We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O`Buzio - CLOSED

O`Buzio
Avendia Doutor Francisco SA Carmeiro | Montechorro, Albufeira, Portugal
Improve this listing
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We visited this restaurant twice on our recent trip. Meal was excellent value and as previous posts large portions. We had the set menu on both visits and never managed the 3 courses!!! Pity the restaurant was quiet on the nights we went. Staff very friendly and helpful. Well worth a visit you won't be disappointed IMO.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    7
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
“Good quality and value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

There are so many food outlets on the Strip that it's hard to decide where to eat each night, we ate here and I felt compelled to review it as the value and quality of the food were exceptional.

We opted for the set meal which included 3 courses and a drink for 9.5 euros, the restaurant is situated at the top end of the strip furthest away from the beach. It's a bit quieter here and we weren't accosted by touts drumming up custom, we were left to view the menu at our leisure, the proprietor then arranged a table for the 6 of us outside.

Most of us had the garlic bread to start and one had the tomato soup, we then had between us, spag bol, lasagna, spare rib, chicken piri piri and the braised steak. The meal sizes were very large in fact the braised steak could of fed a family of 4 let alone a meal for one! We then had the pana cota and the house special, a trifle like concoction. Within the price we shared a jug of wine and 3 large beers, it was good quality food served with a smile, if that's what you're looking for you can't go far wrong here.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Sorry, overrated.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Looked forward to trying this due to good reviews but we were disappointed.
I ordered from the vegetarian menu and chose a vegetable curry but when it came it contained chicken.
My sister ordered chicken piri piri but got plain chicken & chips. When she asked about the piri piri they said oh yes you add that yourself without offering the piri piri to her even at that point. She had to say well can I have it please and was then handed some spicy oil. She didn't enjoy it at all.
We didn't go back.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“A hidden gem : )”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We have been to Albufeira twice in last two years and have eaten here on both of our visits, we loved it that much that we made this an every night occurence as it was that nice .

The staff were really friendly and made us feel really welcome, we mostly were served by the lady ( apologies but cannot recall her name ) she works really hard and was really lovely to speak to.

The food was out of this world plenty to choose from would recommend the braised steak it comes like a stew really tender meat and plenty of veg, this was of the set menu, worked out about £8.00 for a three course meal. I must also point out that we have two young boys who were entertained with the staff and also the play area they have got at the back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“excellent value and friendly restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

found this restaurant by chance looking for another one, we could not have had better value and lovely meal for the price, the set menu for 9.50 euro including a drink is excellent value for families on a budget, and very friendly people. i would like to see how some people live when they moan about this place, they are usually the ones who just live on junk food and cannot be bothered to cook themselves.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O`Buzio also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O`Buzio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.