We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice upscale boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Joya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Vila Joya to your Saves list
Vila Joya
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia da Gale, Albufeira 8201-902, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very nice upscale boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

What a wonderful stay we had at the Vila Joya, with it's little private and cozy beach. The cocktail bar at the beach is just stunning and the atmosphere relaxing. Rooms are top quality, very spacious, we even had a jacuzzi in our room (well, we paid about 900euros per night!) We did not eat in the Michelin star restaurant because they only served 6 or more course meals and we're not big eaters and we wanted to do something else than dining all night long. There is a typical Portuguese restaurant walking distance further down the road (also accessible through the beach) where they serve great fresh meals. (Pick your fish) This is the perfect hideaway for couples seeking some quiet and relaxing time or honeymooners. Really enjoyed the stay and the professional staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    12
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
19
79
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Andalucia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

What a stunning find!

This upscale boutique property is popular with the German market, but we discovered it searching online for somewhere special on the Algarve. 

It's a former private home, now luxuriously extended with spa, stunning wine tasting cellar and Michelin starred restaurant. 

The location is flawless.

Our room overlooked the sea, so we fell a sleep to the sound of the waves - heaven. 

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This wonderful hotel Vila Joya directly at the Atlantic coast with a wonderful beach is a real gem. Not only the cuisine of the hotel´s Austrian two Michelin Star cook is impressing but also the house, the gardens, the pools and the staff are extraordinary. We love this place and are happy to have found it and will return as soon as possible -from Germany no problem also for a weekend.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have sea view and are nicely decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Lovely Large room, athougth the shower was dated. Weather Brilliant. Great view out to sea. Gardens nice and well looked after. Breakfast average. NO AL A CARTE menu in the evenings. ONLY a SIx Course Tasting menu, which is enjoyable for one night BUT NOT seven nights. One does not pay this money for a set menu. No tea making in bedroom. No welcome refreshment on arrival, Not even a cup of tea, which would of been very nice after beening up since 3.30a.m. traveling to you, Arriving at 10a.m. to be told breakfast is finished..... Sorry we will not be returning....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaJoya, Manager at Vila Joya, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
It's awful that a client feels this way, as we always try to make sure that our guest get what they wish for. Our Degustation menu changes every single day so no dishes are repeated. If the guest only wishes to eat something light and simple they can choose any of the dishes on the menu and are not required to have it all. Often guests just want a simple pasta or salad and we are happy to oblige. It is awful terrible that you were told breakfast was finished as it has always finished at 11. We generally always welcome our guests with a welcome drink too. We apologise for such a bad experience as we are famous for our customer service and only wish that something had been mentioned during your stay so we could have made it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventry, Ireland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This was recommended by a friend who is a leading chef in Ireland. We therefore had very high expectations, but even these were exceeded. We went for lunch and opted for the the fixed three course menu. The three courses were superb but there were lots of additional surprise dishes ; amuse bouche, tapas, palate cleansers, petit fours, each more amazing than the last.

The flavours and presentation were stunning, and the service impeccable.

Truly memorable

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Rooms to die for absolutely fantastic smooth book in, wonderful staff.
Food a bit of a dissappointment. A bit samey with no change in texture, monkfish, salmon, beef etc.

But worth the very expensive experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Beautiful/romantic location.
The rooms are a bit pricy for what you get, but the view over the ocean is magnificent.
Excellent food.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albufeira
8.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 162 in Albufeira
5.0 of 5 stars 444 reviews
7.2 mi away
Porto Bay Falesia
Porto Bay Falesia
#4 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 stars 1,353 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vila Gale Praia
Vila Gale Praia
#2 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 stars 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
15.8 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 17 in Almancil
5.0 of 5 stars 812 reviews
7.6 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence
Pine Cliffs Residence
#11 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 stars 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Joya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Joya

Address: Praia da Gale, Albufeira 8201-902, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#4 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#6 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#22 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vila Joya 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the top 5 star hotels in Algarve, Vila Joya resembles a small oriental palazzo and is nestled in a breathtaking garden setting on a cliff with stunning views facing the sea. Winner of the 2009 World’s Leading Boutique Resort Award, this Albufeira beach resort also boasts one of the top Michelin Restaurants in Portugal and features luxurious spa resort accommodations, exclusive golf packages, and rejuvenating body treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Escapio, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vila Joya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Joya Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve
Vila Joya Hotel Albufeira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vila Joya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.