We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rocamarvelous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rocamar Hotels & Resorts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Rocamar Hotels & Resorts to your Saves list
Rocamar Hotels & Resorts
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo Jacinlo d'Ayet, Albufeira 8200-071, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Rocamar)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“rocamarvelous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Just got back from a week here,it is the first time i have stayed at this hotel but have stayed in Albufeira many times,most of the previous reviews are pretty accurate,great location,good service,i only stayed b & b but others said the food at night was o.k,the breakfast was streaky one day and hot dog sausages the next which was not always too hot but there was always something to eat.
The bedroom was big and spotless with a lovely sea view balcony that got the sun during the day,the bathroom had a bath with shower attachment which always had hot water.
It had british tv channels and free wi-fi which you need to ask about.
The only downside was no tea and coffee making facilities which you sort of get used to,but all in all a very solid three star hotel which could almost be four stars.
A five minute walk to the square and a little walk down a ramp to the beach (the lift is shut in january)The only downside was no tea and coffee making facilities which you sort of get used to,but all in all a very solid three star hotel which could almost be four stars.
I had a great time and will be going back at the end of March.
See you then.

Room Tip: it says on your room card you will get a code for internet but i had to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hugoabreurodrigues, Director of Sales at Rocamar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your review.
We´re very pleased that your holidays with us provided you a "great time" as you said

Hope to see you in Rocamar soon

Regards

Hugo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    259
    92
    28
    12
See reviews for
68
383
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
co. donegal ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My daughter and I just back from the rocamar . Had a very relaxing and comfortable holiday... Hotel is lovely and rooms comfortable.. Very good for three star.. Food ok not brilliant.. Some staff could be more helpful ie with luggage ....but would definitely go back here as these minor things just need rectified ... Location fantastic to everything in old town ... Aileen and Julie Ireland

Room Tip: Sea view necessity... Amazing views from these rooms... Would also request a floor on the 3'rd f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hugoabreurodrigues, Director of Sales at Rocamar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Aileen

Thank you very much for your review.

Let me just say that we instruct our coleagues to try to help all of our clients with luggage but sometimes our staff it´s so busy that it´s impossible to help or it´s to late to do it, hope to see you soon

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I should have gone to the Rocamar last year for Christmas but several days before I was taken ill and was advised not to travel This year I struck lucky and was able to go and visit the Algarve and to Albufeira and stay at the Rocamar.

On arrival I was quickly signed in and assigned to the room I asked for which was a sea-view room. A superb view from the room - worth paying the extra. Had a problem with the television and next day new one arrived and surprisingly we could watch BBC1 and ITV1.

The food was good but the menu was limited and the evening meal was also good. My only niggle was that the breakfasts were plentiful but the warming plates were not very warm so the food was not hot.

On the whole a good hotel. I stayed at the rocamar from 19 - 31 December 2012

Room Tip: Go for the rooms that are facing the sea and fifth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hugoabreurodrigues, Director of Sales at Rocamar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Mr. Alan

Thank you very much for your review, we´re happy that you finally could spent your holidays with us

Regards
Hugo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I thought this hotel was worthy of more than just 3 stars, it is without doubt the best 3 star i have stayed in. The rooms were modern, comfortable and very clean. The location couldn't be better, beach on your doorstep and main old town square not even 5 min stroll.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hugoabreurodrigues, Director of Sales at Rocamar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Mrs. Louise

Thanks for your comment and review.

Its with great pleasure to see the recognition of our work.

We would like to receive you in the near future
Regards

Hugo

Hugo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel is in the old town by the lift down to the beach. Its a small but clean Hotel. Well worth paying for the sea view room. We stayed for 6 nights and decided to eat in the hotel for 4 nights and the food was very adequate with a good choice specially puddings. Staff are friendly and always willing to help. It is frequented by pensioners who seem to return every year which is a good sign. The only thing I would recommend the management address is the lack of staff in the bar during the day. If you want a drink you have to search for a member of staff and you could wait a bit for one. The pool was undergoing maintenance for the who week which was a shame as we would have used it because the weather was so nice. The spa is somewhat expensive but I dont normally bother with any of the beauty treatments. We will be returning again next February with my partners son and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: pay the difference and request a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hugoabreurodrigues, Director of Sales at Rocamar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Maria

Thanks for your review.

I´m a little confused regardin the pool, the last time that the pool was under maintenance, was in January 2012, every morning we clean the pool and make all the tests, but tha rest of the day the pool was open........ anyway, we are very happy that you enjoyed the hotel and we will correct small things that you refered


Regards

Hugo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

I don't know whether its because of the spa treatments that people receive when staying at this hotel but it felt healing and peaceful. The location couldn't be better: far enough out of the main square to avoid the late night noise but right on the beach and still only a 2min walk from the centre of town. The view from the hotel is amazing. Breakfast was good and filling. Fried eggs and baked beans! A first for the continent. Must be all those rotund ex-pats that populate the area... Sure, the price for an out of season stay is a little more than we were expecting but the rooms are so well maintained that it makes up for it. I would recommend this to anyone looking to stay in Albufeira.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hugoabreurodrigues, Director of Sales at Rocamar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Doug

Thank you very much for your review

We are pleased that you enjoyed your massage with Marta, next time that you visit us you have to try a different type ..... there´s so many that you can choose from..

Hope to see you again in the next times


Regards

Hugo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stayed here end of november, and were really impressed. Amazing location, right on the beach, and in the town, best of both! from the reviews i wasn't sure how easy it was to get onto the beach, but it was really quick and easy, i guess it may be difficult for less able or elderly people, but its not particularly steep. very friendly helpful staff, especially Alexandrian (I think that's how it's spelt) on reception who was cheerful, helpful and funny! Sea view was beautiful and definitely worth the small extra fee. Wifi great, breakfast is good, we didn't try the dinner as so many restaurants nearby, free parking right out side (limited number) can't fault the place! Will definitely go back again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hugoabreurodrigues, Director of Sales at Rocamar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Rosie

Thanks for your review.

Is name is Alexandre bu the way .... ;)

We just hope to see you this year again...

Regards

Hugo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rocamar Hotels & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocamar Hotels & Resorts

Address: Largo Jacinlo d'Ayet, Albufeira 8200-071, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Rocamar)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rocamar Hotels & Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Rocamar Hotels & Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocamar Hotel Albufeira
Rocamar Hotels & Resorts Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocamar Hotels & Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.