We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant food, great prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jing Du

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Jing Du
Edifico Ocean Drive Loja 15 | Av Sa Carneiro, Albufeira, Portugal
Improve this listing
Ranked #465 of 572 restaurants in Albufeira
Cuisines: Chinese
Description: On the Strip in Praia da Oura
Restaurant details
Description: On the Strip in Praia da Oura
scotland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“brilliant food, great prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Excellent food, can order alacarte or get a meal from the specials menu, 1 meal for 4 euros not inclusing rice smaller portion but food was devine

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    4
    4
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Service good, food OK. Good for budget-conscious travellers.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The restaurant itself looks great, it is a very nice-looking Chinese restaurant. Not overly opulent, but as a budget-friendly place that shouldn't be expected.

They have a 'special' menu which does smaller portions of cheap 'Chinese' favourites. My partner and I opted to order from this, as the price-point and portion sizes allowed us to order numerous dishes to try a little bit of each from.

The sauces etc are all pretty good, there are some really lovely flavours in many of the dishes. But, the cuts of meat used are far from quality. With some dishes, it's best not to think what part of the animal you're eating. Arguably, traditional Chinese cooking does use numerous parts of the animal not eaten in traditional British cuisine - but that's not really applicable to this restaurant, they just use cheap off-cuts.

A lot of the starters are not just fried, but served dripping in fat and grease. Blotting everything with your napkin before you eat makes the experience of eating here far more pleasant.

Had we visited during the peak season when all other restaurants and eateries are open, we would not have chosen to eat here. We chose here simply because it was one of the few 'safer' options open at that time of day at that time of year.


The service was good, and the food not horrendous.
However, I would rather spend more elsewhere for a better meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fleetwood
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Ate here 3 times in 9 days the food and surroundings are excellent!!!! I don't have a bad thing to say about this place,the toilets are lovely and clean. Would recommend this Chinese to anyone

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Words fail me to tell you how bad this was”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

All i can say is this was the very worst meal i have had the misfortune to have ordered - This was not 1 dish that was an epic fail it was everything from starters dripping fat to burnt and cold meals(how did they manage to do it)

We love a chinese banquet at home as my reviews show on here and ordered something simular in this place as i have eaten here a few times on past holidays and it was very good indeed.

Funny thing was as soon as it was clear we had no intention of eating the food everyone seemed to loose the ability to speak English,

They should change the name to "Jing Dont"

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very good food for a very good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Lovely food for a very reasonable price. All our dishes were very tasty and the service was very efficient. The restaurant is well located on "The strip" of Montecherio Albufeira.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jing Du also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to Jing Du? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jing Du, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.