We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not go back, even if free - appalling service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Algarve Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Algarve Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Algarve Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia Da Felesia, Apartado P.O. Box 644, Albufeira 8200-909, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Will not go back, even if free - appalling service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Was for a special occasion but totally disappointed

For a 5 star Sheraton, avoid like the plague. This is not a 5 star property by any definition - maybe was last century
Service is absolutely terrible, Asked in the restaurant for recommendation on Portugese wine. Got told no idea but pink sparkling wine was good - not. Seafood buffet and wine was more expensive in resort than a Relais & Chateau restaurant.
Wanted to charge back dinner to the room, but was refused as someone hadn't processed credit card on check in, even though room was pre paid and they had all the details. Staff were rude and ignorant.
Was after the main tourist season, none of the 5 closet ice machines to the room worked - when asked where one that worked was, got told just had to walk around and find one.
Totally unacceptable - staff couldn't give a %$!&
Complained at the time but pointless
Hotel in need of major refurbishment
Free WiFI in lobby cannot cope, is too slow to even work and cannot cope with demand
Very expensive, overpriced tourist trap - avoid

Room Tip: Had a sea view room with a view, was good size with big balcony but dated interior
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Algarve Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We regret to learn of your experience and would welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly.

Please email us at 00199.algarveguestrelations@luxurycollection.com, so we may discuss the matter further.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    206
    76
    36
    19
See reviews for
298
313
17
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This was my third stay at Pinecliffs and I am pleased to report that it is still my favourite destination
for a family holiday.Our 2 double bedroom garden apartment was spacious and of a high standard
and the location and facilities are excellent.The staff were smiling and helpful,and the complex is extremely efficient in the way that it is managed.Of course there are always small niggles,but overall I have nothing but praise to give and would not hesitate to recommend Pinecliffs to for a family holiday.My personal tip would be to rent a car,as it makes for a more varied stay,as we spent some days on/off the resort as eating lunch and dinner on the complex can be expensive (given the present exchange rate),although the quality of the food served at both the beach bar and the Corda Cafe was very acceptable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Algarve Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your continuous support and preference for our Resort.
We are happy to learn how much you have once again enjoyed your stay with us your kind words about our associates and Resort are greatly appreciated.
It is always gratifying to receive such praise and recommendation and we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback at TripAdvisor.
We look forward for another opportunity to welcome you and your family to our Resort.
Kind regards,
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
451 reviews 451 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Looking for excellence of late has been a bit like looking for the Holy Grail. So when we decided to have a big family event (our wedding!) at the Sheraton Algarve Resort it came with a gasp of air. Although the review has a lot to do with our events the style and MO about the place can be discerned for any traveler or event manager from the below.

200+ guests over 4 days and nights is no easy feat - but the Sheraton Team made it all look so easy and effortless. There was a detectable level of house training and confidence in the style. Love it.

Every part of the experience was crafted with professionalism and etiquette. From the time the guests arrived till the door staff waiving them off - it was 5 star service.

Food:
Breakfast was big and generous, worth getting up for even if you have had a late night.
Event foods and evening meals are simply top of the line and miles away from the hotel food you have had at several chain hotels everywhere else, also try the Corda Cafe if you fancy something a bit more casual.

Location:
Having just completed a tour of the Algarve I can finally put my hand on heart and say that this is it - the most picturesque resort that southern Portugal has to offer. See attached the view from the Tabu Gardens wedding Gazebo. I have never seen a resort with so many different sides and angles, pristine beaches, 5 pools, childrens play areas, sunset decks with a bar and even an Arabian style courtyard and restaurant! You could get lost in here if you liked.

Rooms:
I loved that the rooms are not over modern, I prefer the focus to be on space and comfort which these rooms have a plenty with balconies too. This is not a business hotel thank goodness but free wifi is needed for all guests to take the rooms to perfect. Cleanliness and sleep quality are all. Excellent as you would expect from a Luxury Collection hotel. Note well if you are a family travelling, the golf suites may work out better for you - just keep in mind they are a good 5 minute walk away.

Spa:
Worth taking the time out for, there is a lot to see around especially on a short trip but I would certainly block an hour or two to experience the spa, pool, sauna etc. Very well maintained. It is worth noting that there is an outdoor heated pool available as well. I swam here several times in the day and it was very tolerable even outside the summer months.

Service:
This is a big ticket item and really separates the men from the boys. The hotel staff are, without exception, very helpful and pleasant at all times - only too happy to help. The event staff are just fantastic if you are thinking of hold an event here - do it. If you are coming in from overseas don't worry - I have never seen a team so diligent on email and the phones. Everything will be ready for your arrival.

Highly recommended for travelers and event managers too, deserves every single one of those 'Excellent' reviews. Yes it is true that it may cost you a few extra bob, but once you are in the experience you quickly realise where the extra money went - keep up the good work guys.

5 STARS.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Algarve Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Sidji,
It was a pleasure to note how much you and your guests have enjoyed the events held with us and we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing our Hotel and Resort for such an important occasion in your life.
We truly appreciate your recommendation and the time you took to share your kind comments on TripAdvisor and we were delighted to learn that our associates and the service provided made your wedding day even more special.
We look forward to welcome you back and to host other family moments in the future.
Kind regards,
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Still a great place but why only have free wifi in lobby with no coffee shop, paid wifi in only coffee shop, and no wifi at all in the golf apartments. Get your act together - don't become second rate for the sake of a small investment

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Algarve Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

Whilst we appreciate your comments, kindly be informed that we offer our guests complimentary Wi-Fi access in the Hotel lobby, along with a complimentary coffee service in the morning between 10h and 13h. Outside this schedule our guests can request drinks to be served in the lobby, or in the evening Portulano bar is available by the lobby.

Please note that at the Golf Suites, internet access is provided with a cable.

We look forward for another oportunity to welcoming you back to our Hotel and Resort.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Our family of five spent three days at this resort hotel for the October break. The hotel is clean and well kept. All the staff members were very friendly and helpful. The grounds are beautiful and the views of the beach are amazing. The trek down to the pool is long so be sure to plan ahead to avoid a trip back to the room. The beach area could use another shower in the men's room or at least a foot shower. As it was not during the peak season, the dining options were a little bit more limited, but we enjoyed the meals that we had at all the restaurants with the exception of the international night at the buffet (There weren't many options and the kids could not find anything they liked to eat at it). Three days is the perfect amount of time for a relaxing visit. There is really nothing to do in the surrounding area so be content with the tennis, golf and swimming offered on the resort.

Room Tip: Look at the layout of the resort to pick your room. Avoid a room far from the reception area as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Algarve Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are most pleased to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Pine Cliffs Resort.

Thank you for your contribution on Tripadvisor and for your kind comments on our staff, location and dinning venues. Kindly accept our apologies for the experience on the International Buffet, which will be addressed to our Management Team.

We look forward to welcoming you in the near future to our Resort.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed at Porto Bay Falesia down the road about a year ago and as such it was hard not to compare. The accommodation was first rate. The buildings, housekeeping were all well kept. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Food was very well presented, if lacking in variety. Ample beach beds and towels. I think staying at the other hotel last year spoilt this trip slightly- it just seemed to lack a bit of soul and seemed sterile. Besides, the variety in terms of food offered could do better. I would certainly recommend it, but i'm not sure we will necessarily be returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Algarve Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor.
We do regret to know that we were not able to fulfill your expectation for which we would like to apologize for. We truly hope you can grant us another opportunity to restore your confidence in our services and we are confident that your next stay will be pleasurable in every respect.
It will be a pleasure to welcoming you back again.
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Neustadt an der Saale, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Pine Cliffs Residence is truly an exceptionally beautiful and tasteful resort. For many years we enjoyed our holiday here. The very friendly and helpful staff at the reception on arrival is always the beginning of a perfect time in Acoteias. Particularly noteworthy are the friendly bartenders in the O Grill. We are looking forward to next year in June when we return back here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Algarve Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for having posted your comments on Tripadvisor.
We are grateful for your loyalty to our resort and we are glad to learn that once again we were able to provide you with another enjoyable stay. We thank you for having shared your check in experience, the assistance and the friendliness given by the reception associates and also the friendliness of the O Grill employees.
It is our pleasure to welcome you next June and should you need any assistance, please feel free to contact us.
Yours sincerely
Guest relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Algarve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Algarve Hotel

Address: Praia Da Felesia, Apartado P.O. Box 644, Albufeira 8200-909, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#7 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#8 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#10 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#17 Family Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Algarve Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Algarve, a Luxury Collection Hotel will commence a phased renovation process as of November 3rd 2014, which will incorporate all guests rooms, public areas, conference centre and food & beverage venues as well as an extension of seventy-eight new luxury suites, along with an Italian restaurant, state of the art Health Spa facility and underground parking, scheduled to be complete in June 2017. First phase will begin as of November 3rd 2014 and completed by late June 2015, in which the hotel with reopen for the summer season. During the closure period, we invite you to discover the Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort located within resort, offering access to available facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Algarve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Albufeira
Sheraton Algarve Hotel Albufeira, Portugal
Albufeira Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Algarve Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.