We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, enjoyable tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adega do Cantor

Adega do Cantor
| Quinta Do Miradouro, Albufeira 8200-442, Portugal
(00351) 968 776 971
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 35 Activities in Albufeira
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice, enjoyable tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

The vineyard operates a pick-up service, which was great for ourselves, as we wouldn't have been able to get there any other way.
The vineyard is situated in beautiful scenic surroundings.
There was 6 of us on the tour, so it felt more intimate than some other tours.
Lots of information about the types of grape used, and the production process.
The guide (sorry, can't remember her name), was excellent and spoke very good English.
A taster session is offered at the end of the tour, where a selection of the vineyards wines, are available for sampling.
Tour and tasting took around 1 hour total.
Would recommend if you are a wine enthusiast.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    30
    8
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Moretonhampstead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A wet visit to Cliff's vineyard.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Could have done with Sir Cliff warbling away to us a la Wimbledon on this very rainy day in late September.
The vineyard is small, as is the yield but the wine is good quality. We were taken on a tour around the fermentation tanks and given a talk by a very knowledgeable guide who was also a lifelong fan of Sir Cliff.
A wine tasting followed of a white, red, rose, sparkling and a reserve red. Bit too early in the day to imbibe for me, but the rest of the group seemed to enjoy the selection judging by the amount they were putting down their necks and they certainly recouped the €7.50 tour fee.
Certainly worth a visit, just don't expect to see Sir Cliff.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I was under the impression to be taken onto the vineyard, shown which grapes are for which wine. We was an hour on the premises.. under the impression it was longer, if not a day, where it has been before. I do not count this as a tour. Just a money making scheme because of its celebrity status. I have been on far much better tours in England..and yes england has wineries! If you want to know about the owners of the land, where cliff richards villa and just drink wine then it is perfect.. If you want to see how the wine is made and have more understanding about wine then I think you should wait. If you are looking just for something to do for an hour then come here.. nice views.. You can buy this wine from Waitrose in UK so do not be duped into paying for the home delivery service.. Otherwise those who appreciate wine and not celebrities, then I would go to a different winery.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit at a bargain price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

€7.50 was an absolute bargain! Not only did we get a great tour and overview of wine production but also a wine tasting experience where we tasted four different wines.

Well worth a visit even if not a cliff fan. We are 28,28,30,30 and not fans but it was super fun: the guide was fantastic xx

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice little Winery.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Thanks to Liz for a very imformative day learning how the wine is produced and tasted which was very good.
Well worth the visit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adega do Cantor also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to Adega do Cantor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adega do Cantor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.