We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Auramar Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Auramar Beach Resort to your Saves list
Auramar Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia dos Aveiros - Areias de S Joao, Albufeira 8200, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice place but!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

Although the hotel is nice enough be prepared for a precarious trip down to the beach its only 20 metres from hotel but down a very steep path which has partly washed away. We went all inclusive food was okay if you like the same thing every day!! The beds were very hard and moved every time you sat on them. Entertainment was not very entertaining unless your 60!!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    664
    456
    225
    157
See reviews for
321
844
44
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

My boyfriend and I and our friends went for a 4 day break to the Auramar we booked cheap flights with JET2.COM only 59 euro’s per person return from Leeds.We googled a cheap Airport transfer yellowfish transfers , com only 60 euro return for 4 of us with a bottle of wine included free. They were waiting for us at the Airport with our name on a plaque like in movies.Auramar itself was ok not great old an a bit shabby but for 35 euro’s per night all inclusive for 2 people cant really complain. And the location was fantastic on the beach an near the bars and restaurant. The weather was fantastic for November really warm. Actually came home with a suntan.
Although the hotel wasn’t great we had a great time for a short budget break.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

my husband and i returned home yesterday.after a week AI at the auramar.it was a lovley hotel .we stayed AI and could,nt fault the place ,the staff were always very pleasant and helpful.after reading some of the reviews we were slightly worried about the food .but we need,nt have been .there were plenty of choice. usually 2 types of fish .meat .lovley salad,plenty of veg .and i cant understand why people say there was no choice.the rooms were clean and larger than i thought they would be.bedding changed every other day ,fresh towels every day.there are a lot of steps around the hotel but saying that there were plenty of lifts.the pool is gorgous and the beach stunning.15 min walk to the town along the beach.but if you go AI there is a free bus 3 times a day.we will definatly be returning.and the weather was great sunny and about 16/18.with a breeze.so take a cardigan for evenings.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

First of all dont listen to the bad reviews it really isnt that bad.
The hotel is in a lovely location right on the cliff side with a path down to the beach, which is really nice to look out to when the sun sets. Me and my boyfriend went all inclusive and it was ok we liked everything we tried from chicken curry to roast dinners. Breakfast was the same everyday.. full english, cereals, breads and fruit ( i wish they had croisants) Lunch you had mainly chips and burgers, fish and chicken with salad and the biggest slices of cake i had ever seen and Dinner was variable with things such as spag bol, chicken and chips or chops.I would imagine fussy children would eat quite happily and it was nice that the waiters came and asked what you would like to drink rather than have a self service for a change.

Being 19 and 20 we did feel like the youngest there as like recent reviews there were lots of retired people but that didnt bother us and i guess that it was because its low season and at the end of the day we were all there for the same reason. Although this did surprise me as there were a few flights of stairs to get down.

Alot of people mention the musky smell this is due to the cleaning products as first thing in the morning the cleaners mop the reception area with a strong smelling bleach thats all.

The staff are friendly and will help you with any querys and trips they have, which we found out they are cheaper if you buy from the ticket shop at the top of the road.

The only downside to this hotel is the entertainment as near enough every night was a man on a keyboard but i guess this is again down to low season.

All in all i think this hotel is good value for money as it has everything near it and also a courtesy bus to the old town i think people need to remember if they want 5 star quality they are going to have to pay 5 star price.

I would happily go back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

just got back from a short break at the auramar, have to say the smell in the reception does exist, but not enough to spoil our holiday as we never spent a great deal of time in the lobby area.the rooms are quite basic but very clean the hotels is situated in a great location for walking either to the strip or the old town, just remember to check the tide! the staff were friendly enough and the pool area was lovely. was our first time in portugal thoroughly enjoyed it, we would go back and also would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

Got back yesterday from a lovely holiday in Albufeira. Me and my Boyfriend are between 21-25 and upon arriving at the hotel i was very satisfied with the look- we basically are happy with a room for the night, and this hotel i thought looked lovely for what we paid! I must admit, on arrival it felt like an old peoples home and they were mid-playing bingo but there were a few odd younger couples, and in my opionion it was nice seeing the 'older' generation having a good time-plus it wasnt our intention to stay in every night anyway!

Reception staff were nice and helpful- they made a few jokes which made us laugh so we were happy. We had help with out bags to our room, which as we were ALL INCLUSIVE and arrived late we had sandwiches and fruit and some juice left for us.
The hotel room is basic, but thats all we needed, we were only sleeping in it, who goes on holiday and stays in the room the whole time anyway? It was clean, and the beds were made and towels replaced everyday.

The food- well, this is probbaly the only part of the the hotel we were dissapointed about. We did go all inclusive, but we really did pay such a low price, so i guess the food wouldnt exactly be 'al a carte' or anything. I am a very fussy eater, but my bf isnt, but he didnt like it really either. Breakfast was fine, full english, cerials, juice and fruit so you had a good selection. Lunch as the pool side bar was horrible though :(.. there is CHIPS with EVERYTHING, stew, and spag bol everyday and fish, and that was about it- if your a veggie, its literally tomoato suace from a can with pasta shells.- BUT they did have salads, freash fruit hams and cheese so a sarnie was fine. Dinner was pretty much the same as lunch, so we only ate it once. The bar at night doesnt serve any snacks, so you cant get a bag of crisps or a packet of peanuts if your a it peckish.

I must say, for the money we paid, we DEFNATELY drank our moneys worth at the bar, so we werent disappointed as the cocktails and beers flowed.
I also found, it wasnt that cheap to eat out. We found a nice chinese though thatb did a main meal for 3 euros 50! which was brill... but we ordered a cheeseburger once from a local food place and it cost 4.50 which i thought was really expensive- and it didnt come with anything. The strip and old town are good though and you can find good food deals out and about.

Back to the hotel, there are LOTS of stairs, and to be honest, i dont know how the old people did it-but good for them! the outside pools were freezing, even on the hot days because they werent heated, but there was an indoors heated pool which was lovely.

The views are spectacular, eating brekkie with the sun shining in and wathcing the ocean, or taking a walk along the rocks and looking into little caves. You can walk down the steps and then its only a 10/15 min leisurely stroll to the old town.

We had lovely weather, and went on a 4 hour quad biking tour, and dream wave boa trip and saw dolphins- Brilliant.

And with the old people it wasnt all that bad, me and my fella sat playing UNO 1 night, and there was an old boy on his own from Holland who joined in and we taught him how to play- was quite sweet really.
There was also a music quiz- that didnt go as well as planned as the cd's were mucking up, but me and my fella won anyway and got a bottle of bubbly woo!

Overally, we were very satisfied with the stay apart from the food, but at the end of the day, if we hadnt of gone all inc we would have spent more on drinks and then have to get food as well! -and we did eat breakfast everyday which saved money!!

I recommend this hotel to anyone, although if your a fussy eater, or not very strong stomached, i wouldnt recommend eating in the out of season periods- although as stated, if you like your drink, then its proably worth going all inc anyway!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guildford
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

we have just arrived back after a 4 day break for hubbys birthday,thank god it was only 4 days,we love portugal but this hotel must be the worst we have stayed in,on arrival it looked grand then we walked into reception which is also the bar and lounge area,and it smelled like a dog kennels we were then given a room which was what seemed like an eternity away in another block up and down stairs we needed a sat nav to find our room !!!the rooms are dismal and badly need updating we were bed and breakfast but after first morning decided to give it a miss.reception staff were friendly but thats as good as it gets also i thought id walked into a retirement home and seemed to be the youngest there at 54 yrs old!!!!!im very disappointed as this was a surprise for hubby and with thousands of places to choose from i chose badly ,yes its cheap but so are many more places and this is definetly the worst !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Auramar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auramar Beach Resort

Address: Praia dos Aveiros - Areias de S Joao, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Auramar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 287
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Auramar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auramar Beach Hotel Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Hotel Albufeira
Auramar Beach Resort Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auramar Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.