We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auramar Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Auramar Beach Resort to your Saves list
Auramar Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia dos Aveiros - Areias de S Joao, Albufeira 8200, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
yorkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2007

great place, food fantastic with lots of choice and variety, pools clean views amazing would defo go back

  • Liked — pools and other facilities
  • Disliked — steps to beach petty but all i could think of
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    666
    457
    225
    158
See reviews for
322
844
44
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
midlands
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2007

the wife and a few friends have just been to this hotel and was bitterley disappointed with the attitude of the majority of the staff and the food was very basic.ie burgers chips sausage and the such like.they went all inclusive,but would have been better of going b and b and just eat out .the rooms were basic but clean. the beach was down a steep walk way .overall with the attitude of the staff and the food they came back disapointed.at nearly 400 pounds for 4 nights it was not good value. flying with monarch is no joke either.

  • Liked — 0
  • Disliked — 0
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2007

Have just returned from the Auramar and sadly would never return. The rooms are tired but are obviously being renovated (and removing all of self catering facilities) from each room so this probably will not affect you if you are going at a later date. When I arrived the room was full of flies and beasties the doors had obviously been left open but this was soon sorted out after I was handed a spray at Reception to do myself! The Staff were rude and chose to pretend that they did not understand you, the only one that was helpful was Christine at Reception. On entering the Restaurant morning or evening there was never a table set, the staff would shout at you to sit down if you tried to set it up yourself. When I did this it took ages for them to do it. I ate there 7 times and I was only offered a drink once and that was on my first night when there was only about 5 people in the place!! Most nights there was hardly anything left and bear in mind I was going in at 8pm and the Restaurant was open until 9.30pm. Many a night I was left with indigestion trying to eat my lettuce leaf so that I would be able to get a sweet. They do seem to cater more for the Germans in the Restaurant and the channels on the TV. The situation and the pool were lovely but once again the service was without a smile. Come on Auramar Buck up your ideas you could be wonderful......

  • Liked — Where the Hotel was situated
  • Disliked — The Staff and the Food
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2007

I stayed in the auramar April 2006 as part of a package holiday with expedia and after an AWFUL flight (stopping in lisbon for 5 hours before flying again to faro) I thought that it was the start to a terrible holiday but was very pleasantly surprised when we arrived at auramar. The rooms are huge, great view, beach is just a walk away (and I advise anyone staying here who's not driving or just if you fancy a walk, to go down the path from the hotel to the beach and then walk along the beach to albufeira beach - it only takes about 10mins and is a really nice walk!) The staff were nice & helpful, its got an indoor pool as well as two outdoor pools, breakfast was pleasant(nothing fancy, but nice enough!) and the 'strip' is a very short walk away, so lively bars, restaurants & shops are nearby. Altogether a nice stay @ The Auramar, it was VERY impressive for a 3 star hotel, i've already booked it again for this year! Hope this helps.

  • Liked — How close it was to the beach, shops, restaurants, bars, etc.
  • Disliked — There was only a small black&white television in our room with few channels
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2007

This hotel must have the best setting on the Algarve. At my age I worried about the number of steps, but by day 3 my legs were used to it, and we found short cuts. If you are used to 3 star this hotel will not disappoint. 3 star hotel, 5 star location. We stayed for 2 weeks all inclusive and didn't want to leave. 3 star food and drinks but lots of variety and plenty of it. Large rooms, past their prime but beautifully clean, with sea views. I would not hesitate to stay there again.Multilingual reception staff were always helpful. The beach is wonderful and accessed by railed wooden steps, with resting places!! Plenty of sun beds with comfy matresses. Please don't be put of by some reviews, I really don't know what some people expect from 3 star.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the steps
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2007

We spent 4 nights here on a half board basis and really enjoyed it. It's not perfect but then again it was excellent value at £150 for the two of us. There were a couple of niggles: reception area was pretty smoky and the hotel would benefit from a refurbish but you can't expect the Ritz for this sort of money.

However it was clean and we had clean towels every day and a change of bedding (on a 4 night stay) so no complaints.

The food was plentiful and an excellent range of food with soup, salad, a main course and sweets. and also a good selection at breakfast with hot and cold food available.

Staff were mainly pleasant: ceratinly the serving staff and the maid although the reception staff were brusque but not actually rude.

As everyone has said the location is superb although the directions to it by road were less than helpful but fortunately a helpful taxi driver put me right.

All in all great value for money either B&B or half board. I can't comment on the All-inclusive rate or the entertainment as I didn't indulge.

  • Liked — Food and overall cleanliness
  • Disliked — Reception area was very smoky
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2007

Just got back on monday 12the March, The hotel was nice, better than I thought it would be after reading some reviews. The rooms were very clean and were cleaned every day. We were there on a bed and breakfast basis.,the breakfast wasn't that good so we ate out on a few occasions. We ate in the hotel restaurant one night and wasn't impressed! 15 euros each for as mush as you like but the food was basic, considering you can get a very nice meal on the strip cheaper. The hotel is in a great position with some gorgeous views, it could do with a bit of modernsing but only really the reception area and dinning room. Only a 5 min walk to the Strip which at this time of year was nice as it wasn't too busy. There are some gorgeous restuarants La Bamba had lovely food and friendly staff. There is a free bus every so often to the old Albufieira, which is worth a visit, or a "Train/Bus" for 1 euro from the strip. Watch out for people selling time share they are everywhere, we got caught on our first day! Also people asking you "if you smoke the Hash" Quite a few of them too!
Would definately go back to Albufeira again though and to The Auramara just for the views alone!

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auramar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auramar Beach Resort

Address: Praia dos Aveiros - Areias de S Joao, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Auramar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 287
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Auramar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auramar Beach Hotel Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Hotel Albufeira
Auramar Beach Resort Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auramar Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.