We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salgados Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Salgados Palace to your Saves list
Salgados Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herdade dos Salgados | Guia, Albufeira 8200-424, Portugal (Formerly Salgados Grande Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Having read the reviews we decided to try this hotel anyway! The staff are fabulous! Great customer service for the duration of our stay & lovely attitude to our daughter. Fabulous beach near by. Salgardos golf club on the doorstep.
Food is good - breakfast fantastic!
Our suite was absolutely beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    91
    31
    8
    11
See reviews for
66
118
3
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Hotel was perfect for golf travellers and Salgados golf course is a great test for all standards of golfers. One problem is that there are no local shops or pharmacy and it's a good 15 mins (18 euros taxi) to Albufera, breakfast was not of a great standard, staff were polite and helpful, indoor pool was expensive to use, one of our party had a £500 iphone stolen from a member of staff and the duty manager was of very little help, we were sent into Albufera were the police spoke no English whatsoever.. best part of our visit was the comfort of the beds

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Went first week in November2011.
Breakfast food was poor quality and mostly always cold.
Rooms were excellent standard. Pillows in particular where to die for!
Unfortunatly in our golf party of 16
One of us had a iPhone 4 stolen from his room while out for a meal one evening. Reported this to the hotel manager and was shown activity of card lock on door. And quite clearly a member of staff visited twice this evening while we was out.
Manager and police were not interested.
Bruno (staff member) enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

5***** Hotel My A*!* Breakfast was a disgrace..... soggy cold scambled eggs, undercooked cold bacon, snotty fried eggs . Disgusting sausages again cold. Arrogant moody staff and a not at all helpful Duty Manager (Joao Sequeira). To make it worse my iphone was stolen from my room while i was out in albufeira having a evening meal. I have a print out of the times that my room was entered by a employee of the hotel who entered the room twice within a 15 minute period apparently to do a simple thing, which was to change the room service menu. I even have his name on the print out. (Bruno Concalves) I Told the hotel duty manager i wanted the police to come to the hotel and he said the police would not come to the hotel i had to go to the ploice station in albufeira. Went to the police station... What a waste of time that was. The police said i needded a interpreter and they didnt speak english only portuguise. Now i have to pay £50 excess to get a new iphone which is going to take over a week for the insurence claim to clear. Overall This Hotel and it staff is Utter 5***** Nightmare and Diabolical I would certainley not advise anyone to go there.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We went in August so CS Salgados was completely full of guests.

In a previous year we went to CS Salgados Dunas Suite and we liked it so we decided to try Grande Hotel. It was an horrible experience:

- the hotel is very bad frequented. people without any manners with children running and screaming everywhere all the time including next to the rooms and late at night.

- pool without any supervision allowing entry to foreign friends from other guests. They used the pool and the the bars as they were guests of the hotel.Shocking!!!!

- guests reserved the sunbeds and didn't appear for hours!!! it was very dificult to get a sun bed. Again, pool without any supervision.

- food was reasonable but the restaurants where like school canteen's. Super noisy, plastic tables without table cloth's. just a paper like a fast food rest.

- if you want to take a drink at night forget. You'll find the lobby full of people smoking cigarrets and watching football games. naughty children, screaming and lying on the ground. It was horrible, super super crowded really like a bus station.

- the hotel infrastructure is very good (room, pools, reception, etc) but the big problem is the kind of people the frequent's the hotel.

- staff was polite but in the restaurants they just take the dishes from the table. I think they could do a little more and ask for the drinks for example.

- we thought we were doing a good deal but definitly this hotel doesn't deserve the 5 stars compared with other in Algarve.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Despite the negative reviews on Tripadvisor, my wife and I (and one year old daughter) decided to give this hotel a try, especially considering the cheap rate on offer. When we arrived, the hotel was half empty which meant a room upgrade and three perfectly maintained pools mostly to ourselves. The expansive sandy beach was a 15 minute walk away and well worth it because it too was empty and clean. The facilities at the hotel are first class; the room was large with a child friendly balcony and the beds firm and comfortable. In retrospect, going for half board was a mistake because the restaurant only opened at 7.30pm and so on the first three nights we only finished our 3 courses at 9.30pm which wasn't great with a tired child (the service sped up on the last 2 nights for some reason and we were in and out within an hour). The service (at the poolside restaurant and generally really) wasn't amazing, seemingly because this is a new hotel. But we were left alone, which suited us fine. The staff was always friendly and spoke perfect English. The breakfast, which received a number of criticisms on Tripadvisor, was better than many we have had on the Continent. Dinners were average to be honest; a case of the chef trying too hard without getting the basics right, in my opinion. All in all, this was a fantastic surprise and we will definitely be returning. I just hope it is not too busy the next time around.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

First of all, the hotl is gorgeous and you could be in Vegas for the opulance that surrounds your everywhere you go. They have ploughed alot of money into this development and not enough money into staff training and customer service. The service was painfully slow (40 minutes to get a tonic water by the pool) and most of the time you felt ignored. If you wanted something - you had to ask for it and normally, more than once. No idea as to the facilities of the complex as there was no information pack in the rooms. Only managed to find the beach by accident! No drinks offered by the pool - you had to take your chance at the poolside bar...not the best prospect! Shops? Managed to find one on the complex which was only open odd hours and looked like it was stocked by rationing. I think they only posessed one CD that they played day and night, so if you don't like Lily Allen - you're stuffed! The food was okay, but was cold for the most part so I wouldn't entertain eating there everynight. Breakfast was again,cold mostly but plenty of selection. Getting a coffee was like pulling teeth too. I think they really need to get someone in there who knows how to handle customers properly as it would be a shame for this venture to fail as it is beautiful and the location to the beach is fabulous. Would I go again? Maybe in 5 years when they've got their act together! If this is how it is in low-season, I shudder tot hink how they got through high-season!

Room Tip: The gold view room was beautiful and I think you'd be hard-pressed to improve on it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Salgados Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salgados Palace

Address: Herdade dos Salgados | Guia, Albufeira 8200-424, Portugal (Formerly Salgados Grande Hotel)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#13 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Salgados Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Salgados Palacel is located near Albufeira, between the golf and the beach, at Herdade dos Salgados. With majestic interiors, its design is contemporary, however cosy. Here, you will find plenty to spend your time. In the morning, walk along the Salgados Beach with the family or explore the Salgados Lagoon. Later in the day, lounge around one the 3 outdoor pools, before a massage in the magnificent SPA. By late afternoon, save some time for an aperitif in the Sunset Bar, whilst enjoying, in the horizon over the nature reserve, the spectacle of colours after which the bar was named, followed by dinner in one of our restaurants. The hotel, ideal for couples and families, has 228 accommodation units and features great facilities, as well as a modern Congress Centre. A place where design and comfort walk hand-in-hand, between the golf and the beach, this is truly the best of both worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Salgados Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cs Salgados Grande Hotel Albufeira
Cs Salgados Grande Hotel And Spa
Salgados Palace Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salgados Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.