We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Auramar Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Auramar Beach Resort to your Saves list
Auramar Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia dos Aveiros - Areias de S Joao, Albufeira 8200, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed for a short 3 day break end of Feb 14. We arrived at about 12 noon and were told that our room was not ready. No problem, we put our luggage in the secure area and went for a bite to eat and a drink in the pool snack bar. Plenty there to eat and drink.
Room and balcony very big. Fridge in the room which was very handy.
Short walk to the strip or a little longer to the Old Town. Ideal location for beach lovers.
Its not 5 star luxury but you get what you pay for.
Onsite supermarket shuts at 6 pm
All in all very good for the price.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 215 "C" block. Quite a way from the bar but huge balcony and spectacul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    663
    456
    225
    156
See reviews for
321
843
44
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

The place is set in an ideal location, next to beach, near the strip, the sound if the ocean at night. And for this alone the resort should get 5 stars. However I found the staff indifferent to everything.

ARIVAL: We got to the resort at 11am, told the room would be ready at 14pm, (the bar or restaurant was not open till 12 noon) and from there was left to languish in the resort aimlessly. Our room was not ready at 14pm we where told it would be a further 40 min, so after waiting around for 3 hours we where visibly frustrated, and unhappy at which point we where offered an alternative room.

THE ROOM: I found the room very dated, the bath itself was dirty looking with the bath enamel worn away and cracked in places. The bath matt stained and falling apart, I dare not lift the matt up to disturb myself further, so placed a bath towel on the bottom of the bath.

The sliding door between the bedroom and kitchen space did not work. The paint in the wardrobe space was chipping away and leaving my clothes covered in flaked paint.

The beds where very uncomfortable, sheets made me itch, one bed had a clear yellowish stain on the side if the mattress. The beds would have suited to single people as they easily drifted apart leaving a gap in the middle.

The kitchen had a toaster but no kettle.

The decor, light switches, lamps, air con and entire bathroom look like they had not been updated since the 1970's.

I didnt venture into the restaurant or bar area so no comment there, except from I had one drink whilst waiting which wad clearly watered down.

Would not recommend for staying for more than 2 nights, and would not recommend at all for famalies with young children

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliviger Burnley
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Good job I had friends who have visited this hotel on a number of occasions otherwise I may wrongly have taken notice of some of the reviewers about this hotel and not stayed here. Yes it is a bit tired and needs to be updated in areas but the overall impression for a 3 star all-inclusive week long break was in a word excellent. Room was large and clean, towels changed every day. Food was varied, plenty of choice and was always hot, no complaints at all there, dining room very pleasant with views over the sea, pool bar more than adequate to have full lunch or snack. Every member of staff myself and my friends had dealings with were extremely pleasant and efficient. Would definitely go back but perhaps when it has warmed up a bit!!

Room Tip: I had room D221, this overlooked the crazy golf and the sea. Small balcony but had table and 2 chair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

just back from a 4 day bargain all inclusive break we paid £300 for flight transfer and hotel
GOOD POINTS
a huge room with a wonderful sea view breath taking seeing sun rise and set every day
had kettle,fridge,cooker hob,pots and pans ETC all not needed.
food was actually very good had all you need for breakfast,lunch was in pool bar not bad
dinner was lovely a fair choice had roast beef,pork,chicken pastas rice salad chips
and the afters were lovely nice cakes and puddings
close to the strip about 12 min walk
staff friendly didnt have any issues with them
very clean hotel
BAD POINTS
a bit smelly in reception when it rained due to drainage problem
a long walk to old town good 40 mins along road shorter along beach but hard going
walking on sand
very dated needs a good refit to bring it up to date
wifi only in reception where the bar was closed at all times so you had to walk a long way to get a drink !!
loads of stairs everywhere
dancing bar was not very nice horrible green chairs like butlins !!
also nothing to do with hotel but the whole of Albufeira had a lot of graffiti not nice to see in a lovely town
i will go back but try a diffrent resort all in all a good break

Room Tip: ask for a sea view on top floor lovely listening to the sea when your in bed we were in block c 314
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We came back from the hotel couple of days ago. The reception staff very polite, at first. Room dark and quite scary. As a couple we had two single beds which we had to pull down together and they were moving apart at night, very uncomfortable in general, did not look clean. Good point that they have few channels in different languages on the TV. The food in the restaurant not the best, not much choice, very repetitive. The staff very rude and you can feel like the intruder when asking for something to drink. On breakfast we saw a bug walking all over the biscuits that they have served, disgusting. Lunch served in other part of the hotel, you need to look for it and walk long way from the lobby. If you wish to get a snack it is nowhere to be found. Not much choice of drinks for all inclusive guests. The entertainment very poor, nothing happening. No kids time, not much music, just one guy playing his little piano for half an hour. The shows (if there are any) starting late. At the entrance you are asked for 10 euro deposit for key ( be prepared to take cash as they do not want to accept card payment) Had been charged nearly 5 euros for using the room phone, (to call locally to confirm the transfer) for less than a minute. Nothing to do unless you go out to the beach or town. Very boring place. Never ever would go back there again. Terrible experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Firstly I leave informative reviews on every hotel we visit and believe they are to be trusted based soley on my visit. I have just returned today from this fabulous hotel in the best location for Albufeira.
The hotel is old, it was built in 1970s and apart from the rooms being modernised and outside work the rest of the hotel is every bit as it was when it was built and to be honest has some lovely charm as they keep it all in very good order.
The smell in reception that people refer to is there, it is a cheesy smell but believe it comes from the mix of the indoor pool and the restaurant being just below.
I hate people moaning about no food choice, not once did we feel there was a lack of choice, of course there were the chips morning, noon and night but they had to keep replinishing them as people obviously liked them, burgers were there as well but were pretty tasty. The choice of meat and fish was different every day, the salad choice was vast and fresh, the desert tray was compact but all tasty and the soup and local bread was yummy!!!.
The waiter serving us had the same drinks out each night ready for us. All in all we were very impressed. Breakfast was the same quality, bacon and fried eggs one day then sausage and scrambled eggs the next along with all the usual stuff. You are also allocated a table when you arrive and that is yours for your whole stay, no struggling to find somewhere.
The All inclusive bar service was very good, you could get as many drinks as you wished at a time, the staff were all very friendly and served large measures, the Baileys was very good as was the beer, coffee liquor and tea.
The rooms were very large, we all booked with Travel Republic and booked 3 bedded rooms even though there were only 2 to a room, this way we got larger corner rooms and mine even had 2 balconies. You need to be on the 3rd floor or above for a view which is superb.
The walk into Albufeira takes 40 mins on the beach but it is tiring, the free hotel bus very good and drops you at the top of the old town, a great place to be dropped off and a taxi is 7 euros each way.
The indoor pool was clean and had non of the "Scum" some have refered to, it was cloudy due to salt water and chlorine but was as hot as bath water.
There are loads of steps, but dont moan about them, you know before you go that they are there, if you prefer in steps stay somewhere else.
Overall we were very impressed with all areas of the hotel, it lost its fourth star because it needs modernising but it still operates to a 4 star standard, the staff are friendly in all areas, all it takes is a hello and a smile and it goes a long way.
Finally book transfers with Yellowfish, they are very efficient and helpful. The best block is A without a doubt, 3rd floor or above. Any questions just ask.

Room Tip: Book room : A332, A423 or A506 for huge rooms!!! Book all inclusive for superb value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontevedra, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I was here 3 night's with my son , they were the last 3 of a 20 days stay at 6 different hotels and locations over the coastal area of Algarve , a kind of experiment using travel agents and tripadvisor . I most say you can find all in the comments already available in the very useful tripadvisers meanings .
I would not choose this hotel again, and found it a pity that it was the last on our adventure of hotel testing, since it was the worst, it was the cheapest of all too, we paid 15 € a night the 2 of us,(only room) but we had other hotels for similar prices the most expensive to be 23€ but a huge difference, than the average 20€(night for 2) are very plenty around Algarve , so for the cheapness I would rather pay those 5€ of difference . I didn't like the rooms, they feel very used, the view was always with a block of the complex in between the sea and your balcony with a wall avoiding your left neighbors room but not your right neighbors room , better no blocking wall at all to have more view... the reception women where shurely overworked , the same poor girl was there always , and so she seemed a robot , not very kind, nor helpful in extra demands ...
Now I most say, it still was an experience worth it, my son enjoyed the games and activity's they offer for free, and the evening's with life music and performances , and very happy elder people dancing and singing karaoke, lovely old couples enjoying their vacation ...also kids were very free and entertained . We had never seen that somewhere else ... although I guess all those kind of complexes are offering something similar ... for us it was new ,and yet enough...

Room Tip: I really wished I would have got this tip , I only would go back if they gave me a room in block B t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Auramar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auramar Beach Resort

Address: Praia dos Aveiros - Areias de S Joao, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Auramar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 287
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Auramar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auramar Beach Hotel Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Hotel Albufeira
Auramar Beach Resort Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auramar Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.