We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel with wonderful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Joya

Save Saved
You added Vila Joya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vila Joya
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia da Gale, Albufeira 8201-902, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 162 hotels in Albufeira
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful hotel with wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We were very lucky to have 4 nights at this lovely hotel with our 2 children in early April. The food was absolutely superb -- at least as good as the finest restaurants in London -- with amazing originality and the freshest ingredients. I have a dairy-free diet which they accomodated more than I would at home and the chef produced variations on every dish for me all of which were absolutely delicious. Our room was spectacular and a great treat for the kids with a private pool which was perfect given that it was quite cold and the large pool was not quite as warm as required! The beach was beautiful and the water was very clear. The staff were absolutely lovely to us the entire time we were there with no quibbles about special requests. Nothing was too much trouble and no guests seemed to have preferred treatment. We did see one room other than the one we stayed in and it was on a more traditional line which may not be to everyone's taste but we thought it was charming.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    9
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
11
62
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We were very well welcomed.
Not only very well welcomed, but as well very happy with the excellent display of food for breakfast, views, diner and room service.

They are one off.
The staff was very polite and me and my wife enjoyed it very much.

Room Tip: If you go there and you want to feel completely free is better to have your own car. The room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitges, Spain
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We took a half board package with dinner. We had a wonderful welcome and a fabulous room with a view over the sea leading out onto the terrace and gardens. The room was average, but the bathroom is in serious need of updating. Shower curtains (that don't fit) in 5 star hotels in Europe is an absolute no no. The staff were lovely, very welcoming and hard working but there one or two minor let downs. Missing our breakfast order on the bedroom door is a big error for a hotel of this standard. When we went to pay, the lack of prices for alcohol both with lunch and dinner revealed the gotchas. 29€ for a glass of red wine with lunch and 183€ for the pairing of wines with dinner made this overnight stay nearly 1000€.
I have to say it was a very lovely break for my wife and, very relaxing but it comes at a cost. If you're not short of money you will probably enjoy staying here. Looking at some of the indications of average prices, you might find a better web site deal than what we paid on the hotel site. However beware the hidden cost, particularly wines which are exorbitant for this part of the Euro zone. Wines and taxes do not cost that much here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slippery Rock, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

They get an "A" for effort, but you'll fall in love with what Vila Joya could be, not what it is. Bottom line:

1) The room decor is out of date and feels cheap. The bathrooms are especially inconvenient with outdated plumbing.

2) The staff is top-notch. SUPER nice and accommodating. Food is excellent.

3) It feels like they're going for a "homey" hotel, but they miss the mark because they try to mix way too many different styles in one small place and end up with a confusing ambiance.

4) The town surrounding the Vila feels like a poor Latin town from the 1980's, which is reflective of the poor economic times they are having. There's not a lot to do and we found ourselves a little uncomfortable in the area.

5) The rooms are not quiet at ALL. If the people downstairs are having any kind of celebration or talking loudly, you'll hear it all. If the staff walks the corridors or does anything, you hear it.

6) The wi-fi was pretty slow, but that may be indicative of the region.

Overall, they are making a good attempt at having a resort, but they need to invest in new decor, sound-proofing the rooms, bring some more light into the the whole hotel and offering other things to do in the area around the hotel so you're not bored.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Having travelled extensively throughout Europe, and notching up an incredible 21 stars last year, my palette for good food is demanding to say the vary least.

I eat at Vila Joya last week with my partner, whist we were staying nearby on business.

I am unable to comment on the bedrooms, but if the food is anything to go by then you're in for a real treat.

I have to stay, for me, this was by far the best restaurant I have ever eaten in. The service was impeccable, the setting was ' paradise' as was the food.

A trip to the wine seller, was sublime, nothing was too much trouble. During our experience, the clientele was all German, which for me demonstrates quality. If its good enough for them.....!

I will certainly return, but next time, I will book a room.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Having holiday'd in Barbados for over 30 visits we wanted to find somewhere nearer to the UK and get rid of the long haul flight.
We went to VilaJoya for Sunday lunch whilst staying last year (2010) at the Villa Vermont, Quinta da Lago and Vila Joya enticed us back for a short 'taster' stay in November 2011 during which we suprisingly even managed a couple of days on the sundbed.
The staff, the food, the service, the setting,cleanliness and ambience were second to none!!
We are returning again in May 2012 and will try to ensure we manage to have at least 2 stays a year.
It is SO relaxing. If you are looking for somewhere to relax and be looked after then look no further.
Top Class!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room number 7 and have requested that room again. It is placed on the west and is in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

This is for sure one of the most special places in Portugal. Not only is still a different piece of Algarve, it has one of the best restaurants. We usually go for dinner on 29th August for my wedding anniversary and the endless number of courses in a delight for senses. The place with its priviledged location in the top of a cliff, is romantric, exclusive , peaceful. The service is extraordinary although we miss the previous butler which would greet us with: Welcome to paradise! The beach is wonderful and quite enough. This is a place forgotten from the rest of the tipycal busy Algarve.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vila Joya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Joya

Address: Praia da Gale, Albufeira 8201-902, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#8 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#13 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#21 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Joya 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the top 5 star hotels in Algarve, Vila Joya resembles a small oriental palazzo and is nestled in a breathtaking garden setting on a cliff with stunning views facing the sea. Winner of the 2009 World’s Leading Boutique Resort Award, this Albufeira beach resort also boasts one of the top Michelin Restaurants in Portugal and features luxurious spa resort accommodations, exclusive golf packages, and rejuvenating body treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Vila Joya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Joya Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve
Vila Joya Hotel Albufeira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vila Joya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.