We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the place for holidays” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hapimag Resort Albufeira

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Albufeira
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hapimag Resort Albufeira
Save
You added Hapimag Resort Albufeira to your Saves list
Rua da Torre Velha | Praia do Castelo, Apartado 2341, Albufeira, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“the place for holidays”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

As shareholder we selected Hapimag in Albufeira based on our experience in this place befor. Ik general it was good. However there were some items we were disappointed about. First of all we were booked in an old section, and, although asked for a better place, because of a hartproblem of one of my quest, it was to far away from the mainbuilding.
Secondly we were used to have breakfast in the restaurant, like in other Hapimag resorts, but here it is only possible on weekend days and it was very sober. For the price one needs to pay it was, to say the least, very moderate.
The restaurant in general did not give value for money. Prices are pretty high (especially the wine) and the food was average.
In general, although of the pleasant service from nearly all employees, we were at least a little disappointed.

Room Tip: try to avoid rooms in building 6, they are not refurbished and especially the bathroom does not look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    15
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
15
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is a lovely resort, carefully sculpted to complement the cliff top environment, gardens well tended, skilfully located apartments in a quiet region about 3 miles west of busy Albufeira. The restaurant is very pleasing and the food is very good. There is a large rectangular pool, good for exercise and play. The weekly garden buffet which provides a good opportunity for guests to meet. It is important to understand that this is a Hapimag resort and not a public hotel. The Hapimag ethos prevails. Most of the guests come from Germany, Holland and Italy. There are not many Brits (just the well informed and fortunate few who have bought Hapimag shares and benefit from access to their many lovely resorts around Europe, Florida and S.Africa).The apartments are spacious, comfortable and functional with generous verandahs. There are several lovely cove beaches within a 10 minute walk and a 3km sandy beach (Gali) within a 5 minute drive. Caution is required when swimming as there are submerged rocks in this area and water shoes are recommended. There are several very good golf courses within a 10 mile drive. There are several excellent restaurants nearby. This is a great place for a restful holiday in a great climate with plenty of organised activity if you want it. I think one or two of the staff came a little below expectation and could benefit from more hospitality training but it is a minor point and generally the staff were always courteous and helpful. Take the opportunity to drive an hour or so to the unspoiled west to watch the surfers, eat Tiger prawns and drink beer at Sagres. The beach at Castelejo on the west cost is also lovely.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We went on holiday in late March2013 and found it not much to our taste. the positives are the room is functionally equipped and clean, although the decore is dated. The indoor and outdoor pools are lovely and the grounds very well maintained. The on-site supermarket is adequately
stocked with essentials and not too expensive. The negatives are that the whole experience is very self help - the rooms are not serviced in any way. The kitchen has no microwave and only a hob, kettle and toaster for cooking. No washing machine, dishwasher etc. Shockingly there was no tea. coffee or milk supplied on a complimantary or other basis, so on arrival at 20H00 all we had to drink was the complimentary botteld water! In additon, as it was around 21H00 by the time we had unpacked, in spite of it beng a Saturday evening, the resturant was closed. We walked up the road to a nearby resturant which was great. There are daily activities offered and trips advertised. Although there was a welcome meeting to tell guests what was on the offer, the English meeting offered very little in the way of informatiomn other than about the maintenace programme and efficient wi-fi! We booked a day trip to the histroic Algarve and this was cancelled at 21H00 the night before we were due to leave without any apology or offer of alternative. The staff were functional and effcicient, but not too friendly.

Its located quite far from most amenties althoguh the beach is nearby. There is a shuttlebus to Albuferia and Gale Beach on some days and to thelocal hypermarket. We got aournd in cabs and its not too expensive.

I found little information about the resort before we left and would never have booked if I knew what I was in for. If you are looking for beautiful coast line, healthy exercise and not too much else you might really enjoy being here.

Room Tip: Rooms in Colela Beach part seem more modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We loved our stay at Hapimag resort in Albufeira. We stayed at the separately located apartments, with private pool and very few people. Perfect for couples and honeymooners. The apartments are super comfortable, clean. We cooked almost all our meals at our kitchen, it had all the necessary appliances! Everything worked perfectly, cooked perfectly, which allowed us to save lots of money on food. The walk to the beach is about 10 minutes, the beach is pretty small and rocky, so we drove to other locations but that let us explore the coast line! I reccomend this place if you want quiet and comfortable stay with your loved one and may be even kids. Oh, I forgot about the group volley and other activities that the guests love to participate in :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
polokwane, south africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed at the Hapimag in April 2012. Nice large apartments with heating (as it was very cold). Very neat. All that we were not used to was that everything was extra. If you wanted a cleaner for the apartment it was extra, parking was also extra per day. The gardens were dry but as it was winter and a drought that was understandable. Swimming pool was also empty but it was too cold for swimming anyway. Could not find enough information on the internet about Hapimag before we went, I would suggest a more detailed website. All in all for a timeshare resort - good.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoogeveen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

We really like the Algarve and this resort in particular. We use to go here in winter and had a great time again last week. The entire resort is well maintained, the appartments are large, good quality overall. In fact it would be perfect if there would be a dish washer and an oven. The garden is beautiful and the resort faces the see with just a bit of nature in between. There are 3 small beaches all very close and 2 of them are really easy accessible.
We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood,Essex
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Had two fabulous weeks here with our two children aged 4 and 5.

Obviously the holiday was helped by great weather and the fantastic room allocated to us (9-102). They are obviously the bits that can't be guarateed if we went again.

However the highlight for all of us was the kids clubs and the barbeque evenings.

The kids club gave the adults 4 hours a day to relax, swim leisurely and read a book. The children loved going so much that when we went out for days they were really disappointed that they were going to miss a day with their new found friends.
I should say that during our time there 95% of visitors were Dutch, German or Italian but to young children the fact they do not share a common language was no barrier to having fun and playing together. Being a Hapimag resort you should always be prepared to be very much in the minority as a English speaker, but in all of the resorts we've visited both staff and guests have always been fluent in English and this has never been a problem for us.
The barbequeand gala dinner nights were great for a family as everyone could choose what they wanted from the plentiful buffet offerings.
To go to hapimag resorts you normally have to be a member, but should you ever get the chance you should go.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hapimag Resort Albufeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hapimag Resort Albufeira

Address: Rua da Torre Velha | Praia do Castelo, Apartado 2341, Albufeira, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albufeira is the place for a carefree time shared with the whole family. The resort is situated in a nature conversation area with access to several secluded bathing bays. Play golf on the wonderful Algarve, fell the wind in your hair while sailing and swim in the peace of secluded bays. Cool off in the open-air pool, enjoy the view over a drink in the "Vista Mar" bar or explore the surrounding area bye mountain bike. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hapimag Resort Albufeira Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hapimag Resort Albufeira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.