We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to try this restaurant for the Dario experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O Prazeres Restaurante

O Prazeres Restaurante
17 Alves Correia, Albufeira, Portugal
Improve this listing
Ranked #231 of 582 Restaurants in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“You have to try this restaurant for the Dario experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We have visited this restaurant every time we go to Albufeira. It's family owned, fresh ingredients, great home cooking very affordable with fish as their speciality. But the biggest attraction is the Maitre de - Dario. My kids fell in love with him six years ago and his enthusiasm and cheerful outlook rubs off on everyone. You just got to experience it for yourselves.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    30
    3
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“The best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Simply the best prawns I've ever eaten, waiter was very friendly and helpful, if you enjoy traditional Portuguese cooking try here

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München, Deutschland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic sardines. Best price / value Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This restaurant is a bit off the main street. It offers authentic fresh fish. The sardines we had were really good. And the place charges local prices so it is quite cheap for the quality of food you get. One of the waiters is from England so if you don't speak Portuguese he can help you.

I can highly recommend this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“"Billy Bream"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

When we visit Albufeira, O Prazeres is on our to do list. Always a cheery welcome from Dario, and always fresh fish. This time we had the golden bream, & as always, it was cooked well with plenty of potatoes & veg. It may not look much from the outside, but there is always happy atmosphere and its nice not to feel like just a "bum on a seat" ! If you love fresh fish, then this place is a must.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, Berkshire
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“All-in-all very impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

I was surprised to see this restaurant relatively low down on the list of restaurants in Albufeira as it was one of my favourites during my week there.

The food was outstanding. Steak Portuguese style was absolutely delicious. The steak was incredibly tender and lovely with a port and mushroom sauce. My parents had a moist Tuna steak - my dad claiming it was the best he had tasted. A great thing about this restaurant is that unlike a lot of restaurants in this area, they have a lot of options for vegetarians too.

I'd like the atmosphere to be a bit better but due to it being early evening and only our party and one other sitting inside, it was a bit silent, but this didn't merit losing a star.

Service was unlike any other that we had experienced with the bilingual waiter ensuring that we had the best meal possible. As we ordered he explained everything that was in the dish just in case we didn't like something and provided general service with a smile and enthusiasm thoughout the whole evening.

Prices were about average for the area but the steak dish I had was around €13 and yet was €17 just next door!!

Brilliant!



  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Prazeres Restaurante also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to O Prazeres Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O Prazeres Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.