We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Patricia, Tooting - Casa Velha is a Must - A Little Gem.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of casa velha

casa velha
estrada de sta eulalia, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
289541926
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #131 of 578 Restaurants in Albufeira
Cuisines: Portuguese, Seafood, International
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Patricia, Tooting - Casa Velha is a Must - A Little Gem.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to me and my friend. We ate there twice and on each occasion enjoyed our meal. This is very good value for money, the cost 11.50 Euros for 'tourist menu' appetisers, starter, main, half a carafe each of wine, dessert and to top it all off a small glass of port. I mentioned to the owner that I really liked the port glasses and she went and bought me some the next day, she also gave me her recipe for making the very nice pate she makes. The service was good and staff very friendly. They seem to have a very good clientele.
Definitely go there again and again..

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    23
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A Taste of Portugal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This was our first visit to the Casa Velha, and, if we return to the area in the future, we will return. We wanted to try some typical Portuguese meals, rather than the usual Anglo style dishes that are often served to the British abroard. The service was excellent, both members of staff that served us were very helpful and friendly - sharing a recipe for the fish paste starter that everybody seems to enjoy. The food was well prepared and tasty, and the wine definitely to our taste. Overall a decent restaurant - the surroundings are pleasant and the food well cooked.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Authentic Portuguese food , great value Nd service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant was buzzing on Good Friday 2013 and the Sole was absolutely exquisite! We loved the ambience and authentic decor. The service was very good with the owner giving us a 1999 bottle of red half price because our first choice was out of stock. Definitely recommended for anyone wishing to try genuine Portuguese dishes in a traditional restaurant.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
“Authentic Portuguese Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Although we had walked past many times, we had never tried this restaurant but we like to try somewhere different every night so we called in midweek. It was reasonably busy and soon the majority of the tables were occupied by diners of a wide variety of nationalities and ages. On entering, I was impressed by the friendly greeting and the ambience of the "old house" itself and the staff proved very pleasant and efficient throughout our meal. We chose the Tourist menu which was great value for money but would definitely return for a meal off the main menu as there was good selection of authentic Portuguese dishes and the food was well prepared.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The food was fairly good but the service was poor. It seemed that most of the diners were going for the tourist menu. The restaurant was quite full the evening we went there. It was on the basis of the positive reviews here that we went. There were two waiting staff and it was not sufficient for the number of customers

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed casa velha also viewed

 
Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to casa velha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage casa velha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.