We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but boring ” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Eden Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Eden Resort to your Saves list
Eden Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Loteamente da Quinto da Bolota | Lote 2, Vale de Santa Maria, Albufeira 8200-053, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Ok but boring ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

This was our first visit to Portugal, we went as a family with 3 children aged 8,4 & 3, the apartment was nice plenty of utensil and appliances in the modern kitchen, although our apartment was cleaned 6 out of the 10 days we stayed our sheets were never changed they just made the beds, ALL INCLUSIVE was ok to start with but them 1 fish dish & 1 meat dish was all we had to choose from every single day so ate out, absolutely NOTHING to do for kids, this may be different In summer, but we spent nights in our room watching the couple of English TV channels which r available, ( which we do at home) no entertainment at all!!! Small bar area which can seat around 20 ppl was to crowed, so again sat in our room,staff seemed ok with us, cleaners have a bit of an attitude, Carlos is a great guy as r many of the bar staff, all in all dissapointed in the food/entertainment and lack of things to do, would love to visit Portugal again but will not be returning to eden.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Eden Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review and take all to consideration.

We are sorry you will not be returing due to the lack of entertainment which in the summer season we provide more activities and Kids club for children.
We welcome you to return and may find the summer season may suit you best at the Eden Resort.
We are also sorry you did not enjoy the meals in the restaurant, the All inclusive is a Bronze All inclusive which have timetables and limited snacks/drinks included.(available before booking and at check in)

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    611
    322
    128
    104
See reviews for
620
587
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (553)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

This was our third visit to the Eden Resort and I am sad to say that they seem to have let their standards drop. This time we went self catering as we missed enjoying the local restaurants on our first visit, although we were quite happy with the all inclusive in February 2012 and were really pleased with the accommodation. However the standards had dropped slightly over Christmas 2012, but we did self catering so enjoyed our stay and still returned for Christmas and New year 2013/2014, as we love Albufeira old town. Our first major disappointment was our decision to pay for a meal on the evening we arrived, as we did not pick up our hire car until 7pm and just wanted to chill out after travelling. It cost 25 euros for the two of us and from start to finish (which was not long) was the worst meal we had ever been served and ate very little. The wine was disgusting, we left.it and the coffee machine was empty of milk. My partner went to the counter to ask for it to be filled and was slung some cold milk in a plastic cup. We left hungry and very disappointed. We complained to the reception the following morning and our money was refunded without a blink, so were clearly not the first. This was followed by being charged 25euros a week for internet which was extremely hit and miss. As we had another three days left after that ran out it would have cost us 10 euros a day, so had to purchase another week at another 25 euros. The standard of cleanliness had also dropped considerably, although in fairness to our maid she was very good in supplying linen etcetera when we asked, but the floors headboard and sofa needed cleaning and the curtains in some rooms were hanging off hooks, which we did our best to put right ourselves as by the second day it was clear that they did not have an odd job man on sight and we were fed up with moaning. We are returning to Portugal in March, but needless to say, we have chosen another resort

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Eden Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review and take all to consideration.

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay this time and feel the standard has dropped.

The Management and Staff work very hard to insure guests are comfortable and have an enjoyable stay therefore we are sorry you feel this was not the case.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

.After arriving to complex over two hours late because our coach broke down we were told we were a day early.I explained to receptionist we had requested early checkin when booking.I have nothing he said and did not seem to care.3am stranded in what seemed to be a very large housing estate.after telephoning our travel agent we were given a three bed villa at 4am justfor that night it was hugh just for two.The next day we were given keys to our apartment.We were put in the furthest corner of resort facing road and constent traffic.The next day we had to pay 205 EUROS for first night stay or management were going to make us leave a day early. Would not recommend taking teenagers nothing to do.Food only average .Not enough staff to cope we had to wait for tables to be cleared nearly every meal then wait for cutlery or cups or dessert Nothing to do in evening have to take taxi to town.worst holiday EVER.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Eden Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review and take all to consideration.

Requesting an early check in is not a day in advance, the Hotel check in time is at 4pm and usually guests can check in by 2pm however you arrived a day in advance and was charged as normal for the extra night.
This was all explained and understood while your stay.
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay at the Eden Resort however are always welcome to return.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from Eden resort today after spending seven days there with a buddy. You cannot fault the accommodation and you can see why the apartments and villas were originally built for timeshare. The clubhouse is a little bit of an afterthought and is not big enough, the bar only has seats for about 20 people and was rammed on the Saturday night, I felt sorry for the one barman. The food is not great but there is generally a choice of pasta, meat etc and always plenty of salad and fruit and it is not the worst I have stated. Breakfast was always good with plenty of real sausage, no fried or poached eggs but scrambled was good. We stayed in a 2 bed apartment and it had 2 bathrooms and an excellent kitchen and lounge. I have heard bad vibes about the staff, I can honestly say they were all fine and really appreciate any tip however small. If you are planning to use the indoor pool take a swim cap. If you do not, they will not let you use it unless you purchase one for 5 euros. There is also some inconsistency with the 100 euro deposit asked for at check in. Most people were asked for it but chatting to some couples they were not which is rather strange. Please also note; the apartments are not generally available until 4.00 pm but we did get ours about 2.00pm. We paid 230 pounds each for a weeks all inclusive including flights and despite the food I still think it was good value. Please note that the old town is quiet in January, although several restaurants are open by Fisherman's beach. There are only really 2 bars open in the square and there prices go up at night. The rock cafe is generally 2.50 euros until 9.30, after that it is 4 euros. Sir Harry's Bar charge 4 euros from 5.30 onwards

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Eden Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review and take all to consideration.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Eden Resort and hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Use this resort as Self catering ONLY, don't say you weren't warned,

we went hungry on the evening of Christmas as it was left over gristle from during the day topped with packet mash, ( this was the average standard) i am not a picky eater but could not eat from this very, very poor offer.
There for 10 days 21.12.13 to 31.12.13 and would say 3/10 for food, breakfast ok but by 26th we had to start getting shuttle down to the old Town for food. I mean some mince for bolognaise would have been luxury here.

I think the owners should worry to who they have managing this resort as i am sure it will be run to the ground very soon,do they not know there is a recession on? so to get people to come back and spend their money there they will need to make some serious changed as to what they offer by way of food & service.
4 out of 5 couples or families were very unhappy with the food, sometimes it was just slops.
Not enough staff, manager missing in action. The staff left to run around like headless chickens with no support or leadership. Such a terrible lack of management i have never seen, what a disgrace, this manager should be fired. We had to clean a table and try to get some clean cutlery just to sit down!
We are laughing now but was not too funny at the time as i felt it spoiled our Christmas break, we could have spent £1000 elsewhere and i am sure that's what most of Dec 2013 customer will be doing.

Room Tip: I found the apartment to be very nice, clean, in good nic and got my bed made and towels changed eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Eden Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review so we can always improve.

We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay, The Resort has added some new ideas to the menu according to our guests feedback.
However the meals served in the Restaurant is from an excellent quality and freshly made.

The resort Management and staff are very sorry once again you did not enjoy however you are always welcome to return again.
Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Totally disappointed,we had two 2 bedroom apartments,arrived Saturday and towels not changed until Tuesday,wet towels removed from bath and hung up,not one of the soap dispensers had any soap in all week.Informed reception twice and ignored both times. Bedding sheets not changed during 7 day stay.Food served is awful,warm,soggy,cold beans at breakfast. Got so annoyed by Tuesday asked to see the Resort Manager (Fatima),she was not available,requested she contacted me in person or by mobile,surprise surprise as I was informed by staff she will not face customers,disgusting customer service.!!!!! No children's club!!! Although All Inclusive I could not have a Gin & Tonic before 14.00pm. Bar ran out of water at 10.00pm on two occasions.Afternoon toasties,ordered at 4pm still not arrived at 5pm,complained to Barmen who said I would need to take it up with the kitchen, discussed with kitchen who said I need to take it up with bar in. VERY AGGRESSIVE manner. Wrong thing to do to me,went to reception asked for manager Fatima who was not available,filled in customer complaint form, no response whatsoever.Evening discussions with other guests who had the same comments as ourselves,one couple requested a move to another resort it was that bad.I could go on and on with many other things but I am getting annoyed as I write this,a waste of £2600 which me and my son worked really hard to pay for this holiday.If the resort manager wants to speak to me I would welcome a conversation,I do not expect a call but look at my complaint form it has all my contact details on there, room 119/120 arrived Saturday 28/12 for one week. Look forward to discussing with you Fatima???

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Eden Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review and take all to consideration.

We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay at the Eden Resort.
The All inclusive package is a Bronze which has Rules and Regulations which must be followed.

Due to the poor service you have stated and requesting to speak to the Manager, I will address this to the Manager and will look further into this situation.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

we had everything we needed. We were not all inclusive because we like to do our own thing As we had a late flight we did eat in the restaurant on the first night and also breakfast the following morning. food was not to our taste and it was apparent that the kitchen and waiting staff could not cope with numbers of people they had to feed .This said we could not find any fault with our town house accom. clean towels when needed Nd staff came to clean more than needed.Shuttle bus great and takes minutes to get to town We would definitely stay here again as we found it convenient for the town and everything we needed in accom.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems ask for accom near to reception as this is where restaurant, shop and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Eden Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review and take all to consideration.

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Resort

Address: Loteamente da Quinto da Bolota | Lote 2, Vale de Santa Maria, Albufeira 8200-053, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
#22 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#26 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#43 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Eden Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Eden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Hotel Albufeira
Eden Resort Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eden Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.