We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good, not 5 star.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Cliffs Suites Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pine Cliffs Suites Residence to your Saves list
Pine Cliffs Suites Residence
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia da Falesia | PO Box 644, Albufeira 8200-909, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Consistently good, not 5 star.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We have just returned from our 5th family holiday at this resort - which I guess means we think it is quite good! It really is a fantastic location, a wonderful feeling of space - the resort is huge and exceptionally well laid out - it feels like the natural landscape rather than a resort. The planting and flowers are stunning, everywhere, which makes it feel quite tropical. We stay in the Residence suites - really very high standard of accommodation, and doesn't seem to have aged in the 6 years we have been going. In previous years we have felt the food was good, but not great in the restaurants, but this year we stumbled upon a wonderful surprise - lunch!! We decided to eat out at lunch, in the O Grill, and cook dinner in our very well equipped apartment (great supermarket just outside hotel gates). Lunch was absolutely fabulous every day, the highlight of our holiday.
Pine Cliffs looses one star for me for 3 reasons.
1. The beach. What used to be a beautiful beach has now been completely ruined by some weird man-made building up of the sand - really ugly, really impractical.
2. I think it's supposed to be 5 star - but really in terms of service - no way. When you arrive there is not even a bottle of water in your apartment, and as for asking for a late check out, forget it. We asked for a late check out,we were fobbed off for 3 days of asking and then refused one. Given that we are regular customers I thought this was pretty poor. And housekeeping is only once daily - for us at 9.30am. When we were still having breakfast and asked for another half hour, they didn't clean the room till 5pm.
3. They really MUST do something about weird competitive guests putting towels on the pool loungers to reserve them and then leaving for most of the day - very unfair for the more reasonable guests. A continuing problem they have not addressed.
Apart from these issues I would highly recommend this resort, especially for families, it is really a very beautiful place and we will look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Suites Residence, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are grateful for your recommendation and we are very happy to learn that you will come back next year. Thank you very much for your loyalty, it is very rewarding.

Let us also thank you very much for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor. As we always strive to improve the services we provide, your feedback is highly appreciated.
We do regret to learn that we could not meet your expectations due to the three reasons you have detailed and we would like to offer you our sincerest apologies for any shortcomings you have encountered.

Please be assured that your remarks were promptly shared with our Management Team for their consideration and right actions.

We look forward to welcome you back next year.

Warm regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    47
    12
    2
    7
See reviews for
71
37
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

A top 5 star luxury hotel complex on the beach. About 10 minutes drive into Albufeira.
Everything you and / or the family could wish for on a summer holiday. Boasting 5 swimming pools, and many different restaurants, games and sports, archery, shooting, football......et al. But you can read all this in their brochure.

The service and staff are quite exceptional and make everyone feel at home. The ambience is great , late night bars, fine dining, fun times. The extensive soft sandy beach is made easily accesable by a lift which whisks you down 200/300 feet high cliffs to a sea front bar and restaurant. Top marks if you want a totally pampered top luxury holiday.

Room Tip: The hotel is air conditioned, of course, but the best rooms face east. Wake up to coffee on the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Suites Residence, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like thank you for sharing your kind comments following your visit to our property on TripAdvisor.
We are glad to learn that you had a memorable and indigenous experience with us and that you have enjoyed so much the facilities such as the several pools, the lift to the beach, the beach bar and the extensive sandy beach.
We also would like to thank you for your comments regarding the professionalism of our associates that work to keep our core values.

We are looking forward to welcome you back again.

Kindly,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaxted, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Outstanding quality resort hotel. Endless choices of pools, grounds,restaurants no chance to get bored. Ok ours was a business sponsored trip but I would have gladly paid for the stay here. Great staff all round - restaurants, beach restaurant, reception, bars, special events staff, cleaners, no complaints except concierge who kept me waiting while on the phone. Endless selection at breakfast and seafood at the beach restaurant superb quality.Wonderful memories.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Suites Residence, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us at the Sheraton Algarve Hotel and for the time taken to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that you had a great time here on our property and as a team of Luxury Collection ambassadors we are very happy to learn that we have provided a service as per our core values. Thank you so much for your compliments on our associates. We are very happy to learn we were able to provide an indigenous and exceptional experience. We do regret to learn that you were kept waiting on the phone and we would like to apologize for that situation.

We look forward to the next pleasant opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Just back from a 4 day trip to this beautiful resort. Immaculate in appearance with the friendliest and attentive staff. The food in all the onsite restaurants was just as beautiful but my God it was expensive. 320 Euros for meal for 4....ouch

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Suites Residence, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the time taken to share your experience at Pine Cliffs Resort on TripAdvisor.

We want to thank you for your words on our Resort as well as on our associates and restaurants. Your comments are highly appreciated.

Your feedback had been shared with our Management Team and we look forward to the next pleasant opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindly,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Just got back from a work trip, this is an excellent resort for both a family holiday or a business conference. The staff and service are very good, could do with more people on reception at busy times. The rooms are clean and the beds comfortable, TV is a bit basic but hey you don't come here to watch TV. There's a good heated pool as well as a few others, more sun shades would be an advantage but there are plenty of beds. The beach is excellent with a few places to eat and drink, it's well worth a cab into Albufeira as there's a good beach there and lots of tourist shops and restaurants. I'm not a golfer but the course looked very well kept. There's plenty for everyone to do, it's not cheap €4 for a can of coke and €5.50 for a bottle of water, €36 for a double whiskey, but at least that makes it a peaceful resort.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Suites Residence, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted that you have enjoyed your work trip, specially the experiences at our resort.
We are very pleased that you felt comfortable and you liked the facilities and the beach. Thank you very much for your compliments on our associates.

We look forward to welcome you back on your next work trip or family holidays.

Best Regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel is a wonderful resort with friendly, attentive staff especially Lucia at breakfast (always bright and bubbly) and Reuben and Daniel in the bar. There are plenty of pools and the garden area is beautiful under the tall pines. All areas have good soft sun beds. Only complaint would be, they could do with more parasols. The gym area is well equipped and the indoor pool is relatively quiet with sauna and jacuzzi - remember a swimming hat if you wish to use this pool. Both my husband and I had back tension relief massages in the beauty salon- absolutely excellent. Salon prices are reasonable and there is a good variety of treatments. Just outside hotel ground there are the Brothers bar and restaurant - very good value with good menu..tYes I would recommend this hotel!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a south facing balcony overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Suites Residence, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Your recommendation on TripAdvisor is much valued and we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
We are happy to learn the facilities offered, along with the associate’s friendliness and helpfulness made this stay with us the most enjoyable for you and your husband and the massages booked at Experience Wellness provide you unique relaxation moments.
We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you soon.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Ive been there by 10 years and it was amazing.
The pools are very good, and the best of the hotel are the restaurants.
For the kids they have the junior club,the game saloon and a they have a rent a bike.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Suites Residence, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you from all of us for taking the time to share your feelings.
We are happy to acknowledge how much you have enjoyed your stay with us and we highly appreciate your comments. Thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with the Resort Restaurants.

We look forward to your next visit

Best regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pine Cliffs Suites Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Cliffs Suites Residence

Address: Praia da Falesia | PO Box 644, Albufeira 8200-909, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#11 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pine Cliffs Suites Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 181
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pine Cliffs Suites Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Pine Cliffs Vacation Club Hotel Albufeira
Sheraton Albufeira
Albufeira Sheraton
Pine Cliffs Suites Residence Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pine Cliffs Suites Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.