We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, food OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Doce Jardim

Doce Jardim
Largo Eng0 Duarte Pacheco, Albufeira, Portugal
+351 289 513 832
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #360 of 577 Restaurants in Albufeira
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Timperley, Cheshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great staff, food OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My wife & I visited this restaurant last night.

We choose the restaurant on the basis the staff trying to get you in weren't anywhere near as creepy or annoying as many of the other restaurants in this area.

The staff:

Really helpful & polite. When we sent some food back, they where understanding and quick to reissue!

The food:

It was OK... However my wife had a chicken kebab which on the first attempt was cold in the middle. As she's pregnant I called the waiter over, explained our concerns & in fairness sorted it out as quick as the could! It was lovely when it came back... I had the Steak & Pepper sauce which was a little sickly by 3/4 through.,..

The location:

The old town square was a little disappointing to be honest... All the restaurants were pretty much the same... I think we'll try harder to find some top rated restaurants... The atmosphere was OK... But I guess it's the start of the holiday season and his may improve.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    34
    21
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, Wales, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
381 reviews 381 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 188 cities Reviews in 188 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“Well presented meals”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

All the restaurants around the square in Albufeira are more expensive than other establishments in the area, this restaurant even more so. As a vegetarian my choice was a bit limited and the mushroom omlette I chose was a little over cooked. But it was a sunny day and the service was reasonable - so it was all very acceptable

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great spot to watch the world go by.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Very good service cold drinks cold and hot drinks hot and well presented and tasty food. Great location in the square and UK papers and post office a few steps around the corner. Write your postcards or read your paper while you enjoy the sunshine

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Lamb chops ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Great location on the square. Husband had the lamb chops (see above!). I wanted something light so went for the Tuna salad which was beautifully presented and surprisingly filling. The Rock Cafe is next door and has a live band every night-the two nights we went the music was great. Our lovely waiter (Andy from Scotland) was doing a horse out of a job - after finishing his shift at the restaurant started another at the Rock Cafe!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fabulous Monk fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This was one our fav restaurant in Old Town Albufeira, its situated in the main square. The food is very good especially the Monk Fish kebabs. The staff are very friendly and the service is excellent it is a bit more expensive than some of the restaurants near by but the quality of the food is so much better. It will be the first restuarant we visit when we go back next year.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doce Jardim also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to Doce Jardim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doce Jardim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.