We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful apartments and grounds!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eden Resort

Save Saved
You added Eden Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eden Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Loteamente da Quinto da Bolota | Lote 2, Vale de Santa Maria, Albufeira 8200-053, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 162 hotels in Albufeira
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful apartments and grounds!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in January for four nights with my husband, eight year old son and baby daughter. The grounds and apartments at this complex are out of this world. The apartments have kitchens to die for! Better than mine at home. They are the most fully equipped I have ever seen on holiday even have dishwashers!

We had a one bed very near to reception and it was so spacious and clean.

We were all inclusive and the food was a little disappointing I have to admit. Breakfast was fab but it went downhill from there. We ate out two nights out of four because the evening meals were not all that! The restaurant was also tiny so I dread to think how they would cope in peak season. If I went back I would go self catering as there is a handy supermarket over the road and the Old Town is a 15 minute walk away.

Although too cold to sunbathe in January the pool areas were immaculate and very inviting.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marthadubuf, Guest Relations Manager at Eden Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review and take all to consideration.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you return in the future.

However we are sorry you did not enjoy meals in the restaurant.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,374 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    358
    545
    276
    106
    89
See reviews for
539
537
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

A friend and I have just returned from a one weeks stay at Eden. This was advertised as a 5 star on ice lolly.com and it is most definately not. 3* max. We arrived at about 2.30am after being delayed for a considerable period; we were tired and hungry and asked man on reception if we could have a bottle of water and a snack- fruit, crisps etc and were told no. This is not what you expect from a all inclusive resort advertised as a high star. We were then given a map and had to search the whole resort in the dark for our apartment which was very far from reception.
The apartment was very nice; clean and good facilities and would be ideal on self catering basis. The pool was nice and a good selection of drinks.
If you were a family expecting to stay here for a week with no additional funds; which you should be able to do on an all inclusive basis- it wouldn't be very good. Luckily we hired a car and escaped for the day; discovering the Algarve which has much to offer.
Taxi's are cheap from Eden and arrive quickly and the shuttle bus is handy. However it only seats 8 so I dread to think what the queue would be like to get on it in summer.
The food in the restaurant is poor and is similar to school dinners. No meat in lasagne; spagetti paired with sproats etc. You would have to spend some time working out what it was and how you can make a meal out of it. Some members of staff are rude and when one couple had just arrived from a long journey to have something to eat in the restaurant at 9.30pm; the man said ' oh no, why are you arriving? I wanted to go home soon, go sit down!' that was not a nice welcome for them!
Snack bar has minimal choice but is ok if you want to avoid the restaurant and is good that you can have bottled water.
Entertainment is poor and not what you expect from an all inclusive resort.
This resort has alot of potential and would not take alot to get it up to standard. i.e more choice, better entertainment, better customer service, a welcome pack of water a few snacks etc in room, some soap in rooms, and someone to help you find your apartment and help with luggage.
It seems once they have got the money to get you here; they do not worry much about your stay. Would not stay here again as all inclusive.

Room Tip: Self catering seems the best option. Good place to explore but not stay in the complex all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marthadubuf, Guest Relations Manager at Eden Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review and take all to consideration.

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay at the Eden Resort.
The timetables are available before booking, including meal times, however we are sorry you feel you did not have a welcoming check in.
The meals served in the restaurant is served as a buffet with a few selections to satisfy all from healthy to non healthy meals(depend on tastes) starters and desserts. We do however find the comment made in your review of a member of staff being rude towards guests quite hard to believe, there was not a complaint made and staff have timetables and they do not leave as soon as the restaurant closes.
The entertainment is six times a week, from bingo, tropical show, karaoke and live music.

We are once again sorry you did not enjoy your stay however are always welcome to stay again.
kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Just back from 1 week with my husband and toddler at Eden Resort. Overall the resort was lovely, very modern and in a nice quiet location. We stayed in a 1 bed apartment which was modern and comfortable, and very well furnished and equipped. It was however a bit grubby in places, in particular the walls were marked and the neutral coloured sofa could have done with a clean. We were offered housekeeping every day and offered clean towels every other day.
We stayed on a half-board basis and, unlike other reviews on here, we really couldn't fault the food, buffet style and plenty of choice. The on-site supermarket was very small, limited stock and very overpriced, plus only open until 1pm every day. Local supermarket much bigger and half the price, 5 mins walk from reception area, though at the bottom of a long and steep hill. (not great with a buggy and heavy shopping). The resort was a bit further out than we expected. There was a shuttle service on offer but this didn't run very frequently and there was usually a queue. We walked into town a lot. Would recommend this resort for young families, anyone looking for a quiet, relaxing break and happy to stay mostly on site, or perfect if you like to use a hire car. Wouldn't recommend for anyone looking for social side of things and nightlife as the resort is a good bit out of Albuferia, 20mins walk or 5mins in taxi at about €4 each way. Our toddler loved the children's playground area and indoor pool. Can't comment on the outdoor pools as it wasn't warm enough to sit by them never mind getting in them! We were a bit disappointed with the weather but then no-one can control that. Also, as another reviewer on here, we had travelled on a 6.30am flight from Belfast and arrived at the resort at around 10am. Be aware that as this is a hotel the official check-in time is 4pm, this is not something we were made aware of on booking and arrived at the hotel with a tired toddler to be told we couldn't check-in for several hours. This was not necessarily the hotel's fault and after plenty of badgering, they did give us our apt earlier around 2pm. I did feel however that the best part of our first day was spent waiting around. Overall we had a lovely break away here, would probably go back, but would wait until May or June so that weather might be a bit warmer and sunnier.

Room Tip: Request a ground floor apartment on booking if possible. First floor apartments have quite a lot of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marthadubuf, Guest Relations Manager at Eden Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review and take all to consideration.

All the information is available before booking to stay, including timetables and distance to the nearest town.
The shuttle bus runs 4 times a day and returns also, there may at times be a queue however guests are never left behind.
The check in time is at 4pm, however usually the accommodations are avilable from 2pm, as you can imagine it is a resort with larger apartments/vilas to be cleaned comparing to a Hotel which also has check in times of 2pm.
We hope you did enjoy your stay and look forward for your return.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This awas my kind of holiday , a short 5 day break for me and my two boys . On arrival at the resort we were told we were being upgraded at no extra charge GREAT, We were right near reception so no problems there,the apartment was spotless and it being in feb the resort quiet not too many children.only one outside pool available to used others drained and my sons didnt want to wear the caps as they thought stupid so no swimming, football good though.weather alittle cool first 3 days but then lovely Albufeira old town my kind of place I believe May is the ideal time to go . Shuttle bus a god send some days,but most days walked to and from Eden no problem

Room Tip: \if you are a little bad on your legts you need to request a room nearer reception as i know some pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marthadubuf, Guest Relations Manager at Eden Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review so we can always improve.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Eden Resort and hope you return in the future.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Having recently returned from our second short break, Eden Resort is excellent for the price.
We booked for just my wife and I, and after such a great first visit we went back with our 3 teenage kids 2 weeks later.
The resort is stunningly clean and modern, the villas are certainly 5 star, the pools and resort is excellent, the food and drink are typical All Inc but very satisfactory and fresh which is, great again for the cost.
Only two moans would be the indoor 'spa' which is more lie a large plunge pool :) 4 people and the pool is jammed full! And the Restaurant is far too small when its busy, but all in all its excellent, we would recommend it no problem.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms would be great standard, but I would stay away from the clubhouse/bar as it can get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marthadubuf, Guest Relations Manager at Eden Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review and take all to consideration.

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you return in the future.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nóbrega.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stayed here in February with my husband and two children (9 and 5), and have only just written my review as I felt it was tricky to write.

To look at, the resort is immaculate with its pastel coloured apartments and houses. The gardens are well cared for, and there are pools all over resort. Checking in is quite a lengthy process, so be prepared for a wait. You have to leave a copy of your card as a deposit for damage, which is destroyed upon leaving, but you have to take their word for that as the safe was locked when we left.

The receptionist was helpful in directing us to our two bed town house, which to glance at was amazing. However, it was very unclean, lots of peoples hair on the floor in the bathrooms. The shower tap was hanging off the wall, we found a curler stuck to the curtain and a broken cup in the cupboard. Maybe management could leave some cleaning bits in the apartments as I would have been happy to clean it myself.

We went h/b and the food was edible. The boys loved all the fruit and ice cream and having the option to help themselves to food. The food was a bit bland, however there was lots of it. Other reviewers have commented on the size of the restaurant, I do agree, it is quite small. The staff are run off their feet and you have to wait for a long time to order a drink.

We had read reviews before we went and we were aware we needed swim hats, so purchased them on ebay before we went, they worked out at £1 with p&p. Other people did not bother with hats so it made a bit of a mockery out of the policy. The pool was on the small side and once felt crowded with 10-15 people in.

We would stay again, but it would not be my first choice. If you are going, go with an open mind, some people are over critical, the resort is spacious and bright. The cleanliness of the accommodation lets the resort down.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed here in March and the only plus point is the accomodation size. List of problems:

Damp all round the windows
Dirty floors and not clean bathrooms
Previous occupants clothing still in the draws
Dead bird with maggots coming out of it on the patio
Sick left in the toilets sink next to reception with an out of order sign on it
TV cut out at the sight of rain
Internet hardly worked
Shop is overpriced and poorly stocked
An apartment clean comprised of flushing the loos

I could go on but it forced us in to getting out of there and flying home early.

A claim as been placed with the travel agent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marthadubuf, Guest Relations Manager at Eden Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review and take all to consideration.

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay however we do not recall of guests leaving early.

The list of negative points was not reported to reception.
Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Resort

Address: Loteamente da Quinto da Bolota | Lote 2, Vale de Santa Maria, Albufeira 8200-053, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#26 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#41 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#73 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
#73 Business Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Eden Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Eden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Hotel Albufeira
Eden Resort Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eden Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.