We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food expensive bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salgados Grande Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Salgados Grande Hotel to your Saves list
Salgados Grande Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herdade dos Salgados | Guia, Albufeira 8200-424, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Leeds
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food expensive bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Stayed with friends. Food is top drawer (although we counted only 16 people stayning!) good choices and varieties. 3 euros for a cup of hot water and a tea bag in the loung bar is a tad expensive! One of our party left a sweater in the restaurant never to be seen again. The Hotel staff did not show any enthusiasm to try and locate it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    77
    30
    8
    11
See reviews for
61
109
3
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wrexham
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

Hotel is in a quiet relaxing location & is ideal if not paradise for golfers, beach is 10 mins away and is really nice, the area surrounding the hotel doesnt have much to offer but its an easy commute to albufeira approx 15 mins away. the hotel rooms are stunning, large, clean and very comfortable beds (one of the best) and as for the shower, its a huge wet room with the most amazing shower ever. overall i enjoyed this hotel and would return, the only down side which let it down was the food especially at breakfast time it was always cold, evening meal was much better.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011 via mobile

Having read the reviews we decided to try this hotel anyway! The staff are fabulous! Great customer service for the duration of our stay & lovely attitude to our daughter. Fabulous beach near by. Salgardos golf club on the doorstep.
Food is good - breakfast fantastic!
Our suite was absolutely beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011 via mobile

Hotel was perfect for golf travellers and Salgados golf course is a great test for all standards of golfers. One problem is that there are no local shops or pharmacy and it's a good 15 mins (18 euros taxi) to Albufera, breakfast was not of a great standard, staff were polite and helpful, indoor pool was expensive to use, one of our party had a £500 iphone stolen from a member of staff and the duty manager was of very little help, we were sent into Albufera were the police spoke no English whatsoever.. best part of our visit was the comfort of the beds

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011 via mobile

Went first week in November2011.
Breakfast food was poor quality and mostly always cold.
Rooms were excellent standard. Pillows in particular where to die for!
Unfortunatly in our golf party of 16
One of us had a iPhone 4 stolen from his room while out for a meal one evening. Reported this to the hotel manager and was shown activity of card lock on door. And quite clearly a member of staff visited twice this evening while we was out.
Manager and police were not interested.
Bruno (staff member) enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

5***** Hotel My A*!* Breakfast was a disgrace..... soggy cold scambled eggs, undercooked cold bacon, snotty fried eggs . Disgusting sausages again cold. Arrogant moody staff and a not at all helpful Duty Manager (Joao Sequeira). To make it worse my iphone was stolen from my room while i was out in albufeira having a evening meal. I have a print out of the times that my room was entered by a employee of the hotel who entered the room twice within a 15 minute period apparently to do a simple thing, which was to change the room service menu. I even have his name on the print out. (Bruno Concalves) I Told the hotel duty manager i wanted the police to come to the hotel and he said the police would not come to the hotel i had to go to the ploice station in albufeira. Went to the police station... What a waste of time that was. The police said i needded a interpreter and they didnt speak english only portuguise. Now i have to pay £50 excess to get a new iphone which is going to take over a week for the insurence claim to clear. Overall This Hotel and it staff is Utter 5***** Nightmare and Diabolical I would certainley not advise anyone to go there.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We went in August so CS Salgados was completely full of guests.

In a previous year we went to CS Salgados Dunas Suite and we liked it so we decided to try Grande Hotel. It was an horrible experience:

- the hotel is very bad frequented. people without any manners with children running and screaming everywhere all the time including next to the rooms and late at night.

- pool without any supervision allowing entry to foreign friends from other guests. They used the pool and the the bars as they were guests of the hotel.Shocking!!!!

- guests reserved the sunbeds and didn't appear for hours!!! it was very dificult to get a sun bed. Again, pool without any supervision.

- food was reasonable but the restaurants where like school canteen's. Super noisy, plastic tables without table cloth's. just a paper like a fast food rest.

- if you want to take a drink at night forget. You'll find the lobby full of people smoking cigarrets and watching football games. naughty children, screaming and lying on the ground. It was horrible, super super crowded really like a bus station.

- the hotel infrastructure is very good (room, pools, reception, etc) but the big problem is the kind of people the frequent's the hotel.

- staff was polite but in the restaurants they just take the dishes from the table. I think they could do a little more and ask for the drinks for example.

- we thought we were doing a good deal but definitly this hotel doesn't deserve the 5 stars compared with other in Algarve.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Salgados Grande Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salgados Grande Hotel

Address: Herdade dos Salgados | Guia, Albufeira 8200-424, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#13 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Salgados Grande Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Salgados Grande Hotel is located near Albufeira, between the golf and the beach, at Herdade dos Salgados. With majestic interiors, its design is contemporary, however cosy. Here, you will find plenty to spend your time. In the morning, walk along the Salgados Beach with the family or explore the Salgados Lagoon. Later in the day, lounge around one the 3 outdoor pools, before a massage in the magnificent SPA. By late afternoon, save some time for an aperitif in the Sunset Bar, whilst enjoying, in the horizon over the nature reserve, the spectacle of colours after which the bar was named, followed by dinner in one of our restaurants. The hotel, ideal for couples and families, has 228 accommodation units and features great facilities, as well as a modern Congress Centre. A place where design and comfort walk hand-in-hand, between the golf and the beach, this is truly the best of both worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Salgados Grande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cs Salgados Grande Hotel Albufeira
Cs Salgados Grande Hotel And Spa
Salgados Grande Hotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salgados Grande Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.