We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel in good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auramar Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Auramar Beach Resort to your Saves list
Auramar Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia dos Aveiros - Areias de S Joao, Albufeira 8200, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Tyneside England
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“lovely hotel in good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in March 09 on a half board basis. The hotel was in a lovely location uphill from the beach and set in lovely grounds. Albufiera Old Town was a 30 minute walk along the beach or 40/5 minutes along the main road. Bar street was only a 10minute stroll from our hotel along with the shopping area. There was a bus stop at the top of the street for buses into Albufeira old town. The walk there was pleasant although you do have to climb a steep bank on the way back (not so bad when going down on the way there). The hotel was a lovely clean friendly hotel and the food was varied and plentiful. Staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was large and airy and exceptionally clean. I would recommend this hotel for families, singles but not for those with walking difficulties if they prefer a beach location as the beach is down a steep hill. Wonderful views from the restaurant of the sea and beautiful gardens.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    666
    457
    225
    158
See reviews for
322
844
44
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2009

Stayed at this hotel for a week from 3rd September.
We had a very early flight and got to the hotel at 9.30am. We were in our room by 11.30am, as they made a special effort to get it ready early.
The receptionist who greeted us was very friendly and spoke perfectly good English, as did all the reception staff. The rooms are very good with air conditioning, and were cleaned every day.
We were half board and the food was ok, but must admit did get a bit bored with it as it seemed to be the same sort of thing every day, so ended up eating out a couple of times as there are so many restaurants near by.
Excellent location, right next to the beach, bars and restaurants and took about 20 minutes to walk to the old town. If you don't fancy walking the hotel provided a free bus to take you instead.
In short, don't have a bad word to say about the hotel at all, good for 3*, and would be more than happy to go again as we enjoyed it so much.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

I have to admit i never really read reviews before this holiday and with peoples comments regarding this hotel we were slightly worried. However, i think these people are moaning for the sake of moaning as we had an amazing holiday. Yes the place has quite a few steps and it might be a bit awkward for the elderly but they have lifts available. I have a long standing ankle problem through footie and i didnt find it to taxing. Pool is great, definately gives you a wake up call when you get in, but in 30c weather its more than welcome. Nice 2 minute walk to the beach which were immaculate. Food was fantastic. Yes some people have moaned about chips on every menu but they dont force feed you!. Lasagnes, pastas, meat options, fish, vegetables, what more could you want. Reception staff were friendly and the only fault we had was with our non existant rep. Think she was on holiday to but to be honest its not as it we had any major issue. Lovely bar just outside the hotel complex. Drinks are a bit pricey but we wanted some quiet time together and it was a great place to chill out from the madness of evening entertainment lol. The Strip was ok and they are nice bars down there and we had a walk to the old town on a couple of occassions. Only 10 minute walk but they do supply a bus. Overall the holiday was amazing. Cant check in till 2pm and wasnt really aware of that and it is slightly annoying if you have been up 24+ hours. Good excuse for us to go the pub though. Top place, top people, definately going back but with the rest of the family so i can try one of the many golf courses with the girlfriends permission lol.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

I stayed at the Auramar with my family and boyfriend from 13th to 20th August and really enjoyed the whole experience.

We were all inclusive therefore spent alot of time within the hotel and its grounds and as it was such a lovely hotel we didn't mind that at all, if you are planning on going all inclusive i would recommend it. There is plenty of drinks included, food is of good quality not always alot to choose from but there was always something we could have. If you are still hungry after lunch or dinner there is a shop on site that offers a good range of snacks and drinks, alcohol and non-alcoholic.

There are two pools onsite one indoor and one outdoor me and my boyfriend went in both, the indoor pool is warm but if you just want a relaxing swim without being pestered by anyone swimming by then it is a nice pool to go in, the outdoor pool in spacious and very clean. The beach is just through a gate a couple of metres from the swimming pool and is lovely with golden sand and plenty of cliffs to shade you from the mid day sun. It is rather rocky at times but when the tide is in early in the morning it is perfect for swimming. I found that when the sea is rocky it produces good waves perfect for a rubber ring or just surving the waves.

The rooms are bright and of a good size, they are cleaned every morning and are spotless and comfortable.

The staff are friendly and willing to help, they are good at understand different languages and there is always someone at reception to help you out if need be.

On arrival a porter took us to our rooms and offered to carry our bags, this was a great help and we were in the rooms and settled in, in no time. If you are unable to check in when you get there, there is a room where bags can be stored and all inclusive bands are given out straight away so you can start you holiday as soon as possible.

I know that i didn't want to come home and wanted to stay another week, we didn't do that much but it was just so relaxing and you can do what you want in your own time without having to worry about anything.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

Had a lovely time at this hotel and enjoyed my first trip to Portugal. First impressions of the hotel when we arrived at night were not good as the room was very dated and the cot bed provided was on its last legs. But when we woke up and saw the beautiful sea view, we remembered we didn't come there to stay in the room.
The hotel is located close to both the beach and the strip and by taking a stroll down the beach you can be at the old town in 15 mins. Loved the outdoor pool but wasn't always brave enough for its cold temperature, so the indoor heated pool was always a welcome option.
Service was always very good from the staff and even though most of the entertainment was geared towards the german guests, felt that the entertainment team always tried to make it fun for the kids(my daughter even learnt a german song at the mini-disco).
This was my first all-inclusive holiday and I needn't have been worried about hating the food as I had three courses for breakfast, lunch and dinner even though I'm a fussy eater and even though fish was a recurring theme(not a fan) my mum loved it and I guess it is a healthy option.
I have stayed at some 5 and 4 star hotels that had less amentities, but with a renovation of the rooms this could easily be a 4 star. Never had to search for a free sunbed or chair by the pool!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

well where do i start! i visited albufeira with my wife and young son and i have to say the resort is really nice i would definately return just not to that HOTEL! ill start with the good bits and there isnt many to list!. we had a rear facing room which had an amazing view overlooking the sea, the pool was excellent with plenty of sunbeds and shaded areas if you didnt want direct sunlight. the room was adaquate and what you would expect from a 3* hotel. now for the bad bits and there are plenty of them! the room wasnt cleaned adaquately enough, the maid never bothered mopping the floor or the balcony just changed the sheets every other day, my sons cot was covered in stains and the mattress stank!, the drains stank, the food in the restaurant was bland, un imaginative, samey and the choice was poor (if you liked chips every day then you were fine) the hotel entertainment can only be likened to the rejects from britains got talent! the hotel was 90% german populated and you could tell it had been that way for some time as all the entertainment was geared up for them, nothing in english, can you imagine watching a very poor interpritation of the musical cats all in GERMAN! there was also phantom of the opera in german complete with a bonnie tyler song in german, quite what bonnie tyler has got to do with the phantom of the opera is beyond me! at the hotel there was a more 'upper class' area with better rooms and its own private pool which sounded great but as im not german i wasnt allowed in there, yes youve guessed it folks it was german only! not that im racist which im not, but you could tell by the atmosphere alone that the hotel was not british friendly!, the bars all shut too early (11pm) and the final insult bearing in mind we were ALL INCLUSIVE was the so called 'dancing bar' situated downstairs from the restaurant, i approached the bar and ordered a drink only to be told i had to pay for it, i explained i was ALL INCLUSIVE to which he said 'everyone has to pay down here thats the rules' which i found bizzarre as i was supposed to be all inclusive and all food and drink was included in the price. my wife and i ended up going out a few nights for meals as the food was so poor at the hotel, (theres only so much rubbery chicken and pork you can take) so the all inclusive option was not the right choice in this case as you shouldnt really expect to have to spend extra money on food and drink after youve paid the extra premium upfront on your holiday, which i also thought was overpriced in the first place! i will also be writing to thomas cook our tour operator as none of this was mentioned at the time of booking, ie hotel not english friendly as in my view this is mis sale of a product! so all in all folks if your thinking of going to albufeira by all means do it as its a lovely resort just dont stay at the hotel auramar especially if your planning on going all inclusive as you will probably eat out most nights! Mr & Mrs R sharp cheshire, england.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

Stayed here in July the room was better than expected new bath! and cleaned daily.
The hotel is in a great position by the beach and as the sunbeds were always taken the beach was the obvious choice.Definitely recommend the walk to the old town via the beach as only takes 15mins and is lovely however watch the tides.The old town is lovely lots to see and the bars are great places to people watch,The strip is ok but beware the TIMESHARE TOUTS they are positioned near the end and get you to pick a card with keys on them DO NOT waste your time on them.The hotel staff are friendly even if they don't understand English.The food is good better than some all inclusives especially the desserts! If you stay here do try the Quad bikes can be booked from the hotel they are an English couple and you get to see the real Portugal and have a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auramar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auramar Beach Resort

Address: Praia dos Aveiros - Areias de S Joao, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Auramar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 287
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Auramar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auramar Beach Hotel Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Hotel Albufeira
Auramar Beach Resort Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auramar Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.