We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“December in Algarve” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Algarve Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Algarve Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sheraton Algarve Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia Da Felesia, Apartado P.O. Box 644, Albufeira 8200-909, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“December in Algarve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Stayed in golf suite at Sheraton Algarve Hotel over New Year with our 6 yr old Couldnt fault the hotel and 2 bedroom apartment Originally booked a residence one bed apartment but were asked to consider moving to Golf suite as Residence would have skeleton cover only. Negotiated 2 bed apartment at Golf Suite for same cost and weren't disappointed. Facilities in apartment excellent and loved the beautiful indoor pool which was lovely and warm. We spent several enjoyable evenings in the pool till 9pm when it closed. Algarve and hotel was very quiet over the week. We had a car and went out exploring every day. Lucky with the weather and had some lovely sunny days but overall I would say it was too quiet to entertain a 6yr old for a full week. Would highly recommend for a couple though who want a quiet break in what felt like a luxury spa hotel at a very affordable price.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations at Sheraton Algarve Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Tripadvisor.
We are pleased to know that you and your family fully enjoyed your stay in the Pine Cliffs Vacation Club at Pine Cliffs Resort.
It is great to realize that you have started the New Year with us and that all the facilities corresponded to your expectations.
We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    193
    75
    36
    18
See reviews for
284
300
15
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

The hotel is set on a cliff overlooking the Pacific ocean. It is in a gated community with a golf course, sort of country clubbish without the snobbery. The grounds are well designed and layed out. The expansive grounds between the hotel and the ocean include and adult pool with a smaller one for the rug rats. The pool bar doubles as the outdoor dining at night, which should not be missed, quite classy yet not stuffy. We ended up talking with several couples at different tables over the evening. Back to the grounds, there is a outlook deck the manager has evening cocktail parties, INCREDIBLE views at sunset. Futher along there is a large wash which allows for access down to the beach. There is a tower with an elevator for those so inclined. There is a FULL restaurant and bar on the beach along with beach chairs, umbrellas and other acoutrmont of a 5 star hotel. Food, drink and service was excellent on the beach, as was the views of the petite Portuguese women strolling and playing on the beach. Oh yes, the beaches are topless in Portugal....
Walking back from the beach at late sunset you will experience a once in a lifetime photo opportunity. The wash (Removal or erosion of soil by the action of moving water.) exposes a plethora of different colored sands, and when the multispectoral light from a setting sun strikes
this, it creates such a brief unique stunning beauty that I shall remember all the days of my life.
Back at the hotel, it appears all of the rooms are lined with azulejos uniquly desined for the hotel, magnicient! The hotel is laid out so the rooms are shaded and the passageways are facing the sun They are covered and the roofs are designed to catch the wind so there is a continual cool breeze. The service is very good though a little reserved. Would not think twice about returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Algarve Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed description of our Resort!

It is our constant aim to create unique experiences and lifetime memories for every Guest who visits us and we feel so glad that you took the time to share your feelings with us.

We are happy to know that the Resort grounds and facilities, the offer of Restaurants and bars, the Room’s appointments and the service quality contributed to an exceptional stay and your comments are highly appreciated.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We went as a family for 5 nights christmas break in December 2013. The location was difficult to find but
once there it did feel like a miaze of interesting jointed up villas and apartment set by pools, 9 hole course
and interesting walks. I enjoyed playing the golf and the christmas dinner was outstanding. The restaurant
food is good but pricey.
The whole ethos and atmosphere is laid back, even the front desk staff take their own time to check ou.
I must thank the front desk staff Paulo and Aldo for their their attentive and helpful attitude.

Room Tip: Please ask for luxury deluxe room on the top floor otherwise you will have no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Supervisor at Sheraton Algarve Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feelings on TripAdvisor, we are delighted to learn that you and your family have enjoyed the festivities, food and golf, as well as and the atmosphere of joy we try to transmit to our Guests during this special period of the year.
Your kind recognition is most appreciated by Paulo and Alda and the rest of the team.
We look forward to your next visit! Best wishes,
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

we stayed only 2nights and both wished it were alot more...

Splendor !... location is Wow, very classy and staff super friendly .. everything about our experience here was excellent... a true gem in Albufeira... and the clifftop bar view is panoramic... a must when stayng at this resort

we will defiantley return... T & A

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Algarve Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are happy to learn that you have have enjoyed your short stay and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
The natural and well kept gardens on the clifftop are stunning for a romantic getaway and idyllic to enjoy some relaxing days.

Thank you for your contribution on Tripadvisor and hope to welcome you back at pine Cliffs Resort.

Kind regards,
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Was for a special occasion but totally disappointed

For a 5 star Sheraton, avoid like the plague. This is not a 5 star property by any definition - maybe was last century
Service is absolutely terrible, Asked in the restaurant for recommendation on Portugese wine. Got told no idea but pink sparkling wine was good - not. Seafood buffet and wine was more expensive in resort than a Relais & Chateau restaurant.
Wanted to charge back dinner to the room, but was refused as someone hadn't processed credit card on check in, even though room was pre paid and they had all the details. Staff were rude and ignorant.
Was after the main tourist season, none of the 5 closet ice machines to the room worked - when asked where one that worked was, got told just had to walk around and find one.
Totally unacceptable - staff couldn't give a %$!&
Complained at the time but pointless
Hotel in need of major refurbishment
Free WiFI in lobby cannot cope, is too slow to even work and cannot cope with demand
Very expensive, overpriced tourist trap - avoid

Room Tip: Had a sea view room with a view, was good size with big balcony but dated interior
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Algarve Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We regret to learn of your experience and would welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly.

Please email us at 00199.algarveguestrelations@luxurycollection.com, so we may discuss the matter further.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This was my third stay at Pinecliffs and I am pleased to report that it is still my favourite destination
for a family holiday.Our 2 double bedroom garden apartment was spacious and of a high standard
and the location and facilities are excellent.The staff were smiling and helpful,and the complex is extremely efficient in the way that it is managed.Of course there are always small niggles,but overall I have nothing but praise to give and would not hesitate to recommend Pinecliffs to for a family holiday.My personal tip would be to rent a car,as it makes for a more varied stay,as we spent some days on/off the resort as eating lunch and dinner on the complex can be expensive (given the present exchange rate),although the quality of the food served at both the beach bar and the Corda Cafe was very acceptable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Algarve Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your continuous support and preference for our Resort.
We are happy to learn how much you have once again enjoyed your stay with us your kind words about our associates and Resort are greatly appreciated.
It is always gratifying to receive such praise and recommendation and we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback at TripAdvisor.
We look forward for another opportunity to welcome you and your family to our Resort.
Kind regards,
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
402 reviews 402 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Looking for excellence of late has been a bit like looking for the Holy Grail. So when we decided to have a big family event (our wedding!) at the Sheraton Algarve Resort it came with a gasp of air. Although the review has a lot to do with our events the style and MO about the place can be discerned for any traveler or event manager from the below.

200+ guests over 4 days and nights is no easy feat - but the Sheraton Team made it all look so easy and effortless. There was a detectable level of house training and confidence in the style. Love it.

Every part of the experience was crafted with professionalism and etiquette. From the time the guests arrived till the door staff waiving them off - it was 5 star service.

Food:
Breakfast was big and generous, worth getting up for even if you have had a late night.
Event foods and evening meals are simply top of the line and miles away from the hotel food you have had at several chain hotels everywhere else, also try the Corda Cafe if you fancy something a bit more casual.

Location:
Having just completed a tour of the Algarve I can finally put my hand on heart and say that this is it - the most picturesque resort that southern Portugal has to offer. See attached the view from the Tabu Gardens wedding Gazebo. I have never seen a resort with so many different sides and angles, pristine beaches, 5 pools, childrens play areas, sunset decks with a bar and even an Arabian style courtyard and restaurant! You could get lost in here if you liked.

Rooms:
I loved that the rooms are not over modern, I prefer the focus to be on space and comfort which these rooms have a plenty with balconies too. This is not a business hotel thank goodness but free wifi is needed for all guests to take the rooms to perfect. Cleanliness and sleep quality are all. Excellent as you would expect from a Luxury Collection hotel. Note well if you are a family travelling, the golf suites may work out better for you - just keep in mind they are a good 5 minute walk away.

Spa:
Worth taking the time out for, there is a lot to see around especially on a short trip but I would certainly block an hour or two to experience the spa, pool, sauna etc. Very well maintained. It is worth noting that there is an outdoor heated pool available as well. I swam here several times in the day and it was very tolerable even outside the summer months.

Service:
This is a big ticket item and really separates the men from the boys. The hotel staff are, without exception, very helpful and pleasant at all times - only too happy to help. The event staff are just fantastic if you are thinking of hold an event here - do it. If you are coming in from overseas don't worry - I have never seen a team so diligent on email and the phones. Everything will be ready for your arrival.

Highly recommended for travelers and event managers too, deserves every single one of those 'Excellent' reviews. Yes it is true that it may cost you a few extra bob, but once you are in the experience you quickly realise where the extra money went - keep up the good work guys.

5 STARS.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Algarve Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Sidji,
It was a pleasure to note how much you and your guests have enjoyed the events held with us and we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing our Hotel and Resort for such an important occasion in your life.
We truly appreciate your recommendation and the time you took to share your kind comments on TripAdvisor and we were delighted to learn that our associates and the service provided made your wedding day even more special.
We look forward to welcome you back and to host other family moments in the future.
Kind regards,
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Algarve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Algarve Hotel

Address: Praia Da Felesia, Apartado P.O. Box 644, Albufeira 8200-909, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#6 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#7 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#17 Family Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Algarve Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Algarve, a Luxury Collection Hotel in Southern Portugal (voted Best Family Resort 2010), stands proudly on a cliff-top surrounded by pine trees and overlooks miles of unspoiled beaches. It offers a vast range of lifestyle experiences ranging from a 9-hole Golf Course, Tennis Courts & Academy, swimming pools, health clubs, 7,000sqm children’s club, an array of restaurants and bars as well as private beach access by panoramic lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sheraton Algarve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Albufeira
Sheraton Algarve Hotel Albufeira, Portugal
Albufeira Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Algarve Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.