We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good cheap spring break - pity it rained” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Auramar Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Auramar Beach Resort to your Saves list
Auramar Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia dos Aveiros - Areias de S Joao, Albufeira 8200, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“Good cheap spring break - pity it rained”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

We saw the Auramar advertised on TravelZoo by QWERTY travel at £114 for a week B&B.
We actually paid a little bit more because that price does not include Easyjet's luggage charges and we switched to more convenient flights but even with a small single supplement for our daughter it still worked out as a very cheap break..

Because we didn't pay much and weren't expecting 5* luxury we were happy with our holiday.

Although the remainder may sound quite negative it is because there are quite a lot of fairly minor problems - nothing that spoilt the enjoyment of our holiday.

Good-points:
- We were given an end room (B316) that had a separate living room area and a huge balcony
- The views are magnificent, (some lower floor rooms would be blocked by other buildings so it is best to ask for a high floor)
- Room was comfortably furnished with plenty of spare blankets
- Room had refrigerator, a hot plate and plates and cups, good for snacks but not enough for a meal.
- Indoor pool although small was warm and not crowded.
- Hotel has large car park (many have no guest parking)

Poor points:
- On checking in they didn't give us the correct card to operate the room lights and it took about an hour to sort out (we arrived late evening so needed the lights)
- Our adult daughter was assigned a poor ground floor room in a different block although adjacent room had been requested. She was moved to a good room a few doors away the next day.
- Window frames leaked in rain (it rained a lot!). Maid had positioned towels to catch the water
-Lifts are very small and could only accommodate standard wheelchair after footrests had been removed, companion had to take stairs and meet lift
-Getting to Restaurant involved two lifts and long detour, there are then ramps down to outdoor pool and pool bar but we only tried once.
- Limited choice of food at breakfast and little variation. Glad we weren't of All inclusive
- The lobby does smell but not that badly
- We hadn't asked for a wheelchair accessible room, (not sure if the have them) normally that isn't a problem to us since my wife doesn't use chair in room. but it was quite difficult to get chair into room because kitchen unit prevented door opening fully.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    663
    456
    225
    156
See reviews for
321
843
44
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

This was a special holiday for my mum's 80th birthday and I booked it on line through Direct Line Holidays, at a cost of over £300 each, for myself, my partner and my mum, (not a huge amount I know, but not a cheap deal either!!). We booked bed and breakfast, as we like to be independent and thank god we did ! (more on that later). On arrival at the hotel on sunday 7th march at 12.00pm, after a long and tiring journey and in the pouring rain, I was informed by an unhelpful surly member of staff that our rooms were not ready and that we would have to wait until 2pm !!! Also, I had asked for our rooms to be next to each other, which they weren't, but 4 doors away, when I queried this the same surly woman said "well that's almost next door isn't it and anyway the hotel is full !!". Lovely attitude and certainly irritating since i had booked the rooms well over a month ago ! She then demanded 20 euros deposit for the 2 keys, which i certainly objected to after having paid nearly a £1000 for the holiday.... this is not mentioned anywhere, so beware !! Whilst waiting for our rooms we had no choice but to go down to the poolside cafeteria bar and buy our lunch.... dreadful place with plastic glasses and plastic overprised food and surly, indifferent staff. We never ate there again.
The smell in the reception and bar area is TERRIBLE and is definitely dirty mop water and cheap bleach, NOTHING to do with the ocean !!!
Location and the other hotel guests were lovely, too many steps overall though, to the pool and beach etc. It was too cold to swim and I never saw the pool being cleaned at all during the time we were there. Good free bus service into town and found some lovely bars and restaurants nearby, esp CALIPTO and the chinese restaurant... Golden Garden. on the strip, EXCELLENT !! Our rooms were good, spacious and roomy, but a very quick clean each day !! Have been to Albuferia and Villamoura before and there are certainly better and cheaper places to stay, WOULD NOT stay here again !!!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Kilpatrick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

This hotel was reasonable for a 3 star. Rooms were spacious and clean although were a bit tired and could do with a refurbishment. Meals were ok, not a lot of choice but what was available was fine. Drinks in bar were ok (local drinks as all inclusive) but served in small glasses which meant a constant queue at the bar - also sometimes plastic glasses used in late afternoon. Unpleasant odour constantly in reception and bar which limited the time spent in these areas as you felt quite ill after about half an hour. Reception staff said it was coming from the ocean but no other part of the hotel was affected so don't think so! Smelt like 'wet dog'!! Good location, staff pleasant but not overly helpful at times. Did complain to rep about the smell and she offered to move us to another hotel for 257 euros which we declined!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

My husband and I visited in late February 2010, fearful of the reviews but are happy with the hotel and consider it value for money. We chose 1/2 board, and found the food to be basic, plentiful and aimed at the European traveller. Only disappointment was the smell of the lobby, which was at times overpowering. We stayed in Block C on the second level and the facilities were clean, comfortable and homely.

Albufeira out of season is beautiful, green and temperate. The people are great and we found an excellent portugese restaurant (next to a brazilian cafe) off the main street in the old town so shop around. The outdoor esculator is impressive.

Not flashy but we paid just over 200 pound for a 8 day stay (and we've just paid 64 pound for an overnight B&B in Sidmouth), so I am not going to complain.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

After booking through Sun4U online, all seemed to be going like okay until we got to the hotel. I can not fault the BA flights or the private taxi transfers, but the hotel was a different story entirely! Firstly the smell in the reception area was unbearable, rooms noisy and food terrible. We made the mistake of booking all inclusive, so if you are thinking of staying here we suggest bed n breakfast only as we had to eat out of the hotel every lunch/evening. The lunch menu is the same as the evening menu - V disapointing. On a positive note the views are lovely and you are close to the main areas, but needless to say, we will not be returning. Shame!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

Went here mid feb. Good Room plenty of facilities in the room. Clean and roomy with good views. Hotel in enviable cliff top position with panoramic views. Went with Thomas Cook, thier rep Chloe is a star. Watch for the mozzies, my husband quite badly bitten. Food basic but we did not starve DON'T go all inclusive this is not really a hotel geared up for this. We went half board and managed to eat some of the limited main meals. the soup and puddings are lovely. Morning coffee coupled with the views from the restaurant make a nice start to the day. We went for a rest and thats what we got. we had 2 balconies and lovely quiet room. the weather could of been better but hey we had FUN. The evening entertainment made us laugh (steve Irwin reptile show espeacially) Best place for luch CALIPTO opposite hotspot at top of road brill lovely toasties and cheap sagres beer. We never came across one rude or unhelpful member of staff at the hotel. All in all it was cheap and there is no way could we have got this holiday for price in UK hotel and we had flights and transfers included. Hope all this helps ..I will be contacting gordon ramsey to go sort the main meals out cos the soup/rolls and puddings are lovely. I ate salad and chips most evenings. They need a little help with the main courses (gravy would be nice) but dont be put off IF THE PRICE IS RIGHT and give the all inclusive a miss.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

This hotel is also listed in Trip Advisor as Aparthotel Auramar - it's the same place!
We stayed here on an all inclusive basis for a week in February 2010, during a week of dreadful weather. We booked through Flightline Holidays.
This large hotel is situated on a bit of a cliff headland with splendid views to old Albufeira to the right and across to Villamoura on the left, giving great sunrises, and, sunsets.
Being on a cliff it is a lot of steps down to any beach, and to get to the nearest, and best beach is across gravel scrubland before you get to the steps - it does require a good deal of agility.
It is possible to walk to old Albufeira along the beach at low tide. It's a long walk along the road - there are public Giro buses (1.1 Euro each way) or the three times a day hotel bus.
The hotel is fairly close to New Albufeira and 'the strip' if that's your sort of thing. This was one of the few holidays where we felt we could have profited from a hire car.
Our room was very spacious. There were two large single beds, two wicker chairs, a table, the usual assortment of drawers and wardrobe space, and a fridge. There was a spacious bathroom with bath, loo, bidet and handbasin. There was an air-con unit in the room - which we used for heating. We had a good sized balcony overlooking the 'german pool' (as other reviewers have called it - more later) and we could see the sea through the trees.
There are two big pools, and a couple of paddling pools - we didn't use them due to the rotten weather, but they looked very clean, and we saw them being cleaned on a couple of days, despite the lack of use. One of the pools is in a compound through a gate with a code lock - there's a notice saying it was only available to guests with yellow wristbands. We had yellow wristbands, but other all inclusive guests had blue - but I don't know what made us special! So the pool is not restricted to one nationality!
The hotel does not seem to be used by any of the major British (or Irish) tour companies, but is obvioulsy well used by German and Austrian companies, and one French operator.
All the staff speak good English, and were without fault freindly and helpful.
Breakfast and Evening Dinner are in the main buffet restaurant which has great views over the sea. The food was good but not great, and had become very 'samey' toward the end of the week. There was always meat, fish, salad, and pasta in the evenings. Breakfasts were rather dull, with bacon, egg (either fried, or scrambled, never both) and, yes, chips!
Lunch was available in the pool bar, and was similar to the evening meal in different surroundings. The pool bar it has to be said, is more like a cafe than a restaurant with its plastic tables and chairs. It might be better in the sun, but it was bloomin' freezing during our stay.
There is a good choice of drinks for all-inclusive guests.
There was entertainment almost every evening in the lobby bar from 9pm. This was on three evenings by outside entertainers who put on a one hour show - dancers on two evenings and a 'reptile show' on the third (which was a lot better than it sounds!). On other eveings there was a quiz or prize bingo. The 'warm up man' was a half-decent singer with a reportoire of european soft-pop, and his keyboard.
The lobby had a rather strange smell which was a bit of putting to start with, but it was only in the lobby.
There was also a small shop selling sweets, food, gifts, clothes etc. There is a small indoor pool (with no changing facilities). There are some arcade games, mini-golf, a couple of tennis courts, internet, and a good sized car park.
The hotel is overall, looking a bit dated, but is clean, and the staff do make an effort to make sure your stay is enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auramar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auramar Beach Resort

Address: Praia dos Aveiros - Areias de S Joao, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Auramar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 287
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Auramar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auramar Beach Hotel Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Hotel Albufeira
Auramar Beach Resort Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auramar Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.