We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four euros” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jing Du

Jing Du
Edifico Ocean Drive Loja 15 | Av Sa Carneiro, Albufeira, Portugal
Improve this listing
Ranked #372 of 672 Restaurants in Albufeira
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: On the Strip in Praia da Oura
East Riding of Yorkshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Four euros”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Been on holiday to Albufeira a few times now and we always call in at the Jing Du for a meal. We opt for the "Special" 4 euro menu as there is still a good choice available, the food is good and the portions are generous. The staff are friendly and the service is quick.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Escallops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Grindleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“excellent quality food and at ridiculously cheap prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Firstly this restaurant was spotlessly clean and had excellent staff. There is a 4euro menu and the food was incredibly tasty and well executed. If you want a Chinese then this is heartily recommended

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ellwood1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“brilliant food, great prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Excellent food, can order alacarte or get a meal from the specials menu, 1 meal for 4 euros not inclusing rice smaller portion but food was devine

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank debs3175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Service good, food OK. Good for budget-conscious travellers.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The restaurant itself looks great, it is a very nice-looking Chinese restaurant. Not overly opulent, but as a budget-friendly place that shouldn't be expected.

They have a 'special' menu which does smaller portions of cheap 'Chinese' favourites. My partner and I opted to order from this, as the price-point and portion sizes allowed us to order numerous dishes to try a little bit of each from.

The sauces etc are all pretty good, there are some really lovely flavours in many of the dishes. But, the cuts of meat used are far from quality. With some dishes, it's best not to think what part of the animal you're eating. Arguably, traditional Chinese cooking does use numerous parts of the animal not eaten in traditional British cuisine - but that's not really applicable to this restaurant, they just use cheap off-cuts.

A lot of the starters are not just fried, but served dripping in fat and grease. Blotting everything with your napkin before you eat makes the experience of eating here far more pleasant.

Had we visited during the peak season when all other restaurants and eateries are open, we would not have chosen to eat here. We chose here simply because it was one of the few 'safer' options open at that time of day at that time of year.


The service was good, and the food not horrendous.
However, I would rather spend more elsewhere for a better meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HughJars85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fleetwood
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Ate here 3 times in 9 days the food and surroundings are excellent!!!! I don't have a bad thing to say about this place,the toilets are lovely and clean. Would recommend this Chinese to anyone

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank colandcaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jing Du also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to Jing Du? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing