We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eden Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Eden Resort to your Saves list
Eden Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Loteamente da Quinto da Bolota | Lote 2, Vale de Santa Maria, Albufeira 8200-053, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Co Armagh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Good Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We had read the reviews of this resort before and after we had booked and reviews were very mixed. We chose Eden Resort as we wanted some where with easy access to Albufeira. Its location is ideal 15 to 20 min walk down hill into The Old Town. We stayed here on a B & B basis as we were quite happy to explore Albufeira for dinner each evening. In around 30 euros or so for our meal each evening.

On arriving our apartment was not ready so we left luggage in luggage room and went to the pool snack bar for lunch. The food here was fine and in fact we ate at the snack bar every day for lunch. I can understand some of the gripes about being all inclusive as when you looked at the menu it seemed that all inclusive guests had supplements to pay for most of the food out of here.

Our one problem with service was when paying for use of the safe in our room, it had to be opened by the maintenance man for us to then select our own code etc, it cost 15 euros for the week and we paid for this upon check in. We were told that it would be opened for us some time through out that afternoon which it wasn't, we reminded reception that evening when we went out, and had to further say to them the next morning, It was eventually opened the next day which was a full 24 hrs after it had been paid for which was pretty poor service in my opinion.

As mentioned in other posts there did seem to be a lack of staff presence around the resort & it seemed that toilets in the pool area were only checked twice a day which you would expect more service from a 5 star resort,

We used the spa facilities at Eden Resort which was very good and well worth a visit.

Overall we spent a great week at Eden Resort and we find that it is ideally located & suited especially for young families with very spacious apartments which are well equipped. We do plan to return next year as we liked the accomodation and will probably choose to stay Self Catering.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marthadubuf, Guest Relations Manager at Eden Resort, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review and take all into consideration.

We are pleased you enjoyed your holiday and stay at the Eden Resort, we are very sorry about the safe not being opened the same day, its the first and may have been due to the Maintenance man had been at an emergency.

There are members of staff around the resort making sure all is clean and the public toilets are checked and cleaned 3 times a day.

We hope you return and are always welcome to stay again.

Kind Regards,

Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    611
    322
    128
    104
See reviews for
620
587
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (553)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
merseyside
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Currently at Eden after a week of no hot water, amazed to find hot water has been non exsistant for 2 weeks now! Tried to contact management on a twice daily basis and they have gone into hiding. Reception arranges to a meeting with management the next day at a specific time, when the manager then becomes unavailable. On asking "what time manager is available?" reception state "The manager is a nightmare and does not respond or take any responsibility to the many complaints of customers (of which there are many) complaining for two weeks!"

Beware this advertises a 4 star resort of luxury! Eden are still taking bookings and not making people aware of the situation.

Room Tip: Try another resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marthadubuf, Guest Relations Manager at Eden Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review and take all into consideration.

We are very sorry about the issue with the hot water, unfortunately we have only had warm water in the apartments/villas due to only having one boiler pumping hot water as the others have broken down, we are waiting for some parts that are coming from abroad, we understand its hard for guests as well as it is for the resort to wait for the parts, until then we are giving the option to have showers at the spa where there are showers with warmer water as its based next to the boilers, but the apartments and villas have warm water.
We hope this did not destroy the whole of your holiday and hope you enjoyed your holiday.
The Manager has not been in as he was off on a buisness meeting but when possible the Manager will see guests and book a time.

Kind Regards,

Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We visited Eden last year, and the resort is gorgeous, very modern and clean. Only complaint would be the location although a shuttle bus does run to the old town every hour. Would definately visit again, top class hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marthadubuf, Guest Relations Manager at Eden Resort, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review and take all into consideration.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Eden Resort.

Kind Regards,

Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We recently had a weeks holiday at the Eden Resort, we got told it was a 5 Star all Inclusive, how wrong are they to sell this resort as a 5 star all inclusive, this resort should only be sold as a SELF CATERING basis only, Eden Resort is never in a million years set up for an all inlusive holiday.
They have one restaurant of which is basically a big conservatory, the food is very poor, the service is very poor and the cleanliness is very poor, the choice of food is a joke,if you want to compare a 5 star resort with similar Facilities then you should look at either Blue Domes in Kos, Hilton Hotel in Serigermie Turkey, or even a 4 star The Oceana on Mainland Greece Halkidiki. these Resorts I have listed are more like the 5/4 Star Resorts of which I have stayed, I dont know how they have rated the Eden Resort 5 star or even 4 star, the Eden resort should only be sold as a self catering basis only and then the price would reflect in this, we paid a lot of money to go 5 Star All inclusive?? never again, all the reports on trip advisor stating its a superb place they must work for them or they got it very cheap..I will post pictures as i have many, suprisingly when you look at Eden Resort they have hardly any pictures of the restaurant facilities no wonder why???? The resort itself like I said is ok for Self catering only and the accommodation is set up for that nicely no complaints there....JUST BE CAREFUL IF YOU BOOK VIA A COMPANY CALLED "FLEETWAY" AS THEY WILL SELL YOU SOMETHING THAT IS NOT AND ARE NOT INTERESTED IN GIVING PROPER HOLIDAY ADVICE CRIMINAL............

Room Tip: They have 4 detached villas with its own pool ideal for a big group as they are very nice, the three...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marthadubuf, Guest Relations Manager at Eden Resort, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you for your review,

The resort is a 4 star resort and may be rated a 5star at some places but never sold as a 5star.
When you first checked in you were given all the information and actually checked in earlier than a normal check in time.
you were booked in for 2 seperate one bedroom apartments and as the family with children wanted to be near a pool i myself arranged to block an apartment the next day as it was possible to check in the next day to one apartment right beside the pool, which later was unblocked as you did not want the apartment blocked and was very rude while i was helping.
Some guests are hard to please and sometimes come on holiday thinking about compensations, in your case after having one meal in the restaurant you said many things about the food and myself and the travel agents said just for your to try dinner as not every meal is the same but still were not happy and was refunded to go SC, On the day you found out on the phone by the Manager of your travel agency of the resonable amount that would be refunded, you threw over the phone to me and said "YOUR ALL ALIKE, RUBBISH" and this is while your being helped and while i have check ins waiting and guests to be seen to.
Also due to the food, you stated you should be compensated with a villa and private swimming pool as not possible you then complained about the view which was sorted with one apartment moving to a villa and paying a big difference with a discount and the other apartment was given the option to move to an apartment with a lovely view but then also cancelled.
The photos you have shown with your review does not state the resort is below 4 stars, the tables are always cleared and cleaned, at the time of the photo it could be when guests had just finished a meal, in your photos shows a large option of food which is clean and the restaurant shows that it is a little busy but has spaces for guests to sit.
The rubbish shown is not our bags of rubbish but guests that have put bags near our bin which is emptied a few times a day and also the parasol which is laying is normal in the morning and afternon when the maintanence man cleans around the pools.
The pool toilets wet is normal as children and ADULTS walk in wet from the pools but these toilets are cleaned 3 times a day..

Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Just returned from Eden resort after a 7 night stay with my wife and two sons aged 15 and 13 and our friends and their 4 children ages 14,11,10 and 2.we all went self catering so cant comment on all inclusive.we booked our holiday in may and had been looking through the reviews from then until our departure and had mixed feelings for what was ahead of us,i know everyone is entitled to their own opinion but on a self catering basis you really can not put this resort down.between us we had a 1and 2 bedroom apartments,all the mod cons you need for self catering really beautiful,as for the staff so friendly and helpful to all our needs from extra towels to booking taxis was done for us straight away.only thing we can fault Eden for was the entertainment at night for kids not enough,but going into the old town and the new strip sorted that out but if like us with young kids the walk into old town might be a bit too much especially on the way back,taxis old and new town 5-6 euros.it was mentioned on a previous review you had to pay 100 euros bond for any damages when booking in but if you have a credit card they will just photo copy it.taxi transfers from airport 30 min will cost around 45 to 50 euros would recommend groups of more than 4 to contact Eden to book in advance a minibus as you wont get them outside airport. overall would highly recommend Eden resort for a fantastic holiday.Thank you Natasha and Bruno for a very enjoyable stay,from the family's in apartments 22 and 17

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marthadubuf, Guest Relations Manager at Eden Resort, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Hi, thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review and we take all into consideration.

We are pleased you enjoyed your holiday and stay with us at the Eden Resort and hope you will return again.

Bruno and I are very pleased we made your holiday enjoyable and hope all our staff was welcoming and as helpful as possible.

Kind Regards,

Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Just returned from family of four holiday at Eden Resort. Very clean and in great location. the resort is set out very well with three main swimming pools - only problem is having to get up early to get your place by the pool - maybe something could be done about this and most umbrellas had broke - so shade was a premium for the kids. Pools were clean and of good size. The restaurant is ok - we went B&B which suited us as went into the 'old town' most evenings where there are some great local restaurants. Staff were helpful especially Natasha - on our arrival had a few issues with our booking - the reservations manager did not help us at all which somewhat overshadowed the first couple of days. The rooms were spacious, clean an comfortable for our needs - air con was invaluable for our stay. Would go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marthadubuf, Guest Relations Manager at Eden Resort, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you for your review,

Thank you for the lovely comment and i am very sorry the start of your holiday didnt go so well, but pleased to hear you enjoyed the rest of your stay.

We hope you will return and are always welcome to stay again.

Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This was our first holiday with our 18 month old Daughter plus our first time in Portugal and it was perfect. Eden Resort was clean and in a beautiful location away from the main town but still fairly easy to get to (although without a car, coming back up the hill is a heavy workout). The staff will help you with anything you need and the facilities are good. The only disappointment for us was with the spa which had no gym and the indoor swimming pool can only be used if your wearing a swimming cap. Also I think it's important to mention that we were self catering (the apartment facilities were outstanding for this) and during our stay many people that were All inclusive were saying the food was not of a good standard, more 2* than 4*, and were having to eat out. Overall a very good resort and we will be going back in the future!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marthadubuf, Guest Relations Manager at Eden Resort, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you for your review,

We apprecaite when guests post a review and take all into consideration.

We are pleased you enjoyed your holiday and stay with us and hope you will return and stay again.

The swimming hats is a must as portuguese law states its a safety and higene reason and all guests have to use swimming hats.

Kind Regards,

Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Resort

Address: Loteamente da Quinto da Bolota | Lote 2, Vale de Santa Maria, Albufeira 8200-053, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
#22 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#26 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#43 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Eden Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Eden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Hotel Albufeira
Eden Resort Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eden Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.