We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eden Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Eden Resort to your Saves list
Eden Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Loteamente da Quinto da Bolota | Lote 2, Vale de Santa Maria, Albufeira 8200-053, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stunning resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Just returned and like many others I was concerned with the reviews about poor food, while a wider selection would be better at dinner, the breakfast and lunch was top class. Now looking at previous reviews in regards to the food, people are clearly expecting four star that they would get in a British hotel. the resort is stunning, slightly understaffed for the season starting to get into full flow, but all the staff are friendly and pleasant despite the pressures.

The small problems I would have, is that the adult pool always had children in it, some of the loungers were broke, people reserving loungers all day and not using them(not hotels fault but needed to vent my annoyance)

The resort is a fair bit a way from the town, well within walking distance just wouldn't be a pleasurable walk as it's mainly motorway. The resort was built for mass entertainment clearly but there is plenty of variety for families most nights.

The room was stunning and cleaned daily, fresh towels and bed sheets, if ever going back I would also consider going self catering as the facilities were top notch.

All in all great resort and don't be worrying about the reviews as some people clearly expecting a top class luxury holiday and not wanting to pay the price and then complain when they don't!!

Room Tip: all reasonable enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    611
    321
    128
    104
See reviews for
620
586
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (552)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We sere a party of 8 and we loved out stay.
Godo food, godo drink a, very nice western so, perfect.
The inique problem Was a out 30 minutes Without power but all tre rest Was very good.

We allways had fresh towels and the appartments well cleaned.
We will retro.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turkey, Texas
2 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

I have just returned from a two week stay in Eden resort. We were there on a self catering basis. Our apartment was very well finished with everything we needed - so much so that we chose to cook in instead of eat out most nights. Our apartment was cleaned everyday, mopped, fresh towels and linen changed once a week. The fixtures in the bathroom were good quality and the aircon was great. The staff were very helpful - particularly Natasha on the front desk she went above and beyond for us. The mini market was fine and had rolls for lunch etc. the pools were lovely and the walk into the old town was pleasant.

This place has originally been built for timeshares etc and the fittings such as sofas maybe cannot handle the abuse. The bar is very small and not appropriate for a resort of this size. There was very little entertainment at night. Apart from that we had a brilliant stay, can't understand all of the complaints people seem to have and are booking for next year again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Just spent a week in a 2 bed apartment for my 40th birthday with husband and 3 kids aged 13, 11 and 1. The resort is beautiful and very clean. Our apartment (number 19) was on the ground floor and had a veranda and a grassed garden area with sun loungers of extremely high quality. The apartment was lovely inside - just like the brochure photos - and had everything we needed for self-catering. The area was very quiet, although the pool areas started getting very busy towards the end of our stay. If you're happy sitting out until the sun goes down, drinking wine and playing board games with the kids then you'll love it here. If you want lots of entertainment then it's not for you. The walk down to the supermarket is pretty steep, but taxis are very cheap and we went into Albufeira a few times - it's a bit more touristy than I remember from years ago, and I imagine it gets rowdy at night, but it's nice for a bit of market shopping and a meal out. We had a couple of power cuts whilst there - one which lasted for 4 hours and was rather inconveniently at tea-time so we had no food - so take candles/matches just in case. Overall, really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Ground floor apartments have lots more room - a garden and sun loungers rather than just a balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marthadubuf, Guest Relations Manager at Eden Resort, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review so we can always improve.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and our services meet your expectations.

The powercut that occured was in the local área and sorry for the inconvinence which lasted 30 minutes.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We spent a week at the Eden Resort in May 2013 and were very disappointed with it.
Firstly as we discovered when we got there this was built as a residential development not a holiday resort and it was only the economic downturn that forced the developer to lease it to a hotel group until the property market picks up.
So with that in mind the bar and restaurant were never designed to have hundreds of holiday makers everyday and night so it is no wonder that we were constantly disappointed in them.

The food was bland and luke warm at best cold on some occasions and this led us to going into Albufeira on a number of occasions for dinner even though we were on all inclusive. The bar is tiny and no matter what time of the year you go there is only ever one staff member on and the same apply's to the pool bar during the day so be prepared for long waits for drinks and snacks.

The apartments are big but again ours needed a deep clean and a refresh of the decor and furnishings as the couch and bed covers were stained and worn looking. We complained everyday and asked for a proper clean to be carried out but never got one .

The staff were run of their feet but tried very hard to please so I can't fault them there were just not enough of them.

I am becoming very frustrated with people who obviously are not used to real 4 & 5 star resorts and hotels giving resorts like this top marks as there was not a single person who we spoke to rated the resort anything better than a 3 star and the food and drink 2 star.This makes it very disappointing when you base a holiday choice on Tripadvisor members reviews who obviously enjoy any old rubbish and think it is good.

Thankfully this was just a last minute week away and we have our main holiday in New York to look forward to next month.

Room Tip: Dont go if you want a relaxing well catered holiday
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marthadubuf, Guest Relations Manager at Eden Resort, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review and take all to consideration.

We are very sorry you feel this way of your stay at the Eden Resort.

The apartements/vilas are cleaned and checked by our head housekkepr before guests check in, the daily cleaning is then carried out six times a week including fresh towels every other day and sheets once a week.
If there is any issue and guests report to reception this issue is taking care of.
The size of the bulidings does not interfere with the service suppiled to our guests which is a service of a 4 star resort.
Our priority are our guests and making our guests feel comfortable and satisfied during their stay.

We are once again sorry you did not enjoy your stay however are always welcome to stay again.
Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nóbrega.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I,m at the end of a weeks all inclusive holiday here in Eden Resort. The apartment is superb. Very clean and comfortable. With everything you need and more (we have a fully fitted kitchen, and as we,re all inclusive we have no real need for this). There is a large flat screen tv, also there is an iPod docking system with CD player and radio. The apartment is very spacious and outside we have 2 loungers and a table and 2 chairs........ This brings me to the confusing part of the holiday, when we arrived we were told we had been upgraded to a 2 bedroom apartment but they had actually locked off the 2nd bedroom and bathroom???? This resulted in the apartment being dark, dull and a little unwelcoming to a degree. Also it would appear that they removed 2 of the outside chairs???
As for the food, it was adequate and mostly eatable. Although there was a very limited choice. The salad bar each lunch and dinner was always, iceberg lettuce tomatoes, onions and peppers. There was maybe some tuna and bean salad or pasta salad, that was all. The hot food at lunch and dinner was always chips, only one type of meat and almost always hake. Vegetables consisted of only one choice each meal. The meat was always cut into small portions (don't know why this was) also they were very slow to replenish the bamborie?? The breakfast was very good, the best meal of the day.
The all inclusive was hard to avail of, there is only one bar opened at a time. The pool bar opened 10 until 7 (but all inclusive could only start using it from 11am). Then the Apple bar opened at 7 until 12 (again all inclusive went only till 11pm). I don't drink at all during the day, but I do like a cup of tea, so in order to get a cuppa I had to go to the pool bar. Which wasn't,t really suitable as there are only 2 staff serving the whole complex!! At night in the (only bar) Apple there was only 1 person serving??? It appeared to me that all inclusive guests were deliberately made to find it difficult, I got the impression that all inclusive had been abused in the past, and that is why it,s now difficult to enjoy the all inclusive experience. But new guests should not have to pay the penalty of past sinners!!!
On the whole this complex has the capacity to be -the garden of Eden- but obvious cutbacks have sullied it. It would take very little to raise this complex to the 5 star status it claims, but at the moment I find it difficult to give just above 3 star.
Lastly I,d like to remark on the entertainment .... There really wasn't,t any ... The Apple bar is too small by far to host any enjoyable entertainment and what there was on was mainly bingo most nights and the entertainment was not made known to the guests. Again we go back to the resort making it difficult to avail of it,s few perks.

Room Tip: Bed and breakfast is the best option for this resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marthadubuf, Guest Relations Manager at Eden Resort, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review and take all to consideration.

We are pleased you found your apartment to be spacious and well equipped.
The two bedroom apartments are on ground floor and one bedroom on the first floor, as you booked a one bedroom however the ones available were being painted we offered you a one bedroom on ground floor by closing one door.
I believe this was a plus for you during your stay having the garden.

The food served in the resturant is a a bufet so you can always repeat meals if you wish to.

The resort offers entertainment for adults and children during the day and six times a week in the evening.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We have recently returned from a week long all inclusive break in a one bedroom apartment and I am already wishing to go back. The resort itself is gorgeous and the apartment was ideal, very clean and despite other mixed reviews about the food we found it all fine. The pool bar food was ok but restaurant food much nicer and good selection of choice available. Out little girl is nearly two and she loved the pool, which was very clean. Also the playground and stream with the fish were a daily must. The resort itself is on a small hill but they provide a free shuttle bus into the old town every two hours and its only about four euros in a cab too. Would stay here again and recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marthadubuf, Guest Relations Manager at Eden Resort, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review and take all to consideration.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and our services meet your expectations.

We are also pleased you will return and look forward to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Resort

Address: Loteamente da Quinto da Bolota | Lote 2, Vale de Santa Maria, Albufeira 8200-053, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
#22 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#26 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#43 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Eden Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Eden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Hotel Albufeira
Eden Resort Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eden Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.