We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hostel I've ever stayed!!!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sol a Sul Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sol a Sul Apartments to your Saves list
Sol a Sul Apartments
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Rua Dr Diogo Leote, 7, Albufeira, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Krakow, Poland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best hostel I've ever stayed!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

The best hostel I have ever stayed!!! Fancy and cheap, very well equipped (TV, Wi-Fi, full kitchen and bath) and perfectly located. 100 meters on foot to the elevator which brings you to one of the most beautiful beaches in the world! This hostel has a swimming pool inside and the terrace on the top of the building with wonderful view!!! Its managers are true artists who still create its interior like the real house! Very helpful people - they gave us a lift to hospital when we needed a doctor!

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor are closest to the swimming pool although the highest floors are closest to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    14
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Klaipeda, Lithuania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed in Sol a Sul Apartments in June and it couldn't be any better!

The location of Sol a Sul is great. The place is very central but at the same time very calm. The beach and some supermarkets for food are just a few minutes away.

The apartment was beyond our expectations: stylish, clean and spacious. Also you can find all the equipment you need in the kitchen. We could reach the swimming pool from our balcony as we lived on the ground floor. And it was great!:)

Besides, the owner of Sol a Sul Apartments is very friendly and extremely helpful. I would choose this place again without any doubts.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We booked 2 apartments a week before arriving and got two side by side on the ground floor, with the pool just outside. The location was great, about 500meters from the beach, and a 3min walk to the square in the old town. The manager was extremely nice, very helpful with directions around the town, places to go/see, and very accommodating to the fact that we arrived a while before check-in. The pool is crystal clear, and refreshingly cold. Wi-fi is available, and fresh towels.
No air conditioning, but we didn't find this a problem at all.
Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We loved these very spacious apartments which are in a very quiet location, yet only minutes from the beach and the bars. Our room was on the top floor and there was a beautiful view of the sea from the balcony. The large rooms are decorated with the owners own artwork and and are all different.There is a good 15m pool and a large roof terrace with sunbeds
The owner is very approachable and soon replaced a few utensils that were missing on arrival.
We enjoyed chatting with him and he said he would be making more improvements to the terrace.
We intend visiting Alufeira again and these apartments would be our first choice

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Sol a Sul is a fantastic location for a holiday on the Algarve! It is a short walk to the vibrant Albufeira Old Town yet distant enough to be quiet and peaceful at night. The beach is literally a 3 minute walk away.

The staff at Sol a Sul offered service over and above our expectations.

There was free parking for our hired car right outside the apartments building. Our sea view was a proper sea view (Not a sliver of blue between a load of skyscrapers as is the case in some places).

It will be very difficult to find a self-catering apartment better than those offered by Sol a Sul

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

If we ever come to Albufeira again, I can't imagine staying anywhere else. It was so good that nothing compares to it...
It’s a peaceful place though it’s in the most popular location – in the picturesque old town. It’s 2 min. away from a beach but it has a private swimming pool – to share by residents only.
We've got a stylish apartment with space for 4 people to sleep, with a fully-equipped kitchen and a large balcony, overlooking a swimming pool and all of it for a price of a hostel room. It felt like at home as though the owner lives in the same building, you will never see him unless you want it, so you get your privacy. BTW: the owner is a v. friendly, relaxed man, who seems to have an artistic soul as the apartments have their spirit…Great place and lovely memories

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We were a couple staying at Sol a sur for two night in April 2012!! We had the chance to have the view and direct access to the pool. The appartment was spacious, clean and have everything we need!!
Fernando (the owner) speak English and French. He was very helpful to direct us to the beach, supermarket and call us a taxi for the earlier morning train.
The location was great! A few minutes walk to the beach and close to 2 supermarkets.
Overall, we Had a great stay. Good value for the price!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol a Sul Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol a Sul Apartments

Address: Rua Dr Diogo Leote, 7, Albufeira, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol a Sul Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOL A SUL Apartments,We are Only 11 Big, comfy,sunny, Apartments With Swimingpool , Located 150 m From The Beach And 250m Away From The Old Town And All Facilities 3 Min. Walking From The Albufeira Beach ''Peneco'' 1 Bedroom Big Apartments T1 For 2 -4 Persons With Kitchenette , Completely Equipped with stove,fridge,microwave,toaster,electric kettle,Room With 2 Beds Or Double Bed,Bathroom with bathtub,Living Room With two beds ,big TV+SatTv,wireless Net ,And all of them have a Terrace with table and chairs,To Have A Meal In The Sun,looking to the sea......Bed sheets and linen are provided and safebox. Ideal for family with children,middle age couples or young couples,very quiet place,but very near to the centre of ALBUFEIRA.You Are In The Old Town,You Can See The Churches,Or Just Relax Or Have Fun In The Bars,Restaurants And Discos From Famous Albufeira Night Life.... Discover Beautyfull Albufeira And His Sunny 25 BeachesAllowing you to take advantage of not only the beach but also the wide variety of bars and restaurants in Albufeira, the apartment offers one bedroom with two single beds, living room with sofa-beds, complete bathroom, fully-equipped kitchen and a communal pool during the summer months.Enjoy your holiday in Portugal in a Algarve holiday home with pool directly at the seaside or in a centrally located holiday apartment from which you can reach the beaches on foot!Great value for a relaxing break on the Algarve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sol a Sul Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol a Sul Apartments Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol a Sul Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.