We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value Great position,Friendly staff!!!!!!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Auramar Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Auramar Beach Resort to your Saves list
Auramar Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia dos Aveiros - Areias de S Joao, Albufeira 8200, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
essex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic value Great position,Friendly staff!!!!!!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

We were really unsure after having read some of the reviews people had written!! but glad we took with a pinch of salt .We had a fantastic time ,the food choice was great and good value.We were fully inc. Would really recommend this as its quite expensive otherwise.Entertainment not fantastic but ok.The beach was stunning and you can get to it via a gate that they give you the code for!!! The staff were great and the room although dated was clean.Fresh towels every day.You can eat and drink to your hearts content and believe me we English can really pack it away!!!!The one thing I will gripe about is the fact that everyone walks about in the lunch hall semi dressed (which is not pleasant .when you see some of the larger people squeezed in last years holiday clothes)How do I know they are last years ?because theres far more out than in!!Over all it was our first time in Portugal and definately NOT our last .If you want a quiet holiday ,this is for you ,but I wouldnt want to go high season because its supposed to be HEAVING.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    663
    456
    225
    156
See reviews for
321
843
44
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenock, Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

Never having been abroad before, my wife and I went here for our 25th anniversary. We had to wait for our room to be prepared but that wasn't a gripe. We were greeted by a girl on reception who had had an argument on the phone with someone and wasn't exactly oozing friendliness to us. I just put it down to a bad mood so let it go. The apartment was roomy and the view stunning. I spent a lot of time on the balcony enjoying this. We could see the Algarve beach right over to Faro and over the Atlantic.
The maid was friendly and brought us a bottle of champagne, which was a nice touch. Food wasn't of a great variety but there was plenty of it and, being all inclusive, we didn't have to scrimp on a food and drink budget. The evening entertainment was average at best but a bit poor. The magician on our last night was diabolical. He'd have been lynched at a kids party!
The waitresses in the restaurant were friendly and helpful but the bar staff really need to learn from this. I felt that the all inclusive members were looked down on and the staff were quite surly. I watched them being friendly to the guests paying for drinks. Another gripe is the room service. Not the quality or friendliness of the staff but the fact that they knock or ring the bell, then just walk in! As you can imagine, this caused EXTREME embarrassment to us (I won't go into details but it WAS a romantic holiday!). We learnt very quickly to put the chain on the door but eventually laughed it off. The maid never looked at us the same way again though!
On the whole, this holiday was the most relaxed we have ever been, the area is beautiful and we made the atmosphere what we wanted it to be. There are excursions from the hotel (just book and pay at reception) and was well worth the money.
Have to say though, we appreciated the cost of living back home as the shopping in the Algarve cost us a fortune for not much in the way of goods. Still, I'd go back as soon as I could!
Sounds like a lot of negatives but, in reality, the positives far outweighed these. A holiday is what you make it.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2009

Read previous reviews and could have shot myself for not believing in what had been written.
Our room was lovely and had a sea view with two balconies- one of which was huge 16' x 33'.
The pool was fantastic as was the beach.
Well that's the good points- the food was diabolical - we were all inclusive and ate out 3 nights out of 7, If I had my way would have eaten out all the time- The food was repetitive, burgers and hotdogs and as was written before- chips for breakfast. The meats were all over cooked and the vegetables were horrible. Tuna all the time.(where was all the lovely fresh fish- we kept hearing about from Portugal?)

The desserts were a complete let down- dry cakes, instant whip/mousse and ice cream.

Whatever was left over seemed to appear for lunch time along with burgers and hotdogs- have been told the 10 pm snacks were also, yes burgers and hotdogs.

The staff fell into two categories, either very nice and friendly or down right rude - nothing in between.

Our room was kept clean by the cleaning staff- but even Kim and Aggie would have curled their toes up and died looking at the bathroom- there was no way it could be revived!

The entertainment was also really bad- one night was a quiz, another bingo, one night the children were really excited because there was to be a reptile show- a lady turned up with a lizard, a snake and a tortoise, then offered to have photos taken with the children-the children obviously rushed over for their photos - then we were hit with 10 euros for the picture!

Last night was the Brazil Show- a handful of dancers- turned up late- and every time they danced the sound system broke up (this was all the time not just this show)
After 30 mins they were gone, and the entertainment was left to the guests!
Only got back tonight- would not go back to this hotel again.
Shame because the area was lovely = so perhaps I will research and take in what I read on trip advisor in the future.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2009

we arrived in the auramar 14th oct for one week ,just me and the wife ,wasnt sure what to expect, having read some negative reviews on here , we found that they were all unfounded , some people complain bout the slightest thing!! the staff were nothing short of amazing ,very friendly and helpful, room we had was excellent ,spotless and cleaned every day without exception,entertainment was quite good ,even met some very nice germans, overall the food was excellent with all tastes catered for,all in all a fab place definately going to return
cliff and debbie ]wirral]

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2009

Try the Koala Garden restaurant!! In fact try as many cafes and restaurants/bars as you can. Great food everywhere...Not that cheap but you can find some bargain places in the Old Town down back streets. We definitely recommend this for all sorts of traveller.
As for the hotel, it had all the basics you need to a reasonable standard, what can you expect for the price? Overall an excellent holiday and nice hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

Arrived back yesterday from here.... and was pleasantly surprised. The hotel staff were very polite and friendly especially our housekeeper Valentina. Nothing was too much trouble for her.
Pool area was fantastic and was well used all day until the sun went down but some of the sun loungers do need updating because they are looking a little threadbare. As with the majority of hotels I have stayed in the Germans (and there are plenty who use the Auramar) are down very early reserving their sunloungers with a towel, even though the hotel says that no one is supposedly allowed to do this. They do need to enforce their rules especially when it is full to capacity as it was whilst we were there. Half term. The pool itself was exceptionally clean though and there is a little cafe, bar area from which you can get snacks or drinks. It is also used as another dining room though for those who have gone all inclusive. You can tell who they are because they have to wear a green bracelet. and half board wear a blue one.
I only have two gripes in all about the hotel. They knew we were two adults with a teenager and yet when we got to the room there was only two single beds. We had to go back to reception and point this out to them but to give them credit within ten minutes a camp bed had been delivered. Hardly adequate though for a very tall teenager so we had to take it in turns to sleep on it.
The other gripe was the evening entertainment.... mostly in German... and some man playing a pre-programmed keyboard (same reportoire every night!). Entertainment starts at 9.30pm and is only on for a hour.... best night was Saturday when they put some disco dancing troup on outside on the stage. They were very good and the costumes outstanding.
We went bed and breakfast. Breakfast is available 8am-10am. Its self service and you can go and get what you want. Cereals, fruit, coffee, fruit juices, yogurts, or cooked breakfast but i couldnt get past the fact that along with the bacon and eggs you could have CHIPS AND STEWED APPLE. A friend who we met there loved the breakfasts so much he regularly had double helpings!
Access to the beach is via a gate by the pool and a trip down a rickety old wooden staircase onto Alemaes beach. Stunning. So even if you couldn't get a sunlounger by the pool it was no hardship to go onto the beach. Plenty of room there.
Word of warning to those with very young children, the tide comes in with some force and knocked us all off our feet on several occasions.
Albufeira Old Town is only a 20 minute walk along the beach or the hotel lays on a complimentary bus at 10am. we never used the bus preferring the walk. The New Town is less than a ten minute walk with a variety of shops, bars and restaurant. Only problem we found with the Strip was being accosted by men pretending to sell watches then asking if we wanted "hash and Charlie".... Best places on the strip are Matt's Bar, La Bamba Ice Cream Parlour and High Tide. All the staff here in these places are just so lovely.. one even took a real shine to my son and kept giving him freebies.
There is a yellow and blue train which also will take you from the strip down to Albufeira Old Town. It costs 2.50euros. Nice experience so do try it.
Good days out include Zoomarine, Evora, and the gypsy market at Loule.
I would go back to the auramar again but only if we get what they call a family room not a squeeze you in on a campbed set up again. Well done to all the staff especially Valentina the housekeeper and Juliana on the front desk.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

We got a large room with sea view, balcony, fridge and cooking facilities. Was a bit dated, but nothing you wouldn't expect in a three star hotel. Beds were surprisingly comfortable and the room was very well cleaned. We were only B&B which was a relief as the food was OK, but you can get much better value in local places. The evening entertainment was very cringy, but we were out for meals, and drank beers on balcony to escape when we came back later on. If you are looking for cheap break, with no frills I would really recommend this place. It has stunning views, a nice pool, is on a lovely beach, and is near enough to stroll to the new town, or the strip depending on what floats your boat.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auramar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auramar Beach Resort

Address: Praia dos Aveiros - Areias de S Joao, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Auramar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 287
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Auramar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auramar Beach Hotel Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Hotel Albufeira
Auramar Beach Resort Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auramar Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.