We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best Restaurants we went to” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Panacee

Panacee
Rua Do Forte, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
289 514 261
Improve this listing
Ranked #231 of 577 Restaurants in Albufeira
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One of the best Restaurants we went to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

My partner & I went to Panacee a few times for a great english breakfast at super prices, but were recommended by people where we were stayed, to try fresh Sea Bass, a fish that we had never tried...... WELL IT WAS SIMPLY GORGEOUS!! THE BEST FISH WE HAD EVER EVER HAD!!! The 2 guys that run the place were so very friendly & the service was good. Will recommended it to any one who is there on holiday. EXCELLENT EXCELLENT :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    6
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Our favourite restaurant in Albufeira”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Ate here four times in the two weeks we were staying in Albufeira. Loved each visit, they serve fresh fish which my partner thoroughly enjoyed. Service was amazing, the two gentlemen who ran the restaurant were very friendly and welcoming. On our final visit they gave me a bottle of my favourite wine for free. When we visit next year we will be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice, but like sitting in an oven!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Lovely meal, lovely service but SO SO hot! We moved inside when we found no shade and it was no better. It was a quick in and out meal and then to a nice cool bar to finish our night! Good food though.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paddy in Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“top class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The food here is AMAZING!!! It's near the Monica Isabel beach resort and clube Oceano hotels. Service is excellent and very good value for money. They are closed on Wednesdays. Best food we had anywhere in Portugal. Went back twice and would have went another time but they were closed on Wednesdays. Wish we had discovered it sooner on our holiday. Had garlic bread and tomato soup to start. Just really good! Chicken Kebab and prawn kebab for main, delicious again and plenty of it. The Apple pie is to die for and the vanilla ice cream is just delicious. I always find it hard to get nice desserts in Sun holiday destinations as everything seems to be that frozen stuff but everything is fresh in this restaurant. You won't find better in Albufeira. Only issue is for families it might be a bit of a squeeze to get a buggy in the restaurant. Definitely eat here!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Panacee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I were staying in an apartment at the Monica Isabel Hotel and ate at this restaurant 6 out of the 7 days of our stay (it is closed on Wednesdays). The food and service is fabulous and excellent value for money. Jorge, the owner, is an excellent host and his staff are incredibly helpful which really made our holiday. Panacee has a lovely outside seating area and the interior is spotlessly clean, homely and inviting. All the meals are freshly cooked and presented well - a must to visit when you are in the area!! We will definitley recommend Panacee to everyone we speak to about our holiday.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panacee also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to Panacee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panacee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.