you will love this place!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tatefarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is a very very well located small 5 star outfit. With a beautiful view on the antlantic, kind of private beach and large garden with two swimming pools. Service a very friendly and helpful. The two star restaurant is excellent, with each day a different 6 course diner. Prices in this restaurant are absurdly high; almost 400 euros for food/wine. However, nearby on the beach is a simple but good fish-restaurant so everyone cant take his or her pick. It's certain we come back to this paradise.

Room Tip: Better in thre head building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hveenboer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

What a wonderful stay we had at the Vila Joya, with it's little private and cozy beach. The cocktail bar at the beach is just stunning and the atmosphere relaxing. Rooms are top quality, very spacious, we even had a jacuzzi in our room (well, we paid about 900euros per night!) We did not eat in the Michelin star restaurant because they only served 6 or more course meals and we're not big eaters and we wanted to do something else than dining all night long. There is a typical Portuguese restaurant walking distance further down the road (also accessible through the beach) where they serve great fresh meals. (Pick your fish) This is the perfect hideaway for couples seeking some quiet and relaxing time or honeymooners. Really enjoyed the stay and the professional staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T-Renske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andalucia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

What a stunning find!

This upscale boutique property is popular with the German market, but we discovered it searching online for somewhere special on the Algarve. 

It's a former private home, now luxuriously extended with spa, stunning wine tasting cellar and Michelin starred restaurant. 

The location is flawless.

Our room overlooked the sea, so we fell a sleep to the sound of the waves - heaven. 

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This wonderful hotel Vila Joya directly at the Atlantic coast with a wonderful beach is a real gem. Not only the cuisine of the hotel´s Austrian two Michelin Star cook is impressing but also the house, the gardens, the pools and the staff are extraordinary. We love this place and are happy to have found it and will return as soon as possible -from Germany no problem also for a weekend.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have sea view and are nicely decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petra l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albufeira
8.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
7.2 mi away
Porto Bay Falesia
Porto Bay Falesia
#5 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 stars 1,551 reviews
3.0 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 16 in Almancil
5.0 of 5 stars 967 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vila Gale Praia
Vila Gale Praia
#3 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 stars 471 reviews
7.7 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 stars 1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Joya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Joya

Address: Praia da Gale, Albufeira 8201-902, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#2 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#2 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#22 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Vila Joya 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the top 5 star hotels in Algarve, Vila Joya resembles a small oriental palazzo and is nestled in a breathtaking garden setting on a cliff with stunning views facing the sea. Winner of the 2009 World’s Leading Boutique Resort Award, this Albufeira beach resort also boasts one of the top Michelin Restaurants in Portugal and features luxurious spa resort accommodations, exclusive golf packages, and rejuvenating body treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Venere and Travelocity so you can book your Vila Joya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Joya Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve
Vila Joya Hotel Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing