We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good family hotel - a bit too Expensive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Algarve Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Algarve Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Algarve Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia Da Felesia, Apartado P.O. Box 644, Albufeira 8200-909, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ski Municipality, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very good family hotel - a bit too Expensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Very good service from excellent staff. The staff did all they could to provide my family ( kids 7-11-12 years) with super and friendly service. Rooms, Scenery, location, food - very good. The price is too high. will come back one day :) thx.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Algarve Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor and thank you for staying with us and letting us spoil you.

Your kind words on our associates show us that we were able to keep our core values. We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed so much the location, the setting and the rooms.

We hope to welcome you back to experience some more indigenous and unique experiences.

Warm Regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    207
    76
    36
    18
See reviews for
300
317
18
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Would have expected a higher standard in this price range. The first apartment we got was out dated and wear was dominating the impression. For an extra charge of 25 Euros a night we got a much better apartment.Stay clear of the apartment by the gate, ask for some of the apartment close to the reception area, or go for the more pricy ones in the newer functionalist housing area.

Great park and pool areas. A must try is the sun set bar by the cliffs.

Room Tip: Stay clear of the apartment by the gate, ask for some of the apartment close to the reception area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Algarve Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor. We do regret to learn that we were not able to exceed your best expectations. Your remarks are very important to us and were promptly shared with the Management Team for their consideration.

Once again please accept our sincere apologies and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again here at our property.

Best Regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisbon
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This is truly a great hotel with perfect location on a cliff above the beach, teh setting is just magnificent. You can walk to the beach or stay by the 2 swimming pools. The atmosphere is relaxing and the staff very friendly. Just park the car and stay there.

Room Tip: If you can afford get a seaview room
See more room tips
Green Features: My onçy negative remnarks regards the lack of sand on the beach that should be properly addressed
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Algarve Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad to know that you enjoyed the stay at Sheraton Algarve Hotel and we would like thank you for posting your kind words on TripAdvisor regarding our magnificent setting.

We are very happy with the compliments on our associates friendliness and we are glad to learn that you could relax. We appreciate your kind words and we would like to explain you that our beach suffered the effects of a big storm that took the sand away. We have tried to fix our beach and we did the best we could as we are under the laws of the maritime authority. We understand your remark and we appreciate and promptly shared with our Management Team for their consideration.

Thank you so much and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Best Wishes,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow<Scotland
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This hotel is what it says on the label FIVE STAR. This was the forst time myself and my wife had stayed at this hotel and we were not let down by its appearance, cleanliness, friendliness of staff and the rooms etc. We loved it from the moment we arrived. The reception staff were very friendly and very helpful.As were the other staff. Nothing was a bother for them and this got us off to a great start. We got a room that overlooked the garden It was a fabulous room big and spacious. The only down was there were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room. This would have been even better and something the hotel should take into consideration. The grounds and pools were wonderful as was the views over the cliff tops to the Atlantic. The beach was also well laid out they even had staff to take you to a vacant bed. The only thing was the wind was a bit blowey and sand got everywhere but no matter wonderful experience. The beds in the grounds were softer and more comfortable. The Breakfast was well worth the money spent. We were not so enthralled about the dinner buffet and felt that it was a bit pricey for what you got. We found an italian retaraunt just outside the hotel which served wonderful pizza and italian meals that did not cost the earth. But that was just down to personal taste. It is a hotel I could very easily return to and be very happy. Well done the staff.....

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Algarve Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled with your review and we would like to thank you for posting your experience on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for your compliments on our associates and for your 5 star rating. It is very important to receive such a great review as it motivates us to keep work on our core values and show us our guest`s recognition. Thank you once again for your kindliness.

Regarding your remarks about the coffee maker we do not provide in the rooms indeed but we have a room service that can provide you under request. However we highly value your remarks and promptly shared with the Management Team for their consideration.

We look forward to welcome you back on our property where you can live indigenous and unique experiences.

Kindly,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We were on a Portugal trip with my girlfriend and stayed (or actually still staying as it us our last day) in this hotel for 10 days. We had a great room - quite spacious, perfect bed, nice bathroom. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms and the whole territory are very clean. Great breakfast with a great choice of delicious local products (try orange jam - it's to die for, we bought three cans!). The location is enormous - beautiful pines on orange cliffs. On the first day I wrote to my friends that we've found the paradise... However, nothing is perfect in this world. We found three problems of this almost perfect hotel:
1. Extremely overpriced bars and restaurants!!! A beer for EUR 7 at the beach bar?! Come on guys!!! What's wrong?! I mean people do buy it, but everyone is disappointed with the pricing! First evening we had a dinner at Piri-Piri steakhouse. One salad to share, two steaks (the meat was nice but definitely overcooked) and a bottle of wine for EUR 140?!?! Hm... Work on pricing! Please!
2. Internet!!!!! I do expect that when I pay almost EUR 350 per night with bed and breakfast there should be free wi-fi in the room... But no! It costs... tadaaaa.... EUR 18 per day for three devices with such a low speed that you can die before you watch a video!!!! Guys! I pay that much per month at home and have a really high-speed connection!!!
3. Annoying room service!!! We we're lying in bed (not sleeping if you know what I mean) at 8.45 p.m. suddenly someone knocked on the door. I said "one minute", but the door was already open and the room service lady offered me a chocolate!!! :))))) At 8.45 p.m. Thank but NO!!!!! :)))

Apart of these we did have a great vacation and would like to return to these marvelous place and great people! Thank you very much!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Algarve Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are glad to read your kind compliments on the hotel rooms, friendliness of associates as well as on our property. However we do regret to learn about the room service situation and we would like to express our sincere apologies for the problem you went through. Your remarks were worth of our best attention and promptly shared with the Management Team for their consideration.

We are glad to know that you will be back when you have opportunity and we look forward to it.

Warm Regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We drove down for 3 hours to Algarve from Lisbon and were not expecting such a beautiful resort awaiting us on our arrival. We spent a total of 2 days here in Algarve, our first day we spent lounging at the resort and all its amenities -from the many pools to the beautiful beach via the resort's elevator (beachside margaritas are delicious). Before dinner, we also had a few glasses of champagne at the resort's champagne bar as we watched the sunset. Our second day, we spent the day exploring Algarve and its surrounding towns, from Sagres to Luz, the Sheraton Algarve is the perfect place to call home base after a day exploring the many different facets of Portugal's southern coastline.

Room Tip: Look for a room with a beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Algarve Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled with the outstanding comments you have posted about your experience at Pine Cliffs Resort. We are very happy to read that our core values were able to exceed your best expectations and we could offer you a piece of paradise. It is very rewarding to read you calling the Sheraton Algarve Hotel as “a perfect place to call home”.

Thank you so much for the kind words you used to describe our property and our service.

We look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Portugal.

Sincerely Yours,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The grounds were huge and fantastic. The cave and portion they owned on the beach were definitely the best of the whole beach. The beach restaurant was superb - that was the fist thing we did when we arrived and we felt like we were in paradise.

What was surprising to me was at fist they put us in a room where the air conditioner didn't work. The rooms are big so there is a lot of space to cool down. Also be prepared to be given things and then have it just added to your bill. We went to the Japanese restaurant on the grounds and the waitress said here are these to taste (without ordering it), and then it showed up on the bill.

They eventually fixed the air conditioner the first night and were very apologetic so turned out it wasn't that bad.

The concierge was SUPER HELFUL she was able to map everything out and gave us the ins and outs on what to do on our stay and she was right!

All in all very positive experience great place, would recommend, thanks.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Algarve Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you so much for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor.

It is very rewarding to read your recommendation and we would like to thank you for that too.

We are happy to learn that you have enjoyed the grounds, the beach, our beach restaurant and the service provided by our Concierge. However we regret to learn about the air conditioner and the misunderstanding at Yakuza restaurant and please accept our sincere apologies and be sure that your remarks were promptly shared with the Management Team for their consideration.

Once again thank you for your recommendation and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Algarve.

Kindly,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Algarve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Algarve Hotel

Address: Praia Da Felesia, Apartado P.O. Box 644, Albufeira 8200-909, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#7 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#8 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#10 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#17 Family Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Algarve Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Algarve, a Luxury Collection Hotel will commence a phased renovation process as of November 3rd 2014, which will incorporate all guests rooms, public areas, conference centre and food & beverage venues as well as an extension of seventy-eight new luxury suites, along with an Italian restaurant, state of the art Health Spa facility and underground parking, scheduled to be complete in June 2017. First phase will begin as of November 3rd 2014 and completed by late June 2015, in which the hotel with reopen for the summer season. During the closure period, we invite you to discover the Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort located within resort, offering access to available facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sheraton Algarve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Albufeira
Sheraton Algarve Hotel Albufeira, Portugal
Albufeira Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Algarve Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.