We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eden Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Eden Resort to your Saves list
Eden Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Loteamente da Quinto da Bolota | Lote 2, Vale de Santa Maria, Albufeira 8200-053, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
prestwick
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“lovely resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

just back from a week at the eden with my 17 year old daughter. We were all inclusive but had a very spacious spotless apartment a few mins walk from reception and right across from the pool. Maid cleaned every day except sunday and always got clean towels. Pool area lovely, only drawback not enough parasols for amount of sunbeds, 5 for 84 beds one day, and nowhere to sit in the shade. Snack available at pool bar all day, although A/I guests only between 11-12 and 4-5.30 and not everything on the menu was included which i found unusual. Soft and alcoholic drinks all branded names. Staff all very friendly except Jaoa at the pool bar who only seemed happy to speak to those who were portugese and seemed to have an issue with guests who were A/I as apposed to self catering!!! Food at dining room lovely and always fresh, not enough staff though to clear tables and a couple of times we had to clear and set our own table. Lack of seating at night as only small apple bar open which was roasting inside and only seated about 20 people. Would suggest pool bar opened at night as would have been pleasant to have sat down there in the evenings with music on in the background. A lot of other guests agreed as the evenings were quite boring and we ended up back in the apartment watching tv. Shuttle bus great for going down into the town 4 times a day. Steep incline to walk back up so would recommend a taxi for 4 euros. Old Albufeirra is lovely with lots of eating places and nice wee shops. Good supermarket at bottom of hill and an Aldi and Lidl about 10 mins walk further on. If i had gone with young children i would have been disappointed at lack of avtivities for them heard you had to pay for kids club and when one couple enquired about it were told it was fully booked for a week!!! A wee kids disco at night would have been good to keep them amused too. All in all we enjoyed our week at the eden resort and not sure what peoples complaints are about cleanliness and food. Reception staff very helpful and all speak very good english :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marthadubuf, Guest Relations Manager at Eden Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review so we can always improve.

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Eden Resort and are always welcome to stay again.

The entertainment is advertised at reception or in the kiosk area including a kids party 3 times a week.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    611
    322
    128
    104
See reviews for
620
587
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (553)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My partner and I booked to stay at Eden resort for a few days in February half term. We were given the dirtiest apartment I have ever seen, it smelt of dirty dogs and greasy kitchens. The bathroom was vile with mould on the tiles and the only thing to wash with we're empty bottles of cheap soap which presumably should have been full - looked like cheap own brand stuff. We arrived late so we went for our all-inclusive meal, a joke of course as they was just a bit of cold soup, boiled rice and chicken supreme left. So we had to go elsewhere for our meal. On our return we complained about the room and the food but they didn't want to know. We stay regularly in the Algarve and were so disappointed with this place we moved that night to another hotel and they refused to give us any money back even though we didn't stay or eat there. Still waiting for refund

Room Tip: Don't go it's terrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marthadubuf, Guest Relations Manager at Eden Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review and take all to consideration.

We are very sorry to read your review and sorry you feel so strongly of your stay.
Our accommodations are cleaned and double checked by a housekeeper for guests to check in.
The resataurant serves a buffet with a few selections to satisfy all, we have a 7 day menu so our meals do not repeat, meals are always replaced several times during meal times.

We are once again sorry you did not enjoy your stay however are always welcome to stay again.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walsall
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Just returned from a one week stay in a 1 bed apartment - we had considered cancelling the All inclusive after reading earlier reviews but were very pleased that we didn't. Breakfast was excellent - catering for all tastes. Lunch and evening meals were good offering a three+ choices of meat and fish dishes - salads was plentiful - rice & pasta - chips daily togeher with potato wedges a couple of times - and varied vegetables. The meals are Self service and at busy times the restuarant was over stretched but we never experience a wait longer than a couple of minuites. To improve the restuarant could do with a couple more staff to clear the tables a little quicker - the staff on duty were hardworking and always pleasant - all in all the food isn't 5* but good edible food and was great value for money.
The grounds and swimming pool areas are immaculate - the only gripe I would have around the pool areas is the usual -holiday makers would claim/reserve the loungers by putting beach towels down at dawn or leaving them there for 3/4 whilst they went to do other things!! but of course that is not the resorts fault it is the selfish tourist - me first attitude.
We would not hesitate to return to the resort
The apartment was very clean with a cleaner visiting 6 out of 7 days - it had all mod cons and very spacious for a one bed apartment.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marthadubuf, Guest Relations Manager at Eden Resort, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when our guests take time to post a review.

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and holiday at the Eden Resort.

We hope you return and are always welcome to stay again.
Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We travelled to Eden 2 weeks ago, and just arrived home yesterday. We arrived around 12.30 and were told that we had to wait a couple of hours and got our apartment at 3.15, but as check in is supposed to be at 4pm, this was understandable.
The apartments are lovely, modern, spacious, and clean. The kitchen is fully kitted out with a kettle, toaster, microwave, cooker, fridge and freezer and all cooking necessities, which was great when you're self catering like us. The maids came everyday to do a brief clean, except sundays, and the pools are lovely, and there is an adult pool if youre travelling without kids, and dont want to hear kids running around screaming, which we enjoyed.
However a few times the hotel slipped up;
A few nights into our stay the power cut out, it seemed to have affected most of the site, from what we could see from our window, and lasted for about 15 mins or so.
You get 30 mins free internet when you arrive, and after that you have to buy the internet, and couldnt buy any for about 2-3 days because the internet was down.
We wanted to buy a movie that is on the movies on demand section, and was told that the box they use for it was broken, and were waiting on a new one arriving.
We rushed home one evening to catch a film that was on one of the few channels in english, to arrive back to no tv working, no internet working and no phone working. Went round to reception and were told someone would come to fix it, and waited up until 12 that night, no one arrived til the following morning at 11.30am.
And finally, in the reception there are quite a few leaflets for different activities to do, so we chose a seafari, on a hydrolic foil boat (where there is a complete glass bottom to see under the sea) from Albuferia. And when I asked the receptionist how to book, she offered to do it for me, and booked with the wrong company and we ended up in Vilamoura on a 4 hour caves tour. And had to get a taxi back from Vilamoura which cost 30 euros! Which was really frustrating when the one we wanted to go on was in Albuferia! And also the hotel over charged me 14 euros, which I went back to claim when i reaslised their mistake.

All in all, was a great holiday, the facilities are great. But the hotel let us down on several occasions which was a bit disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marthadubuf, Guest Relations Manager at Eden Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review so we can always improve to satisfy our guests.

We are very sorry on behalf of the complications with booking your excursion, this was a mistake or a miscommunication between the company and member of staff, however the refund was given to you as soon as the problem was reported.
We are also sorry due to the powercut which occured for 15 mins in the área, this affected our internet/tv system which took a few days to fix unfortunately as waiting on the maintanence to come in from the company we work with.

However we hope these complications have not put you off and are always welcome to stay again with us at the Eden Resort.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portrush, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Having just returned from Eden it's very clear that it's pot luck when you get there. A small number of guest were lucky and got a clean apartment with no major problem. If like us you drew the short straw you got in line with the many other guests lining up at reception to complain. The first apartment we were given was disgusting. The second we opened the apartment the rotten stench of various smells hit us. The apartment had not been cleaned at all and was filthy dirty complete with pubic hairs in the bath and all over the floor. The bed had been made but I doubt if the sheets had been changed from the previous guests. As the smell was cutting the throats of us we went to open the balcony door to find on drawing back the curtains that the inside of the door was alive with insects and also crawling with ants.
My husband returned to reception to complain about the state of the place and one of the staff came and looked at it and agreed it hadn't been cleaned. They then said that the resort was full so we'd have to wait to be moved to a clean room and after about an hour we got moved. She told us that she personally checked it and that the new room was spotless. Clearly she either didn't look at the apartment or she had very poor standards as this one wasn't much better than the other one. In the end we did our best to clean it our selves as we were hungry and tired after a long day travelling.
We were all inclusive which was a massive waste of money as it's nearly impossible to get a drink as they have so many restrictions and rules! The food is a joke and you get so little choice or selection that you end up eating chips and salad the entire stay.
The pools are dirty with broken filters and bits hanging of what we think were lights so were a danger to anyone using them. Various objects were on the floor of the pool when we arrived and were still there when we went home. 2 days before we left they had to drain one of the adult pools and refused to tell us why.
I could rant and go on about how bad Eden is but the management couldn't care less about what the guests think. Save your money and back some where decent and clean!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marthadubuf, Guest Relations Manager at Eden Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review and take all to consideration.

We are very sorry to read through your review, i recall the first apartment you were checked into was perfectly clean however you complained of the marks on the walls which was explained by myself that it was from previous guests with their suitcases.
Then myself and our head housekeeper which may i add are professional workers of high standards checked another apartment for you to stay in which was clean, you were still not satisfied and were adviced to call your travel agency as all was fine.
As you can imagine there are bound to be insects at the resort and we cannot stop insects from entering accomodations this is refering to flies which was a complaint of yours while your stay.
The All Inclusive package is stated online or wherever you may book, there are timetables however i find it impossible to believe you could not get a drink as drinks are served from 11am-11pm.
Our pools are cleaned every morning and checked several times a day, including health and safety hazards.
The pool had to be emptied due to another guest being sick , this was explained to guests on a note left at the pool bar and reception.

I am once again sorry to read this as i feel we offered you the service as stated and i personally tryed to make your stay feel as comfortable as possible.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Spent a week here during Summer half term holidays as the price was very reasonable for our family of four.The resort is only four years old and is very clean and well designed with the restaurant and reception areas easily accessible from any of the villas.Very much geared towards Brits with young kids on the all inclusive package content with staying on the resort 24/7 and soaking up the sun.Don't be put off by this we have older children and took advantage of the brand new under used Tennis facilities mixing daily tennis and swimming with eating out and sight seeing.The resort location and price make this an excellent place to use as a base and explore the beautiful Algarve region and southern Spain.Hire car charges were again very reasonable and despite visiting most of the Algarve and Seville we only used a tank of diesel (60 euros). Our accommodation included a spacious kitchen with a large fridge freezer and we able to stock up from the two local supermarkets one of which did excellent take away BBQ chicken. Draw backs food was good but predictable and owners insist on you wearing wrist bands to indicate the package you had selected (we chose half board but were treated on occasion suspiciously as most other Brits had chosen all inclusive). We rebelled after a couple of days and removed our bands to keep them on their toes.

Room Tip: If you have older children get an upstairs villa which have nice balconies and better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marthadubuf, Guest Relations Manager at Eden Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your review,

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and holiday at the Eden Resort.

We hope you return and are always welcome to stay again.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a lovely resort, lovely apartments/town houses, with all mod cons, but we went for 4 days and no wifi, due to a storm! the food was ok, but lacked choice and local cuisine, the staff are lovely but over stretched! The bars are basic and no outside sitting unless you smoke! Great location but be prepared to walk a distance. The cleaner never ever came! And it was rather dirty on arrival xx hope this helps.

Room Tip: No room service pick a villa near the pool x
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marthadubuf, Guest Relations Manager at Eden Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your review,

We are very pleased you enjoyeed your stay however sorry you did not enjoy the meals in the Restaurant.

The apartments/villas are cleaned and checked by a head housekeeper, the daily cleaning is six times a week with a towel change everyother day and linen once a week.
If this service was not provided for some reason i believe you would make a complaint so it would be looked into however on our records we do not have any information.

We hope you do return and are always welcome to stay again.
Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Resort

Address: Loteamente da Quinto da Bolota | Lote 2, Vale de Santa Maria, Albufeira 8200-053, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
#22 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#26 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#43 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Eden Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Eden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Hotel Albufeira
Eden Resort Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eden Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.