We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't rely on reception” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Algarve Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Algarve Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Algarve Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia Da Felesia, Apartado P.O. Box 644, Albufeira 8200-909, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Huizen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Don't rely on reception”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Our stay in the Sheraton was early November, when the weather was not very favorable for outdoor activities. The more we had the opportunity to explore the hotel and its facilities.

At check in there was a warm welcome by the receptionist, who promised us a room with garden view. That proved to be a view on the roof of the inside swimming-pool. To have a look into the garden you had to bend over the fence of the balcony.

As I spotted during a visit of the place some 8 years ago, the hotel is great and the surroundings are truly beautiful; the facilities are first class. The rooms are fine, breakfast is extensive and the service in the restaurants is pleasant.
Though: during the afternoon I called reception to reserve for dinner in the Jardim-restaurant. ‘Fully booked’, was the answer.
In the evening we passed by, on our way for dinner into Albufeira. To our surprise there was ample space in the Jardim and we could easily have a table. And: the rest of the evening there was no problem for anybody to have dinner there, as many took the opportunity to take one of the free tables.

The food, the cooking and the service in the restaurant were excellent. And we enjoyed the advantages of the SPG-membership. The indoor-pool has an great size and the whirlpool and sauna are very recommendable as well. Missing in this hotel is the availability of internet: the lobby-area, where there was a free Wifi-zone, was overcrowded and thus not a nice place to sit and relax.

Overall: the Pine Cliffs Sheraton lives up to the Starwood-reputation. But the flaws of reception regarding room and restaurant prevent a 5* appreciation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Algarve Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are glad to know that you had a very nice stay at our resort and that this time you had the opportunity to experience our facilities, which overall met your expectations.
Please accept our apologies for our failure in some services during your stay and the inconveniences it has caused on your enjoyment.
We hope to host back to our resort in future.
Best regards
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    205
    76
    36
    19
See reviews for
298
313
17
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kaunas, Kauno Apskritis, Lithuania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I was staying for one week, even it was end of season, I'd enjoyed it a lot. The staff is friendly, cooperative and helpful. You feel the natural smile on their faces, not the fake ones. Big credit to Sheraton Algarve staff. The food is really very good. I do travel a lot, stay in different hotels in different hotels, and can confirm that main breakfast&dinner reataurant at Sheraton Algarve is of a great value and taste.

Room Tip: as I found out all main building rooms are positioned towards the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Algarve Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are very happy to learn that our employees did all the efforts in order to provide you a most enjoyable holiday with their cooperation, friendliness and helpfulness and that you have enjoyed our cuisine.
It will be a great pleasure to great you back soon
Kind regards
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norristown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Overall Impression: FABULOUS! The hotel and property grounds are absolutely stunning. Our room was great (#137). But our room did show it's age a bit, I'm thinking that this resort may be due for an overhaul soon.

Tips:
1.) Explore the grounds on your first day and be sure to find the grocery store to stock up on essentials. There are 2; one on the site (little pricey, but you can charge purchases to your room = SPG points!) the other about a 10 minute walk offsite (great deals on wine, beer & snacks).
2.) If you have the chance to upgrade to Ocean View, DO IT! I don't typically pay for upgrades, I just roll the dice but after reading the TA reviews I decided to go for it. I received an email offer to upgrade for only $35, since we booked our stay on cash & points, I think we made out pretty well.
3.) Bring your SPG card for discounts in the restaurants. (ie 10% off dinner at Piri Piri) If you forget it, just ask the front desk for one. Be sure to show it before you begin your meal.
4.) Catch a sunset at the Mirador Champagne Bar with a glass of bubbly.
5.) Eat at Piri Piri, the service the meals were outstanding
7.) The breakfast buffet at Jardim Colonial was great, lots of options; check to see if it's included in your rate. Look for the secret nook where they keep the sparkling wine.
6.) Check-in at the Portulano Lobby Bar on Foursquare for 2 free glasses of port wine; also stop in for Happy Hour at this bar (7-8pm) for half price drinks, it's a good deal
7.) If you're looking to treat yourself, order the hotel's private car back to the airport. Beautiful BMW with wireless internet. The front desk can help you arrange the transfer.

Areas of Improvement:
-Our check in reception was a bit lukewarm. Constantino was friendly and courteous, however, at the very end we asked for a map and it seemed like this was a daunting task for him. You definitely need a map and an orientation to the property if it's your first time.

In addition, and now we are partly to blame for this for we didn't read the fine print on our reservation, we didn't realize the breakfast buffet was included in our rate. We did take part in the buffet our first day expecting to pay but on day 2 we went to the Pine Cliffs Clubhouse for breakfast. We later found out that our rate did include breakfast buffet for our entire stay. So on our final day we made sure we got our fill of sparkling wine at the buffet!!

Shining Stars During our Stay:
Ellizabete, the hostess at Jardim Colonial was one of our favorites, she was full of energy and made us feel very welcome.
Helena at the omelets station made one of the best omelets I've ever had.
Bruno at the breakfast buffet was the man, he went above and beyond to ensure that the sparkling wine was refilled!
The wait staff at Mirador and Piri Piri were all top notch, sorry I can't recall their names. Thanks all.

Room Tip: Pay for the upgrade to ocean view, worth it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Algarve Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are very pleased to learn how much you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Your nice comments on the resort facilities and services provided by our employees are highly appreciated. We thank you for your especial mention of many of them and we are glad to know that we all have contributed to make you stay “Fabulous”. Those comments keep us motivated to meet and exceed our guest’s expectations.
Thank you for being a truly Ambassador of our resort and we look forward to welcome you back soon.
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourock, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My wife and I are regular visitors to this truly 5 star resort. The hotel is located in a prime location and reflects the very highest standards in quality of service expected of Starwood's Luxury Collection. The facilities and services on site are second to none, with its own golf course, multiple swimming pools, restaurants and bars, a beautiful beach, tranquil areas for relaxation and last but not least, very friendly and competent staff.
A truly memorable experience every time we go.
David Rees

Room Tip: Book early and talk to the hotel about where you'd like to be located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Algarve Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Mr. Rees,
We are very happy to know that once again you had “a truly memorable experience” at our resort and we would like to thank you for your kind words on the facilities, services and our employees.
We look forward to see you soon.
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girvan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We recently stayed at the Sheraton Algarve (3 adults and 1 almost 2 year old) and with the exception of the weather (outwith the control of the management) we couldn't find fault.
The real strength of this hotel notwithstanding the location must be the staff, nothing was any bother although the smiles from my grandson seemed to charm them as well.
One thing we did find unusual was it was warmer down on the beach (what a beach) than up on the cliff top.
The choice of restaurants was great with Cafe Korda being really quite reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Algarve Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very glad to learn that in spite of the weather you and your family and a very enjoyable stay at our resort.

We thank you for your nice feedback on our facilities and services and it will be a great pleasure to host you back in future.

Kind regards
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamill, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is our third time at the Hotel. I feel the more you visit it the more you find and appreciate how spectacular it is. There is always a warm and friendly welcome and this carries on thoughout your stay. The Corda Cafe, Beach Restaurant and the Piri Piri restaurant are our favourite eating places. All the staff are warm and friendly. They cater for everyone and every taste. The Views from the gardens and Golf course are out of this world.

Room Tip: If you can get one, go for an Ocean or Garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Algarve Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your continued support and we are pleased to learn that you were well looked after and have once again enjoyed your stay at our Resort.

Your kind words about our associates and the Resort restaurants are highly valued and motivate us to continue to improve our services.

It will be our great pleasure to welcome you again in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Having stayed at this Hotel over the last 10 years I have to say it is one of the best for service with a number of the staff the same as our first stay --which is great as they remember you and that is a nice feeling.
Previous stays has been mainly for golf in March but this year as we came in October the weather was perfect and so my wife and I sampled the beach facilities which were marvelous a beach bar situated on the beach serving really good food in a wonderful setting.
As an SPG card holder 10% off the food was offered I have suggested that this should also include drink in future I am sure we would have spent more!!

Room Tip: We have never had a bad room what ever side of the Hotel we are so no real preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Algarve Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear guest,

We are grateful for your support and would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor and for letting us know how impressed you were with the service you received.

Your kind comments are greatly appreciated and we are very pleased to learn how much you have enjoyed your recent stay with us and we now look forward to welcome you back in October more often.

We are happy to learn that you took full advantage of your SPG benefits and please be assured that we appreciate the point you have raised about the drinks discount.
It will be our pleasure to welcome you again for a future visit and we look forward to it.

Sincerely yours,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Algarve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Algarve Hotel

Address: Praia Da Felesia, Apartado P.O. Box 644, Albufeira 8200-909, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#7 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#8 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#10 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#17 Family Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Algarve Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Algarve, a Luxury Collection Hotel will commence a phased renovation process as of November 3rd 2014, which will incorporate all guests rooms, public areas, conference centre and food & beverage venues as well as an extension of seventy-eight new luxury suites, along with an Italian restaurant, state of the art Health Spa facility and underground parking, scheduled to be complete in June 2017. First phase will begin as of November 3rd 2014 and completed by late June 2015, in which the hotel with reopen for the summer season. During the closure period, we invite you to discover the Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort located within resort, offering access to available facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Algarve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Albufeira
Sheraton Algarve Hotel Albufeira, Portugal
Albufeira Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Algarve Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.